Skip to content

Some Facts About Me

September 12, 2011

Happy Monday everyone! I hope everyone in the UK is surviving the strong winds. It’s not too bad yet here in Leeds, but it’s pretty gusty, so I gave the top deck of the bus a miss this afternoon.

I got back from Lincolnshire late last night, so I didn’t have chance to prepare any grains for my lunch today like I normally would. When I got up this morning I had to throw together something quick and simple with the things I had in my fridge and cupboard. Luckily I still had some goodies left over from my organic veggie box that was delivered last week, so I threw in some spinach, cucumber, celery, baby plum tomatoes and chickpeas.

12Sep11_1

This lunch reminded me how satisfying a simple crunchy salad can be. It took me a good 20 minutes to munch through this and I felt nicely full afterwards. I did sneak in a Nakd Cocoa Mint bar as well to make sure that I could last the afternoon.

Eleanor @ Eating Like a Horse tagged me with the Butterfly Award a few days back – thank you Smile

image

I like reading these kind of posts because you get to learn a little bit more about the bloggers behind the blog. So here’s a bit more info about me …

Favourite colour: I love green – it’s the colour of the countryside and makes me feel happy. However, blue tends to be the colour that I gravitate towards when I’m shopping for clothes, so perhaps sub-consciously that’s my favourite?

Favourite song: This is a tough one because there are so many songs that I love. The answer I always give for this question is “Masterplan” by Oasis, so I’ll stick to that until an even more awesome song comes along.

Favourite dessert: Definitely some kind of fruit crumble with custard. Which fruit depends on the season – rhubarb in the spring/summer and apple & pear in the autumn.

What really annoys you: Groups of people who walk along the width of the pavement and don’t move even when they see you coming. Also, cyclists who skip red lights – you have to obey the rules of the road as well!

When you are upset you: Go off into a corner and cry, and then pretend that everything is OK … maybe I need to work on expressing my emotions better.

Your favourite pet: We had a dog called Sam when I was younger, but I don’t really remember too much about him. I had guinea pigs when I was a high school, but I was allergic to them, so my Dad ended up looking after them. I would love a dog, but they don’t fit into my lifestyle at the moment.

Black or white: Erm … I’m not sure that I understand this question. I probably wear more black and you can’t go wrong with a LBD, so I’ll say black.

Biggest fear: Icy surfaces without a doubt! I slipped and broke my arm on some ice as a child and I’ve never got over it. I have some amazing grippy boots that have made ice a bit more tolerable, but I don’t relish cold winters!

Best feature: Another difficult one, but I’m going to say tolerance. I think I’m quite a tolerant person (unless you’re a cyclist skipping a red light) and I don’t easily get annoyed. I also like to believe the best in people because what’s the point in living like everyone is out to get you?

Everyday attitude: Outwardly calm, sometimes inwardly stressed. I don’t get wound up too easily (although Peter might disagree!)

What is perfection: I’ve read some brilliant answers to this on other blogs, but it’s such a difficult question to answer. I think perfection would be to be happy in all aspects of your life and in all the choice that you make.

Guilty pleasure: Eating cereal straight out of the box, being a bit too enthusiastic in my appreciation of Glee, buying too many DVD boxsets.

That was fun! I’ll pass on the award to these bloggers:

Sarah @ Sweet Potato Sarah

Leigh @ Peanut Butter Nutter

Maria @ Running Cupcake

Jemma @ Celery and Cupcakes

 

What’s your stand-by lunch?

Pick a question and answer it!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 5:32 pm

    Yay love these posts , you can find out so much about a person!

  2. fifi permalink
    September 12, 2011 5:51 pm

    Really interesting. I’ve just driven from Kent to the northeast today and it has been pretty darn blowy!

  3. September 12, 2011 6:04 pm

    It was great finding out more about you, I love these things- thanks so much for the tag! 🙂

  4. September 12, 2011 6:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Really interesting to find out more about you outside the normal topics! I love green too, but clothes wise I tend to gravitate towards rusty colours and greys.

    My stand-by lunch….hmm, a difficult one – I will make a sort of nicoise salad with past or beans, tuna, maybe a hard boiled egg – I normally have veggies to suit and tinned tuna around!

  5. September 12, 2011 7:50 pm

    Gosh my stand by lunch is a pb and j sandwich! Terrible really but I always have bread in the freezer and pb in the cupboard and jam in the fridge! 🙂
    Thanks for the tag- these are always fun as I love random facts about people 🙂

  6. September 12, 2011 8:00 pm

    So interesting to read your answers 🙂

    My standby lunch at the moment seems to be peanut flour paste and banana sandwiches…I’ve been living on them for the past couple of days. Nowhere near as healthy as your salad I’m afraid!

    xxx

  7. September 13, 2011 7:35 am

    I agree with so many of these answers! Cyclists skipping red lights- maje pet peeve, love Glee, we buy too many boxsets aswell.

    Stand by lunch- pb and J sandwich/roll 🙂

  8. September 13, 2011 11:42 am

    loved learning more about you. My standby lunch is a sandwich with peabut butter and tuna or cottage cheese and nut butter, I find my way to get my daily doses of nut butters!!

  9. September 18, 2011 9:30 pm

    I don’t know how I missed this post! I’m with you on so many of the answers; I love that song and I definitely love a good crumble – with custard, especially 🙂
    I like the way these let you find out more and random stuff about bloggers – but I didn’t really understand the black or white question either!

Trackbacks

  1. A Sunday Survey « Celery and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

