Skip to content

The Gloves Are On

September 22, 2011

Hello! I’m sure glad that it’s nearly the end of the week. There’s only a 10 mile run and a day at work standing between me and the weekend. Yesterday was the day that I finally accepted that the summer is no longer with us and the weather is getting colder. My housemate has wanted to put the heating on for a while now, but I’ve been determined to hold out until the beginning of October. I was sitting at home shivering last night with many layers on and decided the heating could go on for an hour or two. I went to bed with jogging bottoms and a hoodie on last night and this morning I dug out a pair of gloves. I’ve also got a thermal vest under my jumper today.

So, the conclusion I come to is that I am a total wimp when the temperature drops below about 15 celcius, which is why I find winter a real struggle. I also hate being too hot, so I don’t know where would be my ideal place to live. It’s weird how I have lived through 27 autumns and winters, but every year the change in the season takes me by surprise. Does that happen to anyone else?

I needed some comfort food last night to try to warm myself up, so I made a big plate of pasta, veggies and tofu with a homemade pasta sauce.

22Sep11

I didn’t actually use that much pasta, but this meal ended up huge because Wednesday night is “use up all my veggies night”. That’s because my organic veg box arrives first thing on a Thursday morning and I need to make room in my fridge for all the fresh deliciousness. Last week’s box was stellar and I really enjoyed finishing off the last of it – broccoli, chard (my new obsession), purple carrots (so pretty), onions and cherry tomatoes. I also threw in some chestnut mushrooms that weren’t in the box.

I love making my own pasta sauces using fresh tomatoes because it’s so easy and much lighter than the typical sickly sauce that you can buy from the supermarket (although there are some good ones out there – I love Gordon Ramsey’s sauces).

Cherry tomato and roasted red pepper pasta sauce

Serves 2

  • large white onion, diced
  • 12 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 1/2 roasted red peppers (from a jar, but you could roast your own), sliced
  • teaspoon agave nectar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vegetable bouillon
  • tablespoon water
  • chilli powder
  • black pepper

I just fried the onions until they were soft, then added the other ingredients and simmered for about 20 minutes.

Do you feel the cold? Have you turned the heating on yet?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 5:00 pm

    Yes, I feel the cold! It’s really chilly where I live! I havent turned on the heating yet but will probably have to real soon!

  2. September 22, 2011 5:24 pm

    I love the cold! Much better than being too hot anyway… I can’t believe you’ve already got the heating on! I hold out til Christmas and just love wearing thick hoodies, scarves and wooly socks….ahhh I love this time of year!
    That pasta looks good, I love homemade pasta sauce, I usually just used a tub of chopped tomatoes and some garlic, chilli & onions 🙂

  3. September 22, 2011 6:56 pm

    Not cold yet, but it’s sooo coming soon! My hands get crazy cold in the winter… I have terrible circulation!

  4. September 22, 2011 7:13 pm

    I always feel the cold and dread every winter:( I have to wear l;oads of layers, I willl also get some waterproof/snow boots soon as my feet feel the cold. ive never made my own asta also been scared i would turn out wrong, i am tempted to give it a go though. good luck with your run.

  5. September 22, 2011 7:25 pm

    Hahaha, thought it was just me who whimped when the temp dropped …. only thing is I can never be too warmly dresses, or at least very rearly 🙂

  6. September 22, 2011 7:35 pm

    I feel the cold- Andy always teases me about it as I also get very hot and bothered in the heat on holiday! I think I am rubbish at regulating my own temperature. I have changed to long pj bottoms, and often have my big slippers on now, but no hot water bottle yet, or heating. I think you are further north so maybe colder? We try to hold out until October, and then we might put it on for an hour in the evening to take the chill off. Someone at work does the “November challenge” and they do not have heating til November, but I would be freezing and miserable I think.

  7. almosstovernow permalink
    September 22, 2011 7:47 pm

    *sigh* the cold makes me sad 😦 I don’t mind as long as it stays above zero, but I suffer badly with SAD and when it’s too frosty to run outside then I get very, very depressed. Winter is not a good time for me.

    Love your pasta dish!

    xxx

  8. September 22, 2011 7:48 pm

    P.S That above comment was Jess: I was trying to retrieve my old blog but it didn’t work sadly…still left me logged in to WP though!

  9. September 22, 2011 8:12 pm

    I love wrapping up in the cold in huge comfy knits and cosying up on the sofa watching DVDs. A complete contrast to the summer as all I want to do is stay outside all day long.

  10. September 22, 2011 8:50 pm

    I’m such a wimp with the cold… I’m glad I’m not the only one having to work hard not to put the heating on – I gave in for a couple of hours on Saturday! I’m wearing two jumpers and a coat at the moment and gloves up at the yard because my hands feel it so much… urgh, hate winter and hate being cold!
    I love purple carrots and your pasta sauce sounds great 🙂

  11. September 23, 2011 12:26 am

    I could totally eat that plate of pasta right now. And YES, my mum has the heating on already and believe me, if my mother has the heating on, its COLD outside!

  12. September 23, 2011 5:34 am

    It definitely seemed noticeably more autumnal yesterday. Still not putting the heating on for a while yet – wearing jumpers costs nowt.

  13. September 23, 2011 8:56 am

    I’m very sensitive to the cold, but I love this time of year as its a great excuse to wrap up in long socks, jumpers and scarves! I think I was saying to you on the train on the way back from Manchester how bad my hands get so the gloves have never really been off for me this year!

  14. September 23, 2011 12:21 pm

    I actually quite like the nip in the air on a bright cheery morning. No heating for us yet but have succumbed to warming my tootsies but putting the electric blanket on for a couple of minutes when I get into bed.

    Rosexx

  15. Errign permalink
    September 23, 2011 6:07 pm

    I love “use up the veggies” meals.

    I’m used to the cold, having grown up where negative temperatures are very common for the winter months and transitioning to wearing jeans & sweaters for fall is my very favorite!

  16. September 24, 2011 4:22 pm

    I definitely haven’t had to turn the heat on yet, and I hope it’s a while before I do! I’m not ready to let go of the warm weather yet 🙂

  17. September 25, 2011 4:17 am

    We rarely have to turn the heat on- it’s not until December or January that it gets cold enough at night to turn it on. The city that I’m planning on moving to gets a lot of snow, though, so I’m not going to be used to it at all!

  18. September 27, 2011 2:14 am

    Mmm that looks just like my sort of comfort food!
    How do you cook the veggies and tofu for that sort of dish?
    I think it would make a great uni dinner, healthy and filling 🙂

Leave a Reply

