Skip to content

A Royal Visit

October 2, 2011

Us Brits love to talk about the weather and there’s been plenty to talk about over the past week. It has been gloriously sunny and hot – over 29 celcius in Cambridge over the weekend. I made the most of it yesterday by going to London to meet up with my parents who are down there for the weekend. It’s crazy that it’s October and I only wore a sleeveless top, but I was still boiling over.

The main reason for my visit to London was to take a tour around the State Rooms of Buckingham Palace and to see the Royal Wedding exhibition. I’ve been to the Palace before, a couple of years ago, but I was very excited to see Kate’s dress. I wasn’t disappointed – the dress was stunning and the lace work was really impressive up close. Seeing it in person and learning a bit more about it’s design made me appreciate it as a work of art. As good as the dress was, my favourite bit of the tour, in true food blogger style, was the wedding cake that was on display. William and Kate had two cakes – a chocolate biscuit cake and the more traditional one that I saw yesterday. It was made from 17 individual fruit cakes and decorated with white and cream icing and sugar flowers, including the four flowers of the UK – roses, thistle, daffodils and shamrock.

image

Source

I spent a good long time gawping at this – it might be the most beautiful thing that I’ve ever seen.

The gardens of the Palace were gorgeous in the sunshine, but I regretted not wearing any sunglasses and you can see from my squinting in this photo.

005

007

013

We took the rest of the day very slowly because of the heat, eating a couple of nice meals and calling into Snog for a frozen yoghurt.

016

Oh my, I love fro-yo! Every time I go to London I need to make a visit to Snog to get my fix. I always drag whoever I’m with along to try and convert them to the gorgeousness that is fro-yo. I’m in a a bit of a rut though – I nearly always go for the natural flavour because I know it’s good and I don’t want to be disappointed by another flavour. My Dad went for pink guava, which was really good too, so maybe I need to branch out next time. I had a tough time deciding on toppings, but it plumped for strawberries and dark chocolate nibs. Such a good combination!

When the heat got a bit much we went to the cinema in Leicester Square to see Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. Those more observant of you will realise that I’ve already seen this film, but I enjoyed it so much that it was worth seeing again! I love going to the cinema, so if there’s a film that I really like I will go to see it multiple times.

My body aches all over from my adventures yesterday. I can run for over 10 miles, but shuffling around a museum or stately home for a couple of hours will make me hurt more than anything else. My hips and back are screaming today, and my feet are really sore. So, although I ran/walked for 5.5 miles this morning, I’m taking the rest of the day easy, relaxing and recovering. I’ve just had a lovely lunch of stir-fry with carrots, courgette, edamames, lettuce and wholewheat noodles.

022

This was perfect and made up for my stir-fry disaster last week!

What would be your ideal cake?

Anyone else go to the cinema to see the same film more than once?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 1:58 pm

    That cake is a beautiful work of art!
    Didn’t they eat any at the wedding, then, or is this a replica?

  2. October 2, 2011 2:01 pm

    I think my ideal cake is something other than chocolate, weirdly… maybe coconut or carrot. I don’t really like fruit cake/marzipan although that one’s stunning! I love that they had a chocolate biscuit one too 🙂
    I know what you mean about days like that being knackering too; when we went to Disneyland (or is it World?!) in LA, I was knackered and ached all over!

  3. October 2, 2011 3:38 pm

    That cake is beautiful. Walking around is really tiring – enjoy your rest day.
    Gosh my fave cake- I love love love christmas cake- the fruit and marzipan combo is yum. I also love carrot cake with cream cheese fristing- they will be my top 2 I think.

  4. October 2, 2011 4:14 pm

    That cake does truly look amazing! I think I would have a vegan chocolate peanut butter cake 🙂 Looks like you had a really fun day, glad you enjoyed that film, I’ve heard mixed reviews but if you went to see it twice I trust your opinion more!

  5. October 2, 2011 5:20 pm

    Aww, shame to have the cake go to waste (greedy me…I just get sad when I see food left uneaten!)

    I have too short an attention span to see a movie more than once! I have enough trouble sitting through them in their entirity as it is…

    Cake-wise, I think I would have a date/coffee cake, or a white chocolate/raspberry cake. My mum used to make both types, and they disappeared within seconds of coming out of the oven between my Dad and me…

    xxx

  6. October 3, 2011 3:49 am

    I’m so jealous that you got to see that exhibit! And the dress and cake! Swoon.

    I’m heading to England in late November so I’m not sure if the exhibit will still be there (prob not) otherwise I would definitely try to go. Looks like you had a great time in London!

  7. October 3, 2011 10:13 am

    Looks like you had a fun time! That cake looks awesome! 🙂
    When I was younger, my mom took my two brothers and I to watch the same Disney movie 3 times because we loved it so much 😀

  8. October 3, 2011 12:27 pm

    that’s the first time I’ve seen a close up of the cake. I agree that it is perfect. I also agree that it seems a shame that it wasn’t eaten though!!!

    My mum always makes and decorates cakes for us. She makes a wholemeal sponge and it is sooooo tasty. Much more dense than normal sponge but much more flavour too.

    Rosexx

  9. October 3, 2011 1:04 pm

    My first thought was ‘why didn’t they eat the cake?!’ It’s so beautiful!
    Walking around makes me sore too, I wonder if it’s also because you’re not wearing as comfy clothes?

  10. October 3, 2011 1:57 pm

    That cake is so gorgeous and professional looking of course 🙂 My idea cake is chocolate with a very rich buttercream frosting!

  11. October 3, 2011 2:51 pm

    That cake is truly stunning. I’ve always wanted to have a nose around Buckingham Palace. I can imagine that it’s really impressive inside! I think my ideal cake would be red velvet with lots of pretty frosting.

  12. October 3, 2011 10:45 pm

    That looks and sounds like a fantastic day out!
    That froyo is making me drool (not literally :-P) and your dinner looks delicious, just my kind of thing!
    I like the idea of a tower of cupcakes instead of a traditional cake, my boyfriend loves the traditional French wedding cake: essentially a tower of profiteroles drizzled with a caramel sauce 🙂

Leave a Reply

