Skip to content

Doing Lunch Granny-Style

September 25, 2011

It turns out that whoever operates the weather reads my blog and couldn’t stand me whining about the cold because it’s been warm here in the past few days. I’m not sure what the definition of an Indian summer is, but it’s certainly nicer than it was throughout most of August. Of course, I have no ability to control my body temperature, so I’ve been overheating, but I’m not going to moan because I’d rather have that than my fingers turning blue.

I’ve been at my parents house this weekend with Peter, mainly to celebrate my cousin’s 50th birthday on Saturday night.

007

The night got off to a winning start when we arrived just in time for the speeches and cake cutting, which came along with a lovely glass of bubbly. Peter was driving, so I got to drink his glass as well Smile I didn’t go mad with the alcohol though because I can’t stand the hangovers any more – I swear it takes me a week to get over them properly! It has to be a really special occasion now for me to indulge in more than a couple of glasses.

There was food as well – I had a chicken curry with rice, beetroot, red cabbage, pickled onion and some bread.

008

Looking back, this seems like a really random combination, but that’s what I love about buffets – you can pick and choose what you like and come up with a tailor-made meal. I went back for seconds of the beetroot because I seriously cannot get enough of the stuff.

Today we’ve mostly been lounging around the house watching more Big Bang Theory. I *think* I might have seen every episode now, but every now and then I come across one that I haven’t seen. It makes me laugh so much because it reminds me quite a bit of Peter and his friends. Around lunch time we (ok, I …) started to get a bit restless, so we decided to do lunch granny-style … at a garden centre! Garden centres nearly always have an amazing cafe, and I thought that it was likely to provide Peter with the cheese toastie he was craving.

There was actually a huge menu and I was spoilt for choice. Peter found his cheese toastie, so he was happy, and I plumped for a poached salmon salad.

015

This was so much more than an ordinary salad – it had salmon, salad leaves, melon, oranges, pineapple, apple, homemade coleslaw and potato salad, beetroot (win!) and a wholemeal roll. I’ve never been a mayo fan, so I normally don’t go for coleslaw or potato salad, but it was so light and not greasy at all, so I really enjoyed it.

We wondered around the centre and the farm shop before heading back to the cafe for scones. I had a date and walnut one with raspberry jam – yummy!

016

I think grannies might be on to something – Garden Centres are a pretty good place to go on a Sunday afternoon. This one even had gorgeous views across Cheshire.

021

I’ve still got to do the run I had planned for today. I was going to do 6 miles, but I’ve done quite a few longer steady runs this week already, so I think I’m going to do 3 miles of intervals instead. That seems a lot more manageable for me today and I think if I tried to make myself do the 6 miles I probably wouldn’t make it out at all. I’m not planning on doing any more long runs before my half marathon in two weeks time. Eek – that’s scary, but I’m really looking forward to it at the same time!

What have you been up to this weekend?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 4:08 pm

    All that food looks delicous!

  2. September 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    Hahahaha, I love finding myself surrounded my grannies because I’m in some obscure place having tea & scones 🙂

  3. September 25, 2011 4:46 pm

    I love going to places like that- anywhere with a view and a nice tearoom 🙂

  4. September 25, 2011 4:56 pm

    The walnut and date scone looks lovely! I always end up on the bus with lots of grannies and they are so cute!

  5. September 25, 2011 5:23 pm

    Now that’s what I call a salad 🙂

    I’m a bit hyper for granny-places. I’d need to go to a garden centre with a kids’ play area outside so I could run around and go on the swings…

    xxx

  6. September 25, 2011 5:48 pm

    Yum, those scones look so good!

    My next race is in two weeks too- it will be here before we know it, eeeek!

  7. September 25, 2011 7:48 pm

    I love big bang theory, so funny! I know what you mean about this warmer weather its lovely!

  8. September 25, 2011 8:53 pm

    I’ve been enjoying the sun too, hasn’t it been gorgeous – and more to come this week, woop!
    I love the way you got an extra glass of champagne but I’m with you; more than two and I can’t cope these days 🙂

  9. September 25, 2011 9:25 pm

    Nothing like a garden centre for a decent nosh up!!! Especially if you are talking scones…..I’ve never had one with dates in but now I want one!

    Rosexx

  10. September 25, 2011 11:08 pm

    All the food looks so delicious!

  11. Errign permalink
    September 26, 2011 12:08 am

    I enjoyed my first weekend off by seeing friends, cooking and doing homework (which surprisingly was enjoyable, just because I knew it meant I’d have free time this week!)

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    September 26, 2011 1:41 am

    I love the little lonesome potato (I think?) on your buffet plate haha

    And good job listening to your body today & sticking to the three miles. Who knows, you could’ve injured yourself two weeks before your race! 😦

  13. Healthy Teen on a Mission permalink
    September 26, 2011 6:06 am

    i love buffets too! you can get a little bit of everything without totally having to commit 🙂

  14. September 26, 2011 1:29 pm

    Mm all of your eats are looking might tasty 🙂
    That’s awesome you are listening to your body. That is something I struggle with but when I do, it really pays off

Leave a Reply

