Skip to content

Caution: Extreme Chocolate!

September 30, 2011
tags:

A couple of months ago I had several open bars of chocolate in my cupboard which were always available for those sudden cravings and evening munchies. However, I started to feel that my clothes were getting tighter and I think that my handy supply of chocolate was at least partly to blame. Eating a few squares had become a daily habit and then a few squares would lead to half a bar. It wasn’t massive amounts, but certainly contributed to weight gain over a period of time.

So, when I’d finished my last bar I didn’t buy any more for a while. No biggie – I just didn’t pick up any chocolaty treats when I went to the health food shop or supermarket. I have eaten chocolate in that time of course, but it hasn’t been lurking temptingly in my kitchen.

Yesterday I was wondering past Hotel Chocolat and decided that perhaps it was time to let chocolate back into my life. I’ve broken the daily habit and I’ve been able to savour a bar of chocolate slowly in the past, so it shouldn’t be a problem now. My favourite bar from Hotel Chocolat is there 99% cocoa Ghana bar. This one isn’t for the faint-hearted! It whacks you over the head with a strong, bitter cocoa flavour, but the aftertaste and texture is surprisingly mellow.

30Sep11_1

Over the years my taste buds have gradually been getting used to higher cocoa-content chocolate. I started with 70% dark chocolate, then 85% and 90%, and it’s taken quite a while to build up to the really strong stuff. I definitely wouldn’t recommend trying it if you’re only used to eating Dairy Milk. For me, eating really dark chocolate feels luxurious and gives me the opportunity to savour the flavour, and it gives a real kick as well! I made the mistake of eating a small piece before I went to bed last night and I was practically bouncing off the ceiling. I don’t drink any caffeinated drinks, so I think my body went into shock. Mental note to myself … this chocolate is a daytime treat only!

Have you tried very high cocoa-content chocolate before?

What’s your favourite chocolate?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 3:34 pm

    Wow, I didn’t even know you could get 99% cocoa chocolate. And I call myself a chocoholic! Since I got into dark chocolate, I’ve found milk really doesn’t do it for me any more. However, the max I’ve tried is 85%. I definitley need to give this stuff a go!

  2. September 30, 2011 3:34 pm

    wow! thats serious cocoa temptation!

    http://yumyumeten.wordpress.com/

  3. Errign permalink
    September 30, 2011 3:44 pm

    My favorite chocolate is Lindt’s with sea salt. I think it’s 55%?

    I don’t like the super dark stuff, but I think you’re probably right, they take some building up to!

  4. September 30, 2011 4:11 pm

    I like Green and Black’s chocolate – in most flavours, I confess!
    Don’t tell Peter, Sarah (and especially not his dad, though I know my secret will be safe if Peter happens to read this – won’t it, Peter 😉 ), but I bought one of those special variety boxes of tiny bars, so that I can look forward to a sensible-sized treat every day for over three weeks 😀

  5. September 30, 2011 4:56 pm

    I love hotel chocolate and they have some great dark chocolates available – they are already on my Christmas wish list! I love really dark chocolate, I have a 100% cacao bar which may be a bit too dark for me but it is good. I think the perfect one for me is about 85 – 90% cacao, yum!

  6. September 30, 2011 5:38 pm

    That is super dark! I prefer dark chocolate now- sometimes I like milk chocolate but sometimes it tastes too sweet for me. I think I now like 70-80% chocolate- I have tried higher stuff in the past and it has seemed really dry for some reason.
    I think at the moment my fave is montazumes dark chocolate, although ghirardelli chocolate with peanut butter in it is a close second!

  7. September 30, 2011 6:07 pm

    I looovee 99% chocolate! I honestly dont taste a big different between 99% and 90% chocolate.. As long as its dark chocolate I’ll eat it! 😀

  8. September 30, 2011 6:23 pm

    Oh Hotel I do love you! I may have to try that out, I’ve never tried more than a 90%.

  9. September 30, 2011 7:12 pm

    I love bitter dark chocolate. My 100% bar is really intense and rich. I love it but you only need a little bit.

  10. September 30, 2011 7:14 pm

    Wow, 99%?!
    It’s always been milk chocolate for me but I’ve got more into dark recently and it’s true, I can stop after a square or two and it’s lovely but I could never stop after that much milk chocolate!

  11. September 30, 2011 7:47 pm

    I love, love, LOVE extra-dark chocolate. And when I’m next in Newcastle I shall be heading straight to Hotel Chocolat for that bar 😀

    The caffeine doesn’t bother me, but that’s probably because I have a coffee addiction 😛 The days of the Cambridge Conferences I was at, I went through FOUR venti soy cappucinos. Oh yes,

    Lindt 99% dunked in tea so it’s all melty has to be my favourite though (it takes a tantalisingly long time to melt though!)

    xxx

  12. September 30, 2011 7:47 pm

    My Mum used to get a box of Hotel Chocolat monthly. Heavenly to taste, but hellish for the figure! I’ve tried 99%, can’t say I enjoyed it though! The strongest I like is 80%, though I’m sure I could adjust my tastes eventually.

  13. September 30, 2011 9:50 pm

    I just reintroduced chocolate covered peanuts into my life. It’s still unclear whether or not this was a mistake 🙂

  14. September 30, 2011 11:57 pm

    I think I’ve eaten 85% or 90%, can’t remember which. I liked it!

  15. October 2, 2011 10:03 am

    Wow that is seriously strong chocolate!
    I don’t think I could handle 99% chocolate but I do love Hotel Chocolat!
    I always ask for their chocolate in my stocking at Christmas 🙂

  16. October 4, 2011 9:22 am

    I’ve never been a big chocolate lover…. that was until I tried raw chocolate a few months ago. My body was actually zinging after a small bite! It must be all those antioxidants and minerals that are packed into it!
    Have you tried any of the Nakd bars? (they’re available in the major supermarkets and health food shops) My favourite is the chocolate orange bar. It’s truly delish!
    I’ve also got into making my own raw chocolates. They’re so easy to make. I’ll post the recipe on my blog next week xx

Leave a Reply

