Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday #10

September 21, 2011
tags:

Hello and a very merry What I Ate Wednesday to you all! Before I get on with the party, thank you for all your comments on my Operation Energise post yesterday. When you read blogs sometimes it seems like everyone is so perky all the time and bursting with energy, but it turns out that you get tired and exhausted too. I picked up some good tips as well, in particular I need to make sure that I’m replacing electrolytes after exercise.

So, on with the show!

WIAWbutton

Breakfast

21Sep11_1

An apple pie green smoothie based on Laura’s recipe. Into my version went:

  • 1 jazz apple
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 2 tablespoons pea protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon milled flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1/2 cup Kara coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Topped with my usual muesli. This was perfect for an autumn morning with lots of warming spice. It was also less cold than my usual smoothies because I used a room temperature apple, so I felt less chilled after I ate it.

Snacks

21Sep11_2

In the dish is some mixed fruit and nuts with some cocoa nibs. This was so tasty! It’s like a healthier version of the fruit and nut mixes you get at Christmas. I can guarantee that this combo is on my regular snack list now. I didn’t end up eating all the fruit, but I like taking it to work just in case I get a snack attack.

Lunch

21Sep11_3

Confession time … I think this is virtually the same as what I had last Wednesday! I like to eat different things every day, but I think that I repeat a pattern every week. I’ve had an omelette every Monday night for many weeks and I’ve noticed that I tend to wear the same clothes on the same day every week. Hmm – maybe I need to get out of a rut.

It was delicious anyway – lettuce, cucumber and celery topped with brown rice and chickpeas.

Pre-run snack

21Sep11_4

I ended up getting home from work a bit late, so this was a rushed affair and a bit too close to when I had to run. However, it turns out that rice cakes with almond butter, banana and dates is the perfect pre-run snack. We did just over 5.5miles at a decent pace with quite a lot of hills and I hardly had any stomach problems at all. I think this will become my regular fuel, especially if I’m short of time.

Dinner

21Sep11_5

Quinoa with whatever veggies I could find in my fridge (purple carrots, broccoli, courgette, chard and mushrooms) with pesto (store bought I’m afraid) and topped with cashews and pumpkin seeds. I loved eating this! It was probably the nicest meal I’ve made for ages and it didn’t even involve any cooking skills!

For dessert I had a huge bowl of honeydew melon.

21Sep11_6

OK, it doesn’t look that big in this photo, but I promise it was half a huuuuge melon. It was perfectly ripe and I was hungry, so I took up the challenge to eat it all. I had to take a few breaks, but I managed it Winking smile It’s no secret that I love melon, so it wasn’t that much of a hardship.

Usually I’d snack on something else in the evening, but I was too full of fruit and veggies.

Do you eat the same thing every week?

What’s the simplest, but tastiest thing that you’ve eaten recently?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 3:55 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the Apple pie green smoothie! I love that one at this time of year, so seasonal! I tend to get into an eating pattern, Monday, Wednesday and Friday tend to be green smoothies for breakfast, I also make up something on a Monday which will give me leftovers for dinner on the Tuesday and so on. I try and add a bit of variety when I can but I think its fine to eat the same stuff if you love it! That dinner with veggies and quinoa looks lovely, as does that fruit, nut and cacao mix!

  2. Errign permalink
    September 21, 2011 4:12 pm

    I tend to get into routines with food, and will eat the same thing a few days in a row!

    Simple but tasty? Plain pretzels or brown rice with butter!

  3. September 21, 2011 4:16 pm

    I’m eating a lot of the same food at the moment and making bigger pans of food to ensure I have leftovers and some to freeze. It’s all about the budgeting over here! 🙂 Your dinner looks so good!

  4. Bronagh permalink
    September 21, 2011 4:22 pm

    I have a bit of a food routine going on too… Mon/Tues are usually stirfrys, Thursday is always an omlette or egg-based meal, and Fri/Sat usually feature slightly more time-consuming meals like an oven baked sweet potato or homemade bean or veggie burgers. It’s all delicious food that I look forward to eating though so I don’t see it as a problem. Your quinoa dinner looks delicious and you’ve reminded me that I really must pick up some pesto on my next grocery shop.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 21, 2011 4:36 pm

    I love rice cakes with almond butter, but have never tried bananas on them too! Sounds delicious, Sarah– thanks for the idea 😀

    Haha aw that’s hilarious that you wear the same clothes on the same days of the week. I’m pretty sure that I do that too, but nobody has ever noticed so I’ll just keep it up 😉

  6. September 21, 2011 5:02 pm

    We often eat the same things on the same days- for example we often have pasta on a tuesday as I get back from aerobics and Andy can cook it while I am in the shower- and on days when we have more time we have things that take longer.

  7. Charlotte Katherine permalink
    September 21, 2011 7:11 pm

    Food routines arent always bad, at least they ensure your tummy is always going to be full of something tasty rather than a failed cooking experiment (i’ve had two of those this week – one was a slightly out of date spaghetti squash that was so bitter and nasty i was super upset!)

    The best food I’ve had this week has to be my routine food of butternut squash soup, its so quick to stick it in the oven when i get in to roast, then i can unpack and get myself sorted before transfering it to the blender to put in whatever concotion of spicys/spinach i fancy that evening. I just like food that goes in bowls at the moment, i think its an autumn thing.

    Your quinoa looks lovely, i’m quite inspired to have a crack at making something similar for dinner tomorrow!

  8. September 21, 2011 9:26 pm

    I eat the same darn thing all of the time!! I go into a day claiming I am going to try something new… and I don’t. Sometimes I do though and it causes me major anxiety, how dumbbbb is that!
    I think I would enjoy that smoothie… for some reason I never add apples into mine!

  9. September 21, 2011 9:47 pm

    Your smoothie is a fantastic, vibrant colour! I think I always comment on your smoothies but that one especially caught my eye. I’ll be making that. Thank you! x

  10. September 22, 2011 2:07 am

    Dinner looks amazing – I love the combination of quinoa and broccoli, it’s something I need to indulge in more often!

  11. September 22, 2011 9:40 am

    Mmm your dinner looks lovely, I’ve just discovered putting nuts/seeds on to cooked food and now everything I eat is getting doused in seeds lol. I have a food routine too but I try and change it up so I always have a stir fry on a Sunday night but I make them different, so it’s not so much of a rut.

  12. September 22, 2011 10:50 am

    I love those Nakd bars, the cocoa orange is my favourite by a mile!
    I don’t really tend to eat the same things a great deal at the moment as between the work canteen and my kitchen I have quite a varied diet. I do get obsessed with ingredients though – at the moment it’s nuts, prawns and squash so a lot of our meals have those!

  13. September 22, 2011 12:51 pm

    That quinoa dish looks so good! I eat the same things all the time until I cannot stomach them anymore and then I move on to the next recipe. So bad 🙂

  14. September 22, 2011 3:17 pm

    Hehe that kind of sounds like me, except I eat the same thing for weeks on end then all of a sudden get bored and don’t eat it for months!

  15. September 22, 2011 7:57 pm

    yum! I love rice cakes with nut butter. Such a simple yet satisfying snack.
    I guess I tend to eat similar things because they’re what I like? I don’t know.
    I loved my simply roasted and baked kabocha squash this morning. I ate half for breakfast and half for lunch with nut butter and almond milk. Perfection in simple foods.

Leave a Reply

