Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday #11

September 28, 2011

It’s that time of the week again – time to join in with the What I Ate Wednesday party! I usually track Tuesday’s eats, but yesterday morning I just ran out of time. I was having one of those mornings where I was on go-slow and everything seemed to take twice as long as usual. So today’s WIAW is a mixture of eats from yesterday and today.

WIAWbutton

Breakfast

This morning I made the nicest smoothie I’ve eaten so far. The star ingredient was a delicious pear from my Dad’s garden.

28Sep11_1

My Dad tells me it’s been a bumper year for apples and pears, and I’m loving it! The pear gave a subtle sweetness to the smoothie as well as a yummy creamy texture.

28Sep11_2

Pear and ginger smoothie

  • 1 pear, peeled and chopped
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 2 tablespoons pea protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder
  • ½ teaspoon xantham gum
  • 1 teaspoon ginger powder
  • ½ cup rice milk
  • 1 ½ cups water

Of course I topped it with my favourite muesli. I’m obsessed with Dorset muesli at the moment, but perhaps I will branch out into other toppings soon.

Lunch

28Sep11_3

Today’s lunch was a variation on my usual salad, with spinach, cucumber, sweetcorn, chickpeas, millet and cherry balsamic glaze.

The packet of millet I bought had very vague preparation instructions, so I decided to google how to cook it properly. Millet is a versatile grain and you can make it into a creamy porridge, but I wanted to retain the individual grains.

1. The first stage is to lightly toast (but not burn!) the grains in a pan for a couple of minutes.

2. Then add the water. I used about 300ml of boiling water to my 50g of millet.

3. If you want to keep the integrity of the grains you need to then cover the pan and leave it on a low heat until all the water is absorbed (no stirring or you will get porridge!). This took about 15 minutes.

Perfect! Millet is one of my favourite grains now.

Pre-run snack

28Sep11_4

Two rice cakes with almond butter and sliced bananas, and one with apple and pear spread. I’ve discovered that rice cakes sit really well in my stomach, so they have become my pre-workout snack of choice.

Running club was super fun last night. We did a negative split run, which I’d never tried before, but enjoyed a lot. The idea was to run as far as you could along a prescribed route for 31 minutes and then turn around and run back to where you started within an hour. With my basic mathematical skills I realised that I had to take the first half steady in order not to die during the return leg. I stuck to about 10 min/miles, which didn’t feel super easy because the route was quite hilly. I really loved the challenge of beating myself on the way back and actually managed to get back to the start in 58:30 minutes! I was very sweaty and exhausted by the end, but I had some awesome endorphins coursing through my blood.

Dinner

I apologise for the following photo – I’ve had a few disasters in the kitchen lately and my dinner last night wasn’t up to my normal standards. The lighting was pretty awful too!

28Sep11_6

Tofu stir-fry with carrots, courgette, Chinese leaves, red pepper and mushrooms and a peanut flour sauce, topped with chilli Munchy Seeds. I made the sauce way too thin and didn’t fry the tofu for long enough. It wasn’t as bad as the “scrambled eggs” that I made on Monday – I won’t inflict the photo on you, but I will just say that I don’t know how scrambled eggs can go so wrong! I think I need to engage my brain and concentrate a bit more when I’m cooking.

Have you had any kitchen disasters?

What’s your favourite grain?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 5:09 pm

    Your eats look good! I love topping rice cakes with bananas, it makes a great snack and pre-workout snack!

  2. September 28, 2011 5:49 pm

    I love millet too, I had it this evening for dinner in fact! I don’t toast it, just cook it like I do any grain really. I love how quick it cooks. Quinoa is also a big favourite too! As long as your dinner tasted good that’s the main thing!

  3. September 28, 2011 5:52 pm

    My partner tried to make a seitan Irish stew the other week. He also added a few random ingredients to ‘spice it up’ and neglected to add sugar. It was vile. It was bitter from too much stout and no sugar, and adding a tablespoon of cayenne pepper didn’t help matters either.
    He is now BANNED from adding things to recipes.

    At my club we did a similar one a few weeks ago but rather than running out for 31 minutes we did 1 minute out-1 minute back, 2-minutes out-2 minutes back, up until 4 minutes out and back then scaled down the time again.
    I found it a bit tough at the time but it’s so so beneficial for pacing and getting to know your level of exertion.

  4. Errign permalink
    September 28, 2011 5:58 pm

    Buckwheat is my favorite grain 🙂

  5. September 28, 2011 6:03 pm

    The first time I tried to cook millet it failed but I tried the toasting and then cover+simmer method and loved it too! Grains are so easy to mess up. If you show us the messed up scrambled egg I’ll show you my last attempt at poached eggs 😉
    I think brown rice is my favourite grain, I try lots of others but always go back to it.

  6. September 28, 2011 6:38 pm

    All your eats look so good! I have disasters in my kitchen ALL the time 🙂

  7. September 28, 2011 6:57 pm

    I think I had a small bag of millet flakes once but I found them quite bitter- maybe I will have to give it another go. I love quinoa (I think it is technically a seed) as it is tasty and filling- especially with beetroot. And oats of course. Ace work on the run too 🙂

  8. September 28, 2011 6:59 pm

    I’ve never really mastered the art of cooking tofu, mine always turns out a bit like that! I love the fresh pears – I used to despise pears, but recently I’ve come to really enjoy them.

  9. September 28, 2011 7:48 pm

    Sometimes something may not look too enticing or appetising but tastes AMAZING, not always but sometimes 😉

  10. September 28, 2011 8:47 pm

    SO many kitchen disasters for me – forgetting to season the pasta bake in my WIAW post was the latest one. I have had far worse though, from melting spatulas to setting fire to tea towels, kitchen roll, and my own hair (twice!).

    Favourite grain = quinoa, with buckwheat coming in a close second.

    xxx

  11. September 28, 2011 11:28 pm

    I had a kitchen disaster last weekend when my darn blondie brownies would not cook through! I tore at them in frustration… yes a bit dramatic 🙂

  12. September 29, 2011 2:35 am

    Oooh I love having chickpeas in salad, they’re such great protein and fibre! And I’ve never tried a pear smoothie before but it sounds divine.

    I’ve had plenty of kitchen disasters which I like to blame on my poor boyfriend when he gives me a suggestion for dinner and I fail to execute it well. 😉

  13. September 29, 2011 1:18 pm

    What does the buckwheat taste of or similar too?

    Brown rice is my favourite. I love to add vegetables to it when it is cooking so that it soaks up a bit of the flavour.

    I’ve had plenty of kitchen disasters but the one that my mum and I still laugh about is when we made gravy and it looked a bit pale and insipid (although it tasted fine) so we tried adding food colouring to make it look better. The result was roast beef with exceptionally pink gravy!

    Rosexx

    • September 29, 2011 4:41 pm

      Hmm – I’m not sure what tastes similar. I’d say it’s a very mild taste, so needs some seasoning to liven it up a bit. To me, it has almost a gritty texture, but others might disagree. I like it, but it’s not my favourite.

  14. September 29, 2011 4:02 pm

    I love millet, such a versatile grain. I also love quinoa and buckwheat. They are a great addition to any meal. 🙂

  15. September 29, 2011 4:50 pm

    I think your dinner looks fine.. in fact, more than fine!
    My favourite grain at the moment is spelt. I’ve been buying spelt tagliatelle from our local wholefood store. It’s got a really nice taste (IMO) and it’s a high protein grain, so great for mixing together with a few veggies (I use it to make a creamy avocado pesto pasta dish).
    I’m also loving barley flakes in my breakfast muesli 🙂

  16. September 30, 2011 6:17 pm

    still looks good to me! looking forward to trying it. thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday #12 « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

