Skip to content

The End of a Busy Week

September 18, 2011

Hello! I hope that everyone is having an awesome weekend so far. It’s going way too fast for my liking – it’s Sunday already! Last week was a hectic week for me and I ended up going out every night. I am an active person, but I also value down-time doing not very much, so I ended the week exhausted. Three out of the five nights I was doing exercise – yoga on Monday and running club on Tuesday and Thursday. I had settled nicely into morning exercise and then I would chill out in the evening. I love going to running club, but evening exercise is taking some getting used to again.

Running club on Thursday was 11 miles and it was tough!

image

I’d been having a few tummy problems during the day, but it had settled down during the afternoon, so I decided I would be ok to run. However, I developed a stitch during the first couple of miles that doggedly stayed with me for the whole distance. It was a small fast group, so for once I was bringing up the rear, although I wasn’t miles behind and the others didn’t have to regroup very often. The route was similar to the physics-defying 8 miles we did a few weeks ago, which of course means that it seemed relentlessly uphill … except for a very steep downhill bit we did in the pitch dark. We ended up walking down that bit as most of us have half marathons coming up and didn’t want to incapacitate ourselves. There were also a few miles along the canal towpath, again in the dark, although it was flat. That part wasn’t too bad, but a bit painful in my lightweight trainers. I think I might have to invest in some heavier shoes or trail shoes if we’re going to be doing routes like that regularly.

We didn’t finish the run until after 9pm, so I ate fairly lightly before bed – I finished off the stew I made on Tuesday and had some rice cakes and hummus. I would have the thought that my appetite would rev the next day, but I actually didn’t feel like eating much at all. The same thing happened last week after my long run. At the moment, I think running longer distances puts my tummy in knots and it takes a day to recover. I’m hoping that the more I train, the better that will get.

My appetite caught up with me yesterday though! I haven’t eaten all that well this weekend – I’ve been very snacky and I’ve eaten when I haven’t really been hungry. My eating used to get screwy every weekend, but it’s a less frequent occurrence now, so I’m not too worried. Mid-afternoon I did a very slow and steady 5 mile run. The weather was lovely and sunny, so I went down by the river where I could watch everyone messing around in punts and enjoy the last few days of summer. My legs still felt heavy after Thursday’s run, so I plodded, but I only stopped to walk once.

When I got back I had a bowl of pasta and veggies with kidney beans for lunch:

18Sep11_1

This was so tasty and quick to make – perfect! There’s a Costa temptingly close to Peter’s house and I was craving sugar not long after this, so I went to get a peach fruit cooler.

18Sep11_2 

Later in the evening Peter and I hit the hard stuff.

18Sep11_3

For once, this wasn’t on special offer in ASDA, but was actually a decent bottle of Merlot. I don’t drink too often, but I do like good wine.

I’m building up to doing another 6 miles this afternoon and then back to Leeds for another fun-packed week!

What have you been up to this weekend?

Does your appetite change after running or heavy training?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 11:23 am

    I commend you for forging on with the run even feeling not well.

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 18, 2011 11:55 am

    Good for you on getting out for evening workouts! It can be tough to do, especially after a busy day.

    This weekend I’ve been hanging out with my men (that would be my new puppy, Popcorn and Will 😀 )

  3. September 18, 2011 3:19 pm

    Ace work on the 11 miles! I found that my appetite really went low after long runs (say 10 miles or more)- but then later in the day I would have an energy crash and so I realised that I was hungry , but didnt feel hungry, I think as my tummy was still recovering from all the bouncing on the run or something. That pasta looks so yummy

  4. September 18, 2011 3:46 pm

    That pasta looks delicious. The sort of meal that would definately hit the spot 🙂

    Great job on the 11 miles. That picture of Homer made me chuckle teehee x

  5. September 18, 2011 5:51 pm

    When I run longer distances my belly is like a bottom less pit, but I just roll with it. Well done on your amazing 11 miles.:)

  6. September 18, 2011 8:33 pm

    Truth be told you wouldn’t crack out 11 mile before work (I know I couldn’t even if I could run 11 miles) the evening runs are necessary evil, yes?no?

    Your weekend sounds great & sometimes an unscheduled glass of wine is just the thing 🙂

  7. September 18, 2011 9:08 pm

    I’ve just discovered your blog, I’ve enjoyed catching up on old posts of yours! Well done on your running! You’re so active!

  8. September 18, 2011 9:41 pm

    Good job on the 11 miles! I’m actually in the routine of working out in the evenings and now I’m trying to switch it to mornings and I’m having trouble. Getting the workout done and out of the way for the remainder of the day is a nice feeling though!

  9. September 18, 2011 10:48 pm

    Hey well done for working out even when you’re feeling a bit under the weather!
    That pasta looks amazing, want to share the recipe? 🙂

  10. September 19, 2011 10:37 am

    Long runs either leave me ravenous or completely without appetite, luckily yesterday I was ravenous! I love a good glass of red wine too! I think you do so well to run so far so late at night, I don’t think I could manage that at all, well done!

  11. September 19, 2011 12:18 pm

    Good job getting the workout done anyway… sometimes when I push through I feel much better after 🙂
    I am either extremely hungry or stuffed after a long run/heavy lifting… more times hungry though!

  12. September 19, 2011 1:00 pm

    Nice run! Especially in the evening. I’d find that very tough (hence why my long ones are always at the weekeend!

    I am never very hungry after a long run, in fact after a long race I have to force myself to eat (Not a problem I normally suffer from!!!!) but the next day I am absolutely ravenous ALL day!

    Rosexx

    Btw…I’ve just signed up for the 2012 challenge. Thanks for link. I’ve created a team and a few work colleagues have joined me. I’m hoping that I can create a bit of competition and thus motivate us all a bit more!

Leave a Reply

