Skip to content

Being Organised

September 15, 2011

Good evening and happy Thursday! This week seems to be whizzing past – I can’t believe that it’s the middle of September already! I went to the supermarket earlier in the week and I was dismayed to find a whole aisle dedicated to Christmas stuff and boxes of little chocolate Christmas trees next to the checkout. As much as I disagree with the shop selling festive things before summer is even officially over, perhaps this is the best time to nab the best advent calendars (there are only ever the rubbish ones left by the time I think of buying one).

I had a comment on yesterday’s WIAW post that I must be organised to be able to eat well. I am by no means super-organised and there are lots of ways that I could improve (hello disastrous kitchen cupboards!). However there are some simple things that I do on a daily basis that help me to make sure that I eat mostly healthy and nutritious meals. I probably prepare 80% of my meals from scratch as I find it the most satisfying way to eat. I used to use a lot more convenience foods and there are some healthy choices out there, so I’m not saying that you should cook every night. Plus, many of the meals I make, although they are made from fresh ingredients, they are so quick and easy that I hardly want to call it “cooking”. There are so many things that I want to be packing into my day that I don’t have time to be standing over a hot stove-top, even though I love cooking.

As you’ve probably noticed, I can’t get enough of smoothies at the moment and I predominantly eat them for breakfast. Every evening I decide which fruits I want in my smoothie the next day and pop them in the freezer ready for the morning. This morning it was banana and strawberries.

15Sep11_1 

I also buy various bags of prepared frozen fruit that I can use when I run out of fresh fruit or I’ve forgotten to put any in the freezer.

Overnight oats are also a great option to prepare in advance if you’re going to be rushed for time in the morning. Also, there’s nothing wrong with a big bowl of cereals and fruit (only I have trouble stopping at one bowl!).

For lunch I often prepare some grains the day before, usually at the same time as I’m cooking dinner. I have a variety of grains that have different cooking times, depending on how much time I’ve got. Giant cous-cous only takes 6-8 minutes to cook, so I use that when I’m in a rush. On the other end of the spectrum, brown rice takes half an hour, so that’s reserved for when I’ve got plenty of time. I’m a morning person (and a bit of a procrastinator), so I actually assemble my lunch in the morning. I know a lot of people prefer to do it the night before. Today I went for spelt grain and hummus on top of salad.

15Sep11_2

I have a variety of proteins at hand that I can use for my lunches, including hummus, tins of beans and chickpeas, eggs, nuts and seeds.

I was extra organised today and took a pre-run snack with me to work because I had to work a bit later than usual and I wanted to leave enough time for it to digest before my 11 miler this evening. Last night I threw some oats, chia seeds, chopped dates and rice milk into a tupperware and put it in the fridge.

15Sep11_3

When I ate it this afternoon the chia seeds had swollen even more and it was so delicious and satisfying. I’m hoping that it does it’s job for me later on.

When it comes to dinner I often get in late, so I want to eat as soon as possible after I get in the door. I often prepare soups and stews in advance and I make sure that I have vegetables in the fridge so that I can throw together a quick stir-fry or an omelette. Last night I had a tofu stir-fry which took me about 15 minutes to cook.

15Sep11_4

I had loads of veggies that needed using up so this concoction had a bit of everything in it – carrots, courgette, cabbage and mushrooms. I used a teaspoon of peanut flour, some agave, chilli and water to make a quick sauce.

I don’t meal plan, but I usually have in my head a rough idea of what I’ll be eating during the week, and thinking about dinner passes some time at work Smile

Are you organised when it comes to your eating habits?

What are your tips for eating well when you have a busy lifestyle?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 15, 2011 7:27 pm

    I try to be organized with my eating, but it usually doesn’t work out so well haha. I always end up throwing something together with random ingredients in the last minute 🙂

  2. September 15, 2011 8:13 pm

    You know, in Sainsburys today I could swear there were Christmas hints … only hints but DARN IT, its SEPTEMBER!!!!!!!!!

  3. September 15, 2011 9:22 pm

    Oh man not christmas stuff already! So annoying! I make my lunch the night before,and sometimes my breakfast if I can. We plan meals and also try to cook in bulk and freeze portions so some weeks we do not have to really cook, only reheat what we already cooked.

  4. September 15, 2011 9:50 pm

    These are some great tips 🙂
    I’m super organised when it comes to everything (apart from my desk aha) to the point where I probably annoy people! I just like planning ahead 🙂

  5. September 16, 2011 7:35 am

    I totally agree with all your tips, I also meal plan so I can prep things in advance. I’m also going to be getting back to making a ‘grain of the week’ in bulk at weekends and I’m probably going to venture into the world of dried beans soon by making up a big batch at the weekend too!

  6. September 16, 2011 9:44 am

    I try to be organised by making my lunch the night before or cooking a large dinner that I can eat the next day. Other than that I think actually having food in the house is important in being organised, or it all falls apart for me hehe.

  7. September 16, 2011 10:31 am

    I often make a big batch of something to eat for a few meals but that’s about as organised as I get haha

  8. September 16, 2011 11:46 am

    Love your tips! I’ve just started to meal plan so that I can prepare ahead. I always cook grains and chop things up at the weekend to make the week ahead too.

  9. September 16, 2011 9:18 pm

    woah! lots of amazing eats!!! 🙂

  10. September 16, 2011 9:20 pm

    That looks pretty organised to me!
    I’m organised in that I make lunch and sort breakfast the night before during the week but I don’t do enough pre-organising dinners and get in late so I often don’t eat till 9pm, not good!
    I think healthy but quick eating is just as you’ve got it really… I especially like the look of that spelt salad 🙂

  11. September 17, 2011 9:50 am

    I appreciate your tips to be organized. Life seems much less chaotic to me when I have myself organized at home.

  12. September 17, 2011 2:36 pm

    I think planning out meals helps when you have a busy lifestyle 🙂

Leave a Reply

