Skip to content

Temptation

September 19, 2011

Hello and happy Monday! I hope that everyone had a brilliant weekend. I had a fabulous Sunday, although it went way too fast for my liking. I’m trying to be really positive about Mondays, but it’s difficult when it means that I have to leave Peter in Cambridge and come back to work in Leeds for the week Sad smile

Yesterday started off with a 6 mile run … well I say “started”, but it was 1pm by the time I actually set off! To be honest, I was a bit disheartened by the 11 miler on Thursday because it felt like such hard work and I was slower than usual. I took it slow on Saturday, but yesterday I was determined to have a good run. I still had a stitch (I think I might have pulled a muscle actually), but other than that it was fun and relatively easy. I managed a solid 9:24 min/mile average, and it would have been faster if I didn’t have to dodge all the pavement hoggers that are out on a Sunday afternoon. It did absolutely bucket it down though and part of my route was flooded, so I ended up doing a bit of wading. I think I run faster in the rain – partly because it’s refreshing and partly because I want to get indoors and dry off quicker!

I then went to the cinema to see “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy” with Peter.

Official trailer

We have very different tastes in films and often something that I love, he will hate and vice versa. Peter hates anything with a sad ending, whereas I quite like to sob into my popcorn and enjoy a bit of moral ambiguity in a film. However, we both agreed that this was a brilliant film. I would say it’s one of the best I’ve seen, perhaps ever, and I could have quite happily sat and watched it again straight after. It also provoked some good conversation over dinner afterwards.

But, I have a confession to make. I spoilt the film for myself a bit because last week I gave into temptation. I came across an article on the BBC website (**warning, do not follow the link if you intend to see the film**) about how the story relates to the reality of the secret services during the Cold War. To be fair to the article, it did have a pretty clear warning that it contained spoilers, but I just couldn’t help myself.

I’ve got a bad habit of ruining TV shows for myself by reading spoilers – Glee, ER, and basically anything American that airs before we get it in the UK. I know I shouldn’t and that I’ll regret it, but I just can’t resist the temptation … I don’t know why – it’s completely irrational.

After the cinema, we went to Gourmet Burger Kitchen and I had a goats cheese and aubergine burger.

image

(Source)

I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn’t expecting a huge piece of deep-fried goats cheese. The old me would have completely freaked out and probably refused to eat it. The new me dug in and enjoyed every mouthful because it was really really tasty! Cheese is something was always a “fear food” for me and I avoided it even when other parts of my diet weren’t healthy either (lots of chocolate and processed foods). I’ve tried to make it a small, but regular part of my diet now because I think it’s important to learn that no foods are off-limits and it tastes pretty darn good too.

Talking of temptation, I gave into the temptation to consult Dr Google today about a really sore rash I have on my legs (I know – TMI. It could have been worse – I could have posted a photo!). There’s a lot of useful medical info on the internet, but I always end up convincing myself that I have the worst possible condition … but I hardly ever go to the doctors to get it checked out! Anyway, the pharmacist thought it’s probably an infection, so I’ve been convinced to go and see a real-life doctor.

What temptations do you give into the you know that you really shouldn’t?

Are you a web hypochondriac like me?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 4:49 pm

    I am terrible with google and illnesses! Today I have been googling things as my UTI is not clearing up, and I have finished the antibiotics. So I rang the doctors and have to go in tomorrow- but the last 2 times I had one they sent samples to be analysed at the hospital, and apparently were negative… so now I have no idea what it is, as it is the same as the last 2 times, but this time I was given different antibiotics which to me explains why it has not gone, but looking on websites terrifies me as I see all the other tests that may have to be done and I am such a wimp!
    I never read spoilers though- I hate to know what will happen before I watch something myself.
    And that goats cheese burger looks yum, although a lot of cheese!

  2. September 19, 2011 5:05 pm

    I saw Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy at the weekend and loved it. Some brilliant understated acting.
    I like a few spoilers so I have a vague idea of what’s going on, but never too many.

  3. September 19, 2011 5:12 pm

    I SO want to see that movie so will NOT be following the link thanks for the spoiler heads up 🙂
    I’m a sucker for a burger but can eat it without the bun but put a chocolate fondant in front of me and I cave within zeropoint25seconds.

  4. September 19, 2011 6:58 pm

    I saw Benedict Cumberbatch (such an amazing name!) on the Johnathan Ross show and now really want to see the film It looks really good. I’ma sucker for any nut butter and dark chocolate…yum!

  5. September 19, 2011 7:02 pm

    That burger looks delicious, I’ve never tried fried cheese before. It’s great that you are working through your fear foods! I think it’s so important to not fear any foods, and I think that saying you can’t have something makes it instantly feared! I am such a sucker for wed md-ing my symptoms, thankfully I take it with a pinch of salt though because I’ve self diagnosed a lot of bad stuff!

  6. September 19, 2011 7:32 pm

    I am the worst for being a google hyperchondriac!!! The slightest thing wrong with me and I think I have anthrax!!!

    I am terrible for giving in to temptations too. Your burger looked so delicious, I really want one!

  7. September 19, 2011 7:47 pm

    I think the question is what temptations I DON’T give in to 😉

    Oh, the worst spoiler ever was when I read the entire end of series summary for LOST before the final season aired in the UK. That’s the only time I’ve ever read a spoiler: I just couldn’t take the suspense any more!

    xxx

  8. September 19, 2011 8:24 pm

    What temptations do you give into the you know that you really shouldn’t?

    Chocolate. I just have zero willpower, it’s sad actually. I just don’t see the point in torturing myself wanting something that I “shouldn’t” have. The reality is, when I want to have some chocolate it will happen haha.

  9. September 19, 2011 10:18 pm

    Oh my gosh I have googled symptoms before and pretty much each time I have come out dying of something (I believe I mean). Or I self-diagnose myself with some kind of terminal cancer… gah it’s just no good, I have got to stop scaring the heck out of myself!

    Great job on the 6-miler too!

    I give into my temptation to have hard/gummy candy and dried fruit… terrible for my teeth but I can’t resist!

  10. September 19, 2011 11:36 pm

    That burger looks delish! I need to try one!

  11. September 20, 2011 2:58 pm

    mmmm, that burger looks absolutely delicious. One of my favourite starters at our village bistro is the whole baked camembert with onion marmalade….delicious!

    Rosexx

Leave a Reply

