Skip to content

Working on My Goal for 2011

October 6, 2011

Earlier in the week Bronagh asked me to share my omelette making technique. It’s no secret that omelettes are my favourite quick meal – I love that if you’re really pushed for time you can whip one up in a couple of minutes flat. My vegetable omelettes are on my plate in 10 minutes, which is great for when I get in late from yoga or running club.

The secret to perfectly round omelettes is a good small frying pan.

6Oct11_1

My housemate picked this one up from the supermarket for less than £10. You need to make sure that it’s non-stick and that you look after it. That means no metal utensils or leaving on the hob too long. Me and my housemate have got through several pans in the past few months due to various mishaps. A non-stick pan is really the difference between yummy eggs and a complete disaster.

I normally go for a frittata-style omelette rather than a folded one, mainly because I haven’t quite got my flipping technique sorted yet. I have to admit that a folded omelette is absolutely delicious with lots of melted cheese in the middle!

1. I usually start by heating up some oil and then add in whatever vegetables I want – my favourites are courgettes, mushrooms, pepper and spinach. I like tomatoes too, but they release a lot of water, which can ruin the omelette.

2. I fry the veggies until they are cooked and then turn down the hob to a low to moderate heat, so not to burn the eggs.

3. I beat the eggs vigorously in a measuring jug with a fork. The better they are beaten, the fluffier the finished product will be.

4. Turn the grill onto high before adding the eggs into the pan.

5. Cook the eggs gently for 2 minutes – don’t stir them!

6. Place under the grill until the eggs are set.

And then you get something like I had on Monday night:

4Oct11_2

 

Moving on to last night’s dinner … In January when most bloggers were setting themselves goals for the year I decided to rebel and only set myself one goal – to eat more squash. Well, I have completely failed so far! However, I got an acorn squash in last week’s organic veggie box, so I decided to do something nice with it.

6Oct11_2

When I was sorting out my kitchen cupboards for the Big Budget Challenge I found a tin of puy lentils that had been hanging around for a while. They needed using up, plus lentils are a good source of iron, so I decided to create something with squash and lentils.

I had no idea how to cook the squash, so I did some research and discovered that they are nearly impossible to peel, so roasting is the best way to go. I cut it in half and scooped out the seeds and then roasted it for about 45 minutes.

In the meantime I cooked up a vegetable curry with the lentils to stuff the roasted squash. The result was quite pretty I think:

6Oct11_3

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with lentil and vegetable curry

  • 1 small acorn squash
  • 1/2 tin puy lentils (approx. 100g drained)
  • 1/2 small white onion, chopped
  • 1/2 courgette, sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper, sliced
  • 4 mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • Curry spices – cumin, coriander, ginger, chilli powder, black pepper

I fried up the vegetables until they were cooked and then added the lentils and spices and served on top of the roasted squash.

This was really tasty, and I enjoyed both the squash and the lentils. I’m sure this recipe will be become a regular in my repertoire. I had the rest of the lentils in a salad for lunch, but I wasn’t so keen on them cold and without a sauce, so I won’t be trying that again.

What’s your favourite quick meal?

Have you tried cooking any new recipes lately?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 5:37 pm

    LOVE the fall veggie curry! So pretty!

    I’m in total agreement about eggs being such a great quick dinner. When I’m cooking for just myself, I usually make eggs too.

  2. October 6, 2011 7:16 pm

    Wow look at this, what a gorgeous meal! I am definitely trying this sometime SOON!

  3. October 6, 2011 8:05 pm

    Ooh this looks delicious! I love eating food out of a squash, it makes the meal seem a lot fancier! I was never an omelette fan but I’ve recently started loving scrambled eggs so will have to try again.

  4. October 6, 2011 9:20 pm

    Your omelettes do look good. I just bought a new pan so as to produce equally gorgeous ones for breakfast mmmmmm can’t wait 🙂

  5. October 6, 2011 9:28 pm

    Yummy that squash lentil combo looks tasty.I can never peel squashes- I pierce them first (so they don’t explode) then roast them for a bit- then the skin is soft enough to peel.

  6. October 6, 2011 9:51 pm

    That squash is sooo cute! And I love the idea of roasting it and adding curry. To me, squash and curry flavours go really well together (like the dahl I made this week).
    Our family love butternut squash. It seems to make its way into most of my dinners. 😉 I find it easy to chop the skin off with a serrated knife.
    Stir fry noodles have got to be my favourite quick meal.
    Tonight I made Thai-style pineapple fried rice for the first time. I was meant to be making black beans and rice, but discovered that the beans needed soaking for 6 hours! I quickly spied a pineapple on the side and came up with a plan B. It turned out really well! I’ll post the recipe next week x

  7. Bronagh permalink
    October 6, 2011 10:20 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your omelette technique! It looks very do-able so I’ll def be giving it a go this weekend 🙂

  8. October 7, 2011 9:51 am

    I had a stuffed squash last night and it was amazing…yum! Your veggie lentil curry looks like a great topper!

  9. October 7, 2011 10:21 am

    Thanks for the omelette-making-tips! Just what I needed, I always mess up my omelette and it looks more like scrammbled eggs! 😛

  10. October 7, 2011 2:04 pm

    You are amazing. I am totally making that squash recipe next week! I have a tin of lentils that I have been dying to use. I will blog it and link you to it next week. Thank you! x

  11. Errign permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:01 pm

    I love, love, love using acorn squash as a bowl 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Rested and Ready to Run « Every Day's a Picnic
  2. Feeling Festive « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

