Skip to content

Health Food Ban

September 8, 2011

Good evening – I hope that it finds you all well! I generally don’t like Thursday’s too much – I’m usually starting to get tired, but I still have to work another day before it’s the weekend. Working five days in a row is tough! I don’t miss retail at all, but one positive aspect was that I didn’t work more than three or four days together. Of course working weekends, late nights and long hours cancelled that out!

There was plenty to cheer me up today though. Before that, this is what I made myself for dinner last night:

8Sep11_1

Spelt pasta with baked tofu and loads of veggies (broccoli, leeks, courgette and aubergine) with a little pesto stirred in. I was really hungry all day yesterday, so I needed something big and filling, and this did the job! At the blogger meet-up last week we were discussing how blog photos don’t show the scale of meals very well – this plate looks a lot smaller than it was! It was mostly veggies though – sometimes a girl needs volume!

When I got up bright and early this morning my organic vegetable box was waiting for me on the doorstep. I love the variety of getting a box delivered – it’s so exciting to see what’s inside. Today’s box was particularly good because it contained some of my favourites.

8Sep11_2

Carrots, courgettes, tomatoes, spinach, french beans, celery, green pointed cabbage, white onions.

I credit my veggie box with teaching me to like tomatoes. I’ve always loved cooked tomatoes, but I pick raw ones off salad and out of sandwiches because I find them tart and the texture strange. However, I’ve had some really delicious ones in my boxes and I’ve found that I actually enjoy them in salads, especially if I chop them into small chunks.

I always seem to be left with celery at the end of the week though. I don’t mind munching on it au naturel, or eating a little in salads, but a whole bunch is usually too much. Does anyone have any suggestions for something more exciting to do with celery?

At lunchtime I visited my local health food shop. It’s temptingly close to where I work – my bank account was a lot happier when I worked in the middle of nowhere!

I bought some chocolaty stuff:

8Sep11_3

Cocoa nibs, a Pulsin raw chocolate brownie, and one of each cocoa Nakd bar. I haven’t had a Nakd bar in a while, so I’m really looking forward to gobbling these!

And some other random things:

8Sep11_4

My staples – Kara coconut milk and Delphi hummus (although I haven’t tried this variety before), a can of coconut water for after this evening’s club run (could be 11 miles … I’m not sure!), xantham gum to experiment with in smoothies and black strap molasses. I fancied trying the molasses, but actually have no idea how to use it!

However, I have a problem. My cupboards are literally overflowing with stuff – I can’t open them without something coming crashing down. They are in dire need of a sort out, but I also think that I need to ban myself from buying anymore health food. The staples like milk, hummus etc. are OK, but no more bars, nuts, seeds, dried fruit, random crap.

So, your celery and molasses suggestions please! I don’t imagine that those two go together, but I could be persuaded Winking smile

What state are your food cupboards in?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 4:36 pm

    I stocked my cupboards this week and absolutely loved it too!
    I’m not buying any clothes until i lose a bit of weight so shopping for healthy food is my new form of shopping fun 🙂
    Love the look of that pasta, i loooove pesto. Let us know what you think of the gum too, i tried it for the first time yesterday and i really liked the texture it gave to my smoothie.

  2. September 8, 2011 5:15 pm

    What about celery in soups?? I had my first Nakd bar on Tues & loved it sooo much! Will have to stock up on more! Your dinner looks really lovely – that will be a nice idea for me to try one night. I get so uninspired with my eating, it’s nice to find recipes that I would want to try! x

  3. September 8, 2011 5:37 pm

    Celery is great in stews, casseroles and soups and I think you can just have it braised on its own. I hate it raw but quite like it cooked.

    I’m the same as you when it comes to health food stores. I always end up spending a fortune on such random things and then get home and give myself a good telling off. I’m uber organised though so the cupboards are nice and neat with tubs and tins for eveerything. I’d have a meltdown if not!

  4. September 8, 2011 6:28 pm

    Not very original but I love celery with peanut butter! Or, it’s also exceptionally good for dipping in hummus – I totally share your love of hummus. Maybe you could try cutting celery really small and using it for the base of a risotto type dish? The pasta looks delicious, just wondering – what brand of pesto do you use? Love the blog – thanks 🙂 x

  5. September 8, 2011 7:36 pm

    I put celery in my green smoothies sometimes and they are great cooked in soups, casseroles, stews and stir fries. You can juice them too. 🙂

  6. Charlotte Katherine permalink
    September 8, 2011 7:51 pm

    My stock cupboards are bursting with health store buys I need to curb my spending too! Im going away in three weeks for a month so I think the next step is to start eating up the store cupboard bits & bobs that might go off – not buying anymore that I don’t need! Although I really want to try some xantham gum…so maybe just one more purchase!

  7. September 8, 2011 7:58 pm

    My cupboards are also full to bursting but for different reasons; I tend to buy duplicates of staples like olive oil, lentils, pasta etc and forget so we have stacks of the stuff! I need to be strict and rationalise by eating some of the spare stuff 🙂
    As for celery – I like it chopped fine and added to the onion stage of spag bol, risotto, soups – it adds a nice flavour to anything like that if you soften it without letting it brown.

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 8, 2011 8:33 pm

    I’ve used molasses in cookies and they came out great! As for the celery, you could always eat it with some nut butter or chop it up into a tuna or chicken salad 🙂

  9. September 8, 2011 8:54 pm

    My cupboards are full to bursting and overflowing. It irritates my inner cleanfreak but it’s great because if I want to cook something I have most of the ingredients I need already.

    Celery is great for bulking and adding flavour to stews, casseroles, and shepherds pies. BBC Good Food lists several celery recipes like soup, celery and fennel salad and celery gratin.

    Can I be cheeky and directly ask you to comment on my blog? I’m trying for a career switch in my late 20s and since you’ve been through that already I’d be really interested in your experience. I’ve written a brief post so if you would be kind enough to share how you found it I’d be very grateful!

  10. pcjc2 permalink
    September 8, 2011 9:49 pm

    Sarah wrote:
    I always seem to be left with celery at the end of the week though. I don’t mind munching on it au naturel… Does anyone have any suggestions for something more exciting to do with celery?

    I’m not a big fan of celery, but if I eat it, I tend to be wearing clothes. I can’t think of anything exciting you might do with it either – its far to sharp a vegetable for anything but munching on it to be advisable.

    In all seriousness though – there is only one thing celery is good for – as a packaging for (full fat) cream cheese – which you lick off, then throw the celery away. Yum.

  11. September 8, 2011 9:57 pm

    Ha ha my stuff overflowed out of my cupboards ages ago! It is on shelves in my living room too!
    Celery- with peanut butter on (and with raisins on top of that, called ants on a stick according to my pb recipe book).Molasses goes in gingerbread cookies and stuff like that- Oh she glows did a pumpkin overnight oats (I think)- with molasses. It was something with molasses anyway.

  12. September 9, 2011 9:06 am

    I’ve just done a clear out of my cupboards, I think I’ve now had my phase of buying random health food stuff – I tend to know what my staples are now thank goodness! Try mixing the molasses with a little tahini and using it as a spread, sounds weird but tastes good and is a wonderful source of iron and calcium!

  13. Errign permalink
    September 9, 2011 2:43 pm

    Celery and nut butter!

    That pasta dish looks amazing!

  14. September 9, 2011 2:49 pm

    I love stir fried celery – it tastes deeeeee-vine with soy sauce or even molasses along with other veggies! x

  15. September 9, 2011 9:27 pm

    I’m exactly the same with tomatoes – love them cooked (and ketchup!) but can’t stomach raw ones and it’s that texture – yuck. Maybe cutting them in small pieces could be a good starting point though, thanks!
    I try to ban myself buying any health food too, especially online because my cupboards are exactly like that 🙂
    Wht about gingerbread porridge with the molasses…?
    Ooh, and I’ve just tagged you with an award… 🙂

  16. September 10, 2011 9:19 pm

    The low fat hummus looks intriguing. I also love your chocolatey treats collection ❤

  17. September 12, 2011 7:04 pm

    I adore celery! According to my mum, it was the first thing I started munching as soon as I had teeth lol! As well as eating it raw with hummus (great for packed lunches), I love chopping it fine and adding it to spag bol and chilli dishes . It add great flavour and texture.
    My cupboards are overflowing too! I’m a sucker for special offers. I love going into Julian Graves and buying up all their ‘manager’s specials’ (half price or less because the bb date is close). I’ve got bags and bags of dates, almonds and walnuts at the moment, but I’m planning to use them up in a big baking frenzy for the Macmillan Coffee Morning x

Leave a Reply

