Skip to content

Northumbrian Adventures

September 3, 2011

Hello everyone – I hope you’re having a brilliant weekend so far. I’ve just got back from a few days in Northumbria with my parents. I had a lovely time and I’m sad to have to come back to reality now, especially as I’ve got to go back to work on Monday – boo hiss!

Thank you to the lovely Sarah for her brilliant guest post on Thursday. I enjoyed reading it as much as you all did and found it really inspirational. Following your heart, or even knowing what your heart is telling you to do, can be very difficult, but it’s usually worthwhile in the end. Reading Sarah’s post reminded me of when I left the job I had as a retail manager after I graduated. I knew that I didn’t enjoy that sort of work nearly as soon as I started, but I kept telling myself that “I’m not a quitter”, so I stuck at it for over 2 years. Eventually I listened to what my heart was telling me and handed in my notice, even though I didn’t have another job and the credit crunch had just started to bite. It all worked out OK in the end and I’m so glad that I had the guts to leave.

Later this evening I’ve got my own guest post going up on LoveLiveAndLearn, so please go and check it out!

So, back to my little trip to Northumbria! We stayed in a small seaside/fishing town called Seahouses, which had some really dramatic views of the North Sea.

001

As you can see from the photo, the weather was pretty grey for the whole time I was there, but at least it didn’t rain too much. Apparently, it’s been quite warm in the South of the UK, but up in the North East it was a bit nippy – definitely the start of soup season.

050

This was a yummy sweet potato and red pepper soup that I had at Cragside, which is a quirky National Trust property. I’m going to have to try and recreate this soup combination, because it was delicious. I love making and eating soups – it’s one good thing about the weather getting more autumnal.

038

Cragside was the first house in the world to be powered by hydroelectric power and also had the first room lit with a filament light bulb. Call me an old granny, but I love looking round Stately Homes and properties like this. A bonus was that inside the house they had some hats that I could try on, so that I could decide what my next fashion statement is going to be.

020

022

025

I think the deerstalker wins … what do you think?

Yesterday we went on a boat trip around a seal colony, which was lots of fun, but the photos are on my Dad’s camera … so cute seal pics will have to wait until tomorrow.

It’s taken me a while to recover from the sickness bug that I had at the beginning of the week, so I’ve been taken it easy on the exercise front. I did manage to put on my running shoes on Friday morning and go for a 3 mile easy run along the sea front, which was magnificent! I really enjoyed the run, but when I stopped I felt very light headed. I took that as a sign from my body that I need to ease back into running and make sure that I’m properly fuelled after a few days of eating very little.

This morning I tried out a workout that I saw on Alison’s blog. It’s a great workout to do when you’re away from home because you don’t need any equipment, but it’s still quite challenging.

  • 50 x push-ups
  • 50 x squats
  • 50 x crunches
  • 50 x lunges
  • 40 reps of each exercise
  • 30 reps of each exercise
  • 20 reps of each exercise
  • 10 reps of each exercise

I was one sweaty lady once I had finished all that. I found it a great way of identifying my weak points – for me it’s definitely those pesky push-ups! I did them all on my knees (I’m nowhere near being able to do full push-ups), but they still kicked my butt!

I was sad to be coming home this afternoon, so I called off for some frozen yoghurt from yoo-moo on my way back.

054

A tub of deliciousness topped with granola and blueberries – always guaranteed to bring a smile to my face Smile

Do you workout when you’re away from home, and do you have any routines that are easy to do on holiday?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 5:17 pm

    I wouldn’t feel bad about the pushups — I think will be (almost) everyone’s weak point! Well done on getting through it! 🙂

  2. September 3, 2011 5:25 pm

    I’m a bit envious, Sarah – all those familiar places we visited when the boys were younger!
    And yes, the deerstalker wins, I think 🙂

  3. September 3, 2011 6:01 pm

    I love the deerstalker 🙂 but I think the brown one (top pic) really suits you! Amazing sea views too and that soup looks delicious… glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing the seal pictures!

  4. September 3, 2011 9:20 pm

    Yeah don’t feel bad about those press ups- I can do 3 full ones and that is all! 🙂
    I love looking around the gardens of houses like that (and of course the tearoom too).
    Yes I love soup too, sweet potato goes so well in soup.

  5. September 3, 2011 9:20 pm

    You and my parents should plan some holidays together! They love National Trust properties, particularly Cragside. They’re always trying to get me to go but they’re not my cup of tea (comes from a childhood spent at them when I wanted to be at Alton Towers or Legoland hehe), although I never knew they did such a fetching range of hats 😉

    I’m glad you’re on the mend. I’ve been walking up by Seahouses and the air is really bracing and refreshing. Hopefully it’ll have had the same medicinal effect on you as it does on me 🙂

    xxx

  6. September 3, 2011 11:06 pm

    I love that frozen yogurt!! love all the different toping that you can have. glad to hear your feeling better, sometimes I will bring my running shoes if I am going away.

  7. September 4, 2011 1:53 pm

    I love seahouses and cragside, two family favourite places to visit while I was growing up! I do like to stay active when I’m away, usually I get that from all the walking we end up doing!

  8. September 4, 2011 3:31 pm

    Love the pictures from your trip! Luckily, the past few vacations I’ve been on have included lots of hiking and kayaking, so I don’t feel like I have to go out of my way to work out. If it’s a lazy vacation though, I definitely find the time to work out!

  9. September 4, 2011 8:19 pm

    YooMoo! So jealous, I love frozen yoghurt stores.
    I don’t do much when I am away – I do try and do 3×15 tricep dips, crunches and wall press ups, and to walk or do something else active – I guess if I was away for more than a week I would make more of a concerted effort to plan and do something whilst away, but I don’t tend to go for that long.

Leave a Reply

