Skip to content

Rested and Ready to Run

October 7, 2011

Fantastic … it’s Friday! I’ve been really looking forward to this weekend more than usual because on Sunday I’m running my first half marathon! There hasn’t been much exercise going on because I’ve been trying to take it easy before the race. I’ve probably taken it easier than I would have liked because earlier in the week I felt really tired and lethargic and I didn’t want to push myself and risk illness or injury. Now that I’m feeling a bit more lively I’m really itchy to get outside on a good run, but I know that I need to rest. Hopefully I’ll be chomping at the bit on Sunday.

Resting hasn’t been all bad – I’ve had more time for my other passion in life … watching TV. Ok, I’m exaggerating for dramatic effect, I wouldn’t call TV a passion of mine, but I do love lounging on the sofa in front of a good series or film. I recently (before the Big Budget Challenge!) invested in season 2 of Glee, so I’ve been getting through that a bit too rapidly.

My week hasn’t been completely devoid of exercise. On Monday I did my usual yoga class which is always challenging and I got a real sweat on this week. On Tuesday I gave the 5k time trial at running club a miss and went on a 3 mile run by myself instead. I went Garmin-less but I ended up picking up the pace anyway because it was cold and I didn’t have enough layers on! On Wednesday I did a short upper body strength workout. I’ve been neglecting strength training lately because of a niggling chest/shoulder injury I’ve had. It was pretty sore the day afterwards, so once I’ve got the half marathon out of the way I’ll try to get my injury sorted out and get back to strength workouts.

It’s been a week since I started the Big Budget Challenge, so I thought I’d give an update of how I’m doing so far.

bigbudgetbuttonbig_thumb1

 

1. I know what’s in my kitchen cupboards and I’ve been using up the stuff that’s been hanging around for ages. I made this lentil curry with a tin of puy lentils that I’d forgotten I had.

2. I’ve been making more recipes from scratch rather than buying the store versions, like this peanut butter hummus.

3. I’ve bought bags of dried beans to soak and cook up myself instead of buying loads of tins. It’s cheaper and space saving, which is important for me because my kitchen is so teeny tiny.

4. I’ve not let anything go to waste. I saved the seeds out of the acorn squash I ate on Wednesday and roasted them. I picked out the squash pulp and rinsed them, and then laid them out on a baking sheet and let them dry out for 24 hours. I then sprinkled some salt and chilli powder on top and roasted in a low oven for about 45 minutes, tossing them  regularly.

7Oct11_1

These are so addictive and I’ve eaten nearly all of them. I love chilli Munchy Seeds, but they don’t fit into my budget challenge plan, so I made my own!

5. I cancelled my gym membership and have used the extra cash to pay for yoga classes and the entry fee for another 10k. I’ve decided to enter the Leeds Abbey Dash on the 20th November … I’m a glutton for punishment Smile

I feel like I’m a lot more aware of my spending habits and where my money goes to. I’m finding it surprisingly easy to stick to my grocery budget, but I think that’s because my kitchen is very well stocked already and I can get through the next two months by just buying fresh produce and topping up bits and bobs.

I’m finding it very difficult to stick to my personal budget though – I never realised how quickly money is frittered away on every day items. Half my monthly budget is gone already, so I’m going have to try really hard in the next few weeks. I might be able to “borrow” some money from my grocery budget with a bit of luck.

I hope you all have fantastic weekends!

Do you like watching TV?

Do you keep track of your spending?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 5:36 pm

    Yay hope the run goes well on Sunday 🙂 I am sure it will.
    I love TV 🙂 We tend to watch something together in the evening- nice way to relax.
    I find that in term time I don’t spend much, then I either order a load of stuff off the internet, to go shopping and spend a lot in one go! I have no coffee habit or any chances each day to spend a little money. Plus we save for holidays 🙂

  2. October 7, 2011 6:27 pm

    WOOT! Kick butt on your race! I’m sure you will 🙂

  3. October 7, 2011 6:57 pm

    Good luck on your race, you’ll be awesome! I’ll add the link to this post to my round up next week 🙂 I’ll definitely have to try roasting those seeds, I did that last year and they were great sprinkled on top of things! I track my spending using an app on my iPhone 🙂

  4. October 7, 2011 8:55 pm

    Not really and no 😉 buuuuuuuut GOOD LUCK for your race Sunday, I am pretty sure you will be very pleased with how you perform, go get ’em xx

  5. October 7, 2011 9:38 pm

    Best wishes for the race 😀

    Hehe, you’re a true race junkie now. Love it! I had to budget separately for race entires and travel costs before I was injured. I would race every week-end if my body would handle it.

    Great idea with roasting the seeds too!

    xxx

  6. October 8, 2011 1:33 am

    Best wishes for the race dear! I now you are going to rock it

  7. October 8, 2011 5:57 am

    Good luck this weekend! You will do great!

    I’m not good about watching my budget, but I find that I mostly spend money on is food and rent. I should watch my grocery budget a little more closely, but I’m definitely someone who will forgo other things (like new clothes) so that I can eat the more expensive food items 🙂 I do love the idea of having an already well-stocked pantry so that you can focus on the fresh produce instead of grains and beans and things.

  8. October 8, 2011 9:04 am

    good luck for the race 🙂

  9. October 8, 2011 11:20 am

    Good luck for your race tomorrow!!! I can’t wait to read your recap!

    Your toasted seeds sound delicious, I’m definitely going to try that!

  10. October 8, 2011 11:25 am

    Sounds like you’re doing great on the budgeting – I love the look of those seeds, especially as you didn’t even buy them but got them out of the squash – brilliant!
    I’m really strict and write down everything I spend, to the £5 in a book so I know exactly how much I’ve got, although that doesn’t necessarily stop excess spending, at least I know where it’s all gone!
    Good luck for tomorrow, look forward to hearing about it 🙂

  11. October 8, 2011 2:11 pm

    These are all great ways to save money, I’ve got a lot to learn so you doing this challenge is really useful for me! Thank you 🙂
    The toasted seeds look delicious!
    Good luck with training for the race!!

  12. Leigh permalink
    October 8, 2011 6:20 pm

    Great work on budgeting! I’ve been roasting sees in chilli powder too, it’s soo much cheaper! Good luck tomorrow, can’t wait to hear all about it!

  13. October 9, 2011 9:20 am

    Good luck with the run! I hope it goes really well for you! I look forward to hearing all about it on Monday.
    Great idea saving the squash seeds. I always throw them away and, like you, buy Munchy Seeds now and then as a treat. I’ll definitely be using the squash seeds from now on. Thanks for the tip! xx

  14. October 9, 2011 9:32 pm

    Hope the race went well today. Look forward to the full report!

    Great idea on the seeds. It always seems such a waste to just throw them. Did you follow a recipe or just make it up as you went along (i’m thinking roasting temp/time etc)

    Rosexx

  15. Errign permalink
    October 9, 2011 10:30 pm

    I do enjoy some TV on occasion. I’ve got Netflix, but I’m cancelling it tonight (was waiting for the billing period to end), because I get free cable at my place.

    I track my budget by using a spreadsheet and by actually writing down things in my register after I use my checking account 🙂

  16. October 10, 2011 12:24 am

    I’m sorry I’m late in wishing you luck 😦
    I’m sure you did great! I cannot wait to read all about it!!

  17. October 13, 2011 8:09 pm

    We grew up without TV, so it’s never something I’m drawn to doing with my free time. I do love a good movie though!

    I’m loving the Big Budget Challenge – it’s teaching me so much about where I spend.

Leave a Reply

