Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday IX

September 14, 2011

Hello and welcome to my corner at the weekly What I Ate Wednesday party! I love this time of the week and I can’t wait to catch up on what you’ve all been munching on this week.

WIAWbutton

As usual there’s quite a bit to get through, so I’ll get started with no further ado.

Breakfast

14Sep11_1

This smoothie was was really rich, sweet and decadent – an amazing start to the day.

  • frozen banana
  • frozen mixed berries
  • spinach
  • 2 tablespoon pea protein powder
  • tablespoon hemp seeds
  • teaspoon maca powder
  • teaspoon cocoa
  • teaspoon black strap molasses
  • water

Topped with Dorset Super-High Fibre muesli.

Snacks

14Sep11_2

Lunch

14Sep11_3

Shredded romaine lettuce, chopped cucumber, topped with a mixture of brown rice, chickpeas and sweetcorn.

Pre-run snack

14Sep11_4

Porridge is now my favourite pre-run snack or mini-meal, as long as I’ve got at least two hours for it to digest, otherwise it makes me feel sick when I’m running. This combo is oats, peanut flour, chopped dates and rice milk, topped with a nectarine.

We did speed work at running club, which was good fun. I used to dread trying to run fast, probably because I’m scarred by memories of school sports days. However, I was pleasantly surprised that I’m not too bad at sprinting now. I’m not going to cause Usain Bolt too many sleepless nights, but it’s nothing to be scared of anymore either.

Dinner

As autumn and winter progresses you will notice that I am obsessed by soups and stews – they are perfect comfort food and I can’t get enough! The beauty of them for me is that you can put in whatever vegetables you have to hand and then leave it to cook while you blog, workout, watch TV or whatever else you want to do.

14Sep11_5

I’ll call this a stew because it’s chunky and packed with vegetables, but I’m not 100% sure of the difference between a soup and a stew.

Hearty vegetable & butterbean stew

Serves 2, vegan and gluten-free

  • 4 small carrots
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 1 courgette
  • 4 closed cup mushrooms
  • 2 large salad tomatoes
  • small tin of butterbeans (125g drained weight)
  • 60g dried buckwheat
  • teaspoon vegetable bouillon
  • 1 1/2 pints water
  • teaspoon oregano
  • black pepper

There’s no great science to this stew – I just chopped everything up, put it in a large pan and left it to simmer for about 45 minutes.

Dessert was a bowl of strawberries with some muesli and rice milk.

14Sep11_6

What will you be eating now the weather has started to get colder?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 3:26 pm

    Mmmm yea I like homemade soups etc in the cold weather – it’s just whether I have the energy to make them! I can’t believe how organised you must be to have such fab meals as these. I esp like the look of your lunch, so simple but I would never think of making something like that!

  2. September 14, 2011 3:28 pm

    your stew looks like one of my childhood favourite soups! Loving your eats – Happy Wednesday =]

  3. September 14, 2011 3:31 pm

    Soups and stews become even more awesome when you have a slow cooker–forget blogging, you can go have your day and come back to hot, fresh and ready meals! Yeah, obsessed with my slow cooker and ready to break it back out, since it got most of the summer off. And I love the idea of adding a little molasses to a smoothie! I love the flavor AND the health benefits, but can’t justify making gingerbread every other day to get my craving in 😀

  4. September 14, 2011 3:36 pm

    Stews, casseroles and hearty soups.

  5. Bronagh permalink
    September 14, 2011 3:59 pm

    I’m totally with you on the soups & stews thing, they’re just so easy (and cheap!) to make and, most importantly, satisfying and comforting to eat. I love taking the leftovers to work for lunch the next day too. It makes me feel really smug to whip out my tub of delicious homemade soup whilst everyone else heats up their ‘gourmet’ New Covent Garden soup cartons, haha.

  6. Stacey (My Sweet Eats) permalink
    September 14, 2011 3:59 pm

    I have been craving a load of soup as well, it is just so comforting in this cold weather.

  7. September 14, 2011 4:01 pm

    I am loving that the weather is getting colder which only means it is time for SOUP! Love it chunky, as it seems more filling that way.

  8. September 14, 2011 4:17 pm

    Yummy! Porridge is def awesome pre run fuel 🙂

  9. September 14, 2011 7:05 pm

    I love soups for lunch on saturdays (very specific- I dont like it so much as work because then I need the toilet in the afternoon but can’t go til the kids go home!)- my fave are simple tomato soups or kabocha squash yum.

  10. September 14, 2011 7:06 pm

    I’m really looking forward to making my lentil and root veg stew and my hippy beans and chillies, There’s something so comforting about them! I think I’ll be making up a big pan of soup this weekend too! Well done on the speed work too!

  11. Errign permalink
    September 14, 2011 7:07 pm

    I love soups and stews too, and lately I’ve been LOVING brown rice and oats.

  12. September 14, 2011 7:43 pm

    This looks scrummy! I really like pulses and squashes at this time of year, plus jacket potatoes and stews and soups 🙂

  13. September 14, 2011 8:30 pm

    Your lunch is beautiful! It looks so tasty! 🙂

  14. September 14, 2011 8:38 pm

    I had a butterbean stew type thing for dinner today too, I looove stews in the winter! Definitely one of my favourite dinners, I love that the longer you leave them the nicer they get.

  15. September 14, 2011 9:09 pm

    I’m starting to think hob porridge is about to come back onto my menu, winter is a com in 🙂

  16. September 14, 2011 9:21 pm

    I love soups and stews in the cold weather- so comforting!

  17. September 14, 2011 9:41 pm

    It’s been back to porridge for breakfast for me! Although like you, the thing that puts me off is that I cycle straight up to the yard after breakfast and a big bowl weighs me down… so I have a smaller one and then a second breakfast afterwards!
    I love that stew/soup (whichever it is, it looks great) – and the Usain Bolt comment 🙂

  18. September 14, 2011 10:52 pm

    I am going to be eating that soup….it looks amazing! Every ingredient in there is among my favorites! Thank you for the recipe 🙂

  19. September 15, 2011 1:26 am

    All of your smoothies look so good! I have to make one asap! Now that it’s getting cooler out, I’m planning on using my crockpot for some comfort meals. And anything with pumpkin or apple 🙂

  20. September 15, 2011 4:25 pm

    I’d definitely count that as a stew! It looks amazing, by the way 🙂

    Porridge is my go-to food in the winter. It’s so thick and warming!

  21. September 15, 2011 11:02 pm

    oooh yum!! I love necterines, probably more than peaches!! I’d like to join running club but I’m awful at running- I’ve only run two 5ks. I’m sure they’d all leave me behind!
    porridge is just really good. I can go for it all the time although i’ve yet to have it for dinner.

Trackbacks

  1. The End of a Busy Week « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

