Skip to content

It’s a Dog’s Life

September 11, 2011

Guess who I’ve been to see this weekend!

030

Yes, the gorgeous Amos. He’s a lot bigger than the last time I saw him, but still a mischievous puppy! Amos has his own blog where you can read all about the fun he’s having with his friends Spike and Tesla, his first day at school and some great walks! Tesla the cat has even carried out a blog-jacking where he shares his side of the story (hilarious and well worth reading!).

Of course I’ve also seen Peter, his family and the other animals too. Spike finds having a boisterous puppy around a bit stressful, so we took him on a lovely walk on his own this afternoon.

014

He found lots of good sticks to play with, although Peter and I got hit around the legs a few more times than we would have liked. It was windy, but lovely and warm and the sky was gorgeous.

021

The walk was instead of the 6 mile run that I had planned. I just wasn’t feeling the motivation today and I’m still feeling a bit beaten up after the 10 miler on Thursday. I’m hoping that as I get fitter my recovery will speed up. I did a very steady 4 mile run/walk yesterday that was OK, but my legs felt like lead. I enjoyed allowing myself to take it steady, running for 5 minutes at 10:30 min/mile-ish and then walking for a minute. I rarely lose my motivation, so I’m trying not to feel guilty about it and accept that it’s probably good to rest, especially as I have 11 miles scheduled for Thursday.

I’ve eaten some good food while I’ve been here, although I’ve failed to take very many photos. One meal that I did manage to get my camera out for was a lovely vegetable soup with homemade cheese scones.

001

006

Delicious!

What have you been up to this weekend?

If you’re a runner how do you recover from long runs?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 4:20 pm

    Mmm those cheese scones look lovely! Awww love the doggy pics, and Amos looked even cuter when he was a pup. They grow up so fast! 🙂

  2. September 11, 2011 6:21 pm

    Ah I wish I had a dog! I probably didn’t give myself enough time to fully recover from some of my long runs and hence ended up with this injury! But I have to say I love some light yoga and foam rolling for stretching. I think you definitely did right by giving yourself a day off running if you weren’t feeling like it 🙂

  3. September 11, 2011 6:23 pm

    Amos is such a little cutie pie! I haven’t been able to manage a ‘proper’ long run (more than 5 miles) since March due to injury, but when I did them, I would use the RICE principle, and quite often take the next day as my weekly rest day.

  4. September 11, 2011 6:36 pm

    Aww what an adorable puppy! That picture made me smile 🙂
    I always rest the day after a long run. I used to now and just continue with my workouts with no rest at all, and all my body did was suffer 😦 So rest rest rest!

  5. September 11, 2011 7:22 pm

    Amos looks like a mischievous teenager 🙂 and the scones look amazing.

  6. September 11, 2011 7:49 pm

    That soup and those homemade cheese scones look great! 🙂

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 11, 2011 7:59 pm

    Yey for Amos! I’m in the doggie spirit because of my newly adopted Popcorn.
    & you might just have turned me on to the idea of having veggie soup for dinner 🙂

  8. September 11, 2011 10:09 pm

    Aww he looks like a really sweet dog 🙂
    Sounds like a great walk, I love going for long, sprawling walks.
    Those cheese scones look amazing, I haven’t had any in such a long time!

  9. September 12, 2011 4:42 am

    Those scones look fantastic and Amos looks like a handful! What a cute pup!

  10. Bronagh permalink
    September 12, 2011 9:04 am

    Your soup + scone dinner looks amazing, so autumnal and comforting! I made my first homemade soup of the season lastnight with lots of veggies, pearl barley and lentils… it’s definitely one of my most favourite things about autumn/winter 🙂

  11. September 12, 2011 12:43 pm

    What a cute little pup! I have a puppy and they grow up so fast, except you dont seem to notice until you compare photographs and your like ‘wow!’. The cheese scones look delish!

  12. Errign permalink
    September 12, 2011 12:57 pm

    Mmmmcheese scones!

    I recover from long runs by stretching/yoga, sometimes an ice bath, and keeping my legs moving!

  13. September 12, 2011 1:52 pm

    What an awesome dog!! I’m such a sucker for pooches 🙂

  14. September 12, 2011 7:51 pm

    😀 I see Amos’ fan club keeps on growing!

    Nice post!

  15. September 12, 2011 11:17 pm

    Awww love the pics!

  16. September 13, 2011 9:18 am

    Eeeeeeeek Amos is so big! Spike looks so happy to be out on his own with a big stick to play with 🙂 I feel puppy fever resurfacing…..

  17. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    September 14, 2011 6:45 am

    Those cheese scones look totally amazing! I make similar ones as a side when I cook soup for my dad, because he doesn´t think that soup itself is a proper meal 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pudding « Amos

Leave a Reply

