Skip to content

Goal Setting

September 5, 2011
tags: , ,

Hello! How has everyone’s Monday been going so far. I wasn’t looking forward to going back to work today, but I went in early to get it over with and it wasn’t too bad. I had a delicious lunch to look forward to and keep me going during the morning.

5Sep11_1

The base of the salad is romaine, cucumber and baby plum tomatoes, mixed with the leftover roasted red pepper dressing, and topped with some buckwheat, cashews and pumpkin seeds.

I can now say that the bodyweight workout that I did on Friday is a good one, because I have mean DOMS today! I think that it was the lunges what did it because my inner thighs are very sore and scream at me every time I get up.

Another reason to be happy today is the return of my yoga teacher from France, so tonight is my first yoga class in over a month (I hang my head in shame). I read somewhere that you shouldn’t eat too soon before yoga, but yoga makes me HUNGRY! So I decided to have a substantial snack of Amisa crispbreads with red pepper hummus and a few strawberries a couple of hours before.

5Sep11_2

Last week marked the end of August and the beginning of September, so a lot of bloggers reviewed last month’s goals and set themselves some new ones for the upcoming weeks. September always feels like a new start to me – probably after years of starting school at this time of the year. My Mum used to be a teacher, so we had an annual ritual of going to the stationers and buying new pens, pencils, pencil-case and a set square that I never used. For the past couple of years I’ve taken some time off work at the end of August. I think it’s because I like to go back to work at the beginning of September, so psychologically it’s a new start.

I really enjoy reading the goals that other bloggers set themselves and it’s inspiration to read about how you are all working towards achieving them. I think that there is a real value in setting goals and I have set myself some pretty big ones in the past – getting my degree, losing weight … However, at the moment I’m finding it more fun and stimulating to set myself little challenges as I go along rather than thinking of a list every month. The big on-going challenge I’ve set myself is the Olympic Gold Challenge!

I also recently set myself the challenge of making a recipe from a book or blog once a week and also creating a new recipe of my own once a week. I’ve really enjoyed doing this one and I’ve cooked recipes from the Leon cookbook, Appetite for Reduction and the Abel & Cole cookbook, as well as recipes from some of my favourite blogs. I’m proud that I’ve created some delicious concoctions as well. I’ve decided that it’s time for me to have my own recipe page. I wouldn’t count myself as a food blogger and all my recipes are quick and simple to make (I’m too lazy for anything else!)

The other challenge I set myself was to read 2 books a month now that I have my Kindle, which is easy to carry around with me. I’m happy to say that I’ve also achieved this goal. Last month I read “The Hangman’s Daughter” by Oliver Potzsch and “The Moonstone” by Wilkie Collins. To be honest, although I enjoyed them both, neither was stunning. I’m hoping to do better with “Pigeon English” by Stephen Kelman, which has been nominated for the Man Booker Prize.

image

Do you set goals for yourself and do you stick to them?

What are you reading at the moment?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 4:58 pm

    I have a few goals a month. I’m a goal-orientated person so there’s always something I’m working on – be it aiming for a new PB, eating better, or even going to more comedy nights. I like reading other people’s goals too, as I’m nosy! I try to stick to my goals but more often than not I don’t hit them. This month I’m going to see my goals as more similar to guidelines than targets.

    I’m reading ‘A Storm of Swords’ by GRR Martin and I’m loving it! I’m also reading Intuitive Eating.

  2. September 5, 2011 5:06 pm

    I do set goals each month, but i usually only stick to about half of them. I like to have them there as a guideline so i have something to aim for though 🙂
    I was reading “The Sorcerers Apprentices” but found it too dull and gave up half way through, i need to find something new that really grabs my attention!

  3. September 5, 2011 5:12 pm

    Some months I set goals and some I don’t, I think it depends on what I’ve got on that month. Thos month I have a holiday and freshers so no major goals. Next month I’ll be in mega routine mode and will probably have some goals.

    I’m not reading anything at the moment *hangs head* I’ve lost my reading mojo.

    Enjoy your first yoga class back!

  4. Errign permalink
    September 5, 2011 6:16 pm

    I love goals, obviously, and I usually do pretty well with sticking to them! I like reading other’s goals though because they tend to inspire me 🙂

    Enjoy your yoga class! I’m only reading school books at the moment, but my nutrition texts are pretty interesting.

  5. September 5, 2011 6:21 pm

    The salad looks tasty. I love cashews in salads!

    The goal setting is great. It’s important to have goals 🙂 I try to stick to them as much as possible but try not to make them too hard to set myself up for failure! x

  6. September 5, 2011 7:02 pm

    That salad looks amazing. 😉
    I don’t really set goals like that, I have things to aim for.
    I love reading too, at the moment am reading The Lincoln Lawyer (after watching the film on the plane, wrong way around really). 🙂

  7. September 5, 2011 8:00 pm

    I’m a big goal setter. I think its great to have big overall all aims that you want to achieve, but setting small goals each month can help you reach those bigger goals. Baby steps to help you get to the top of that huge mountain. 🙂

  8. September 5, 2011 9:28 pm

    Great lookin salad girl! I usually set goals but I have decided not to make such specific ones for this month. My overall “goal” is to simply be healthier whatever that entails (broad and vague I know) but I want to see how this works out.
    I am currently reading Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett… AMAZING!

  9. September 5, 2011 11:00 pm

    I decided not to make goals for September and I am going to see how that goes for me! I have been making specific ones for quite some time now, but want to explore something different.
    I do like reading other people’s goals too, as they usually inspire me!
    Btw your salad looks quite fantastic 🙂

  10. September 6, 2011 7:03 am

    I really love to set goals as it keeps me focused and makes me feel like I’m achieving something, I always try and stick to them and therefore I make my goals SMART so I have a better chance of achieving them and them being effective!

  11. September 6, 2011 2:17 pm

    My goals for the month are to manage my time well enough so I can work full time, start a new semester, blog, and have enough time for myself, friends, an family!
    Right now I’m reading Shopgirl by Steve Martin and I’m loving t!

Leave a Reply

