Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday #12

October 5, 2011
tags:

Woohoo – it’s What I Ate Wednesday again! I genuinely adore this time of the week because there are so many high quality posts that celebrate a delicious day of food … my Google Reader is bursting at the seams already!

WIAWbutton

I’m going to start by painting you a really attractive picture. I’ve been suffering with a mouth ulcer on the inside of my bottom lip, so all these meals were eaten with my lip tucked in like a granny who’s forgotten to put her dentures in. I’ve eaten everything you shouldn’t when you have a mouth ulcer, including citrus and tomatoes, but I’m not going to let a pesky sore get between me and tasty food!

Breakfast

Another Pear & Ginger smoothie like last week. Pears are currently my favourite smoothie ingredient – they bring a very gentle sweetness to the party without being an overpowering flavour.

5Oct11_1

Snacks

5Oct11_2

My current snack obsession is mixed fruit and nuts with cocoa nibs – I seriously can’t get enough!

Lunch

5Oct11_3

A yummy salad with shredded romaine lettuce, cucumber, sweetcorn and homemade peanut butter hummus, served with an Amisa spelt crispbread.

As part of the Big Budget Challenge I’m trying to make more things from scratch and hummus is so easy to make that there’s really no need to buy it from the supermarket. I didn’t use a recipe – I just throw whatever I could find into my processor. As a rough guide I used a tin of chickpeas, 2 teaspoons of peanut butter, a glug of olive oil, a small garlic clove, salt, pepper, cumin and paprika. I added some water until I got the consistency I wanted. Using peanut butter instead of tahini gives a milder taste and creamier texture in my opinion, which is a nice change.

Snack

I was ready for something to snack on by the time I got home from work, so I had a rice cake with more hummus and one with almond butter. I had some dried apricots for the iron.

5Oct11_4

Dinner

I don’t have a photo because my camera mysteriously ate it … hmm – I don’t know what happened there! It looked lush though Smile

Again, as part of the Big Budget Challenge I’m trying to use more dried beans and pulses because they are ridiculously cheap. I cooked up a batch of “exotic bean mix” and then made a quick tomato sauce for them.

  • 3 fresh tomatoes, chopped
  • 4 dates, chopped
  • Chilli powder
  • Salt & pepper

I just heated it all up in a saucepan until the tomatoes became mushy and the dates melted.

I served the bean mixture on top of a sweet potato and with stir-fried pak choi and courgettes on the side. This is quite a random meal combination, but it’s what I fancied and I think I did quite well by including iron and vitamin C rich foods.

A bit later on I fancied a little bit of everything for dessert, so I had two sliced kiwi fruit, some soya yoghurt and a chunk of Hotel Chocolat 99% chocolate. Sharon told me that dark chocolate contains iron, so naturally I was onto it straight away!

5Oct11_6

What’s the strangest combination of food you’ve had lately?

What do you make at home rather than buying the store version?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 4:33 pm

    Yum! I love all the food you ate! Kiwis are one of my fave fruit now 🙂
    A strange combo is raspberries with PB2 on top 😀 but it tastes soo good! Like a PB and Jelly sandwich without the bread 🙂

  2. October 5, 2011 4:44 pm

    I (almost) always make my own homemade pizza rather than buy it premade from somewhere. I always like mine better because it doesn’t leave me feeling like a grease ball, it’s healthy, and completely satisfying!
    You had a great day of eats–good variety and lots of nutrients! Good for you! : )

  3. October 5, 2011 5:09 pm

    All of your eats look great! And that smoothie.. very interesting with the pear.. I never think to add that to mind for some reason!
    I like to make my own nut butters and hummus at home

  4. October 5, 2011 6:15 pm

    I think that combo sounds lovely actually! I think I may have some unusual food combos – at least as far as other people are concerned, but for me they are really tasty! I have some brown rice leftover from my grain of the week so I’m going to have it with butternut puree, apple and cinnamon for breakfast, I guess some people might think that’s odd! Glad your big budget challenge is going well 🙂

  5. October 5, 2011 7:01 pm

    I have a lot of strange combos going on but I love them. Vegan pesto and avocado on rice cakes is a new one. Making your own hummus is a great budgeting tip- it’s so easy to do and you can thrown anything in.

    • October 5, 2011 8:29 pm

      We’re loving vegan pesto and avocado too! I’ve found it’s a great way to get my little boy to eat avocado (ie. disguise the taste by adding pesto 😉 ). I blend it up and mix it in with tagliatelle.

  6. October 5, 2011 7:13 pm

    I love the sound of the pb hummus, I think when I tried to make it before I left all the skins on the chickpeas and I didnt like those bits of skin on their own.

  7. October 5, 2011 8:28 pm

    Gorgeous photos! We eat tons of hummus in our house but I’ve been a bit lazy and keep buying it from Waitrose. Our latest favourites are roasted tomato and caramelised onion. If I’m joining the big budget challenge I’m going to have to get the blender out and start making my own again.
    Your dinner sounded delish – don’t worry about the lack of photo… your description has painted a beautiful picture in my head. 🙂 I’m going to start buying dried beans/pulses too as they are sooo much cheaper than the organic tinned varieties. See you next Wed xx

  8. October 5, 2011 8:38 pm

    PEANUT BUTTER HUMMUS! Sorry, got a bit excited….sounds AMAZING! Love your WIAW posts 🙂

  9. October 5, 2011 8:49 pm

    Your ‘strange’ combination doesn’t sound weird to me at all – it would be right up my street 🙂

    And your hummus looks far nicer than any commercial version I’ve seen, even Sabra.

    xxx

  10. October 6, 2011 10:21 am

    The hummus looks great, I want to try making more things like that from scratch, I’ve gotten lazy with it recently.

  11. October 6, 2011 10:45 am

    Peanut butter in humus sounds great, I’m not a huge fan of tahini and I always put too much in so I’ll have to try this!
    I’m trying to make my own snack bars at home but there’s something so easy about buying a box of nakd bars!
    Hope the ulcer goes soon, I used to suffer badly from them and I hate bonjela which didn’t help. I do have a lovely image of you eating like a granny though 😉

  12. October 6, 2011 12:27 pm

    I love kiwi and I haven’t had it in so long for some reason! I’ll have to pick up a few the next time I go to the store.
    I think that hummus sounds great 🙂 I actually saw a recipe for buffalo wing hummus that I’m going to make for my husband one of these days. I thought that sounded interesting..

  13. October 6, 2011 4:14 pm

    I’m the queen of weird food combos, so no judgement over here. I’m afraid to imagine what it will be like when I have kids 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Rested and Ready to Run « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

