Skip to content

Recovery and New Running Shoes

October 11, 2011

Thank you for all your lovely comments on my race recap yesterday. In some ways it seems incredibly surreal that I ran a half marathon two days ago. I can hardly remember anything about it now, so it’s nice that I’ve got the recap to remind me. I think it’s the mind’s way of dealing with stressful situations. I have the same thing after I do an exam – I can never remember what questions I answered or what I wrote, and I’ve heard that that the same thing happens after childbirth as well.

I do have my legs to remind me that I gave my all over 13.1 miles. They are still sore, although it’s more DOMS (delayed on-set muscle soreness) now rather than pain, which is a relief at least. I had the day off work yesterday and I could have quite happily sat on my backside watching DVDs all day, but Peter fancied getting out of the house and encouraged me to keep him company. It was the best idea ever, because although I started off by hobbling out of the door, by the time we got home I was much looser. I love rest days and taking it easy, but sometimes keeping moving is the best thing to do to stop me from seizing up.

I even managed about 30 seconds of running on a treadmill when I got my gait analysed at Up & Running in Cambridge city centre. I’ve been really pleased with my New Balance shoes, but they are very lightweight and I’ve found them increasingly uncomfortable when I run on uneven surfaces. One section of the Great Eastern Run was on a textured road surface and I found it very tough on my feet and legs. So, I decided to invest in a new pair of more cushioned shoes. The assistant was really helpful and I tried on loads of different pairs before I settled on these Brooks Ghost 4 shoes that clinched it by generously accommodating my freakishly wide feet.

11Oct11_1

Look how clean they are compared to my “well-loved” shoes!

11Oct11_2

My older pair still have life in them, so I will wear them for shorter runs and where I know that the surface is relatively smooth and even.

I also invested in a foam roller while I was in the running shop.

11Oct11_3

I haven’t used it yet, but I’m looking forward to a session of gentle yoga, stretching and foam rolling later on.

I’ve been back at work today and I’m completely wiped out. I’ve made an effort to get up and wander around as much as I can without it seeming like I’m skiving off! I’ve been popping to the bathroom every couple of hours to stretch out as well.

Do you have any tips for speeding up recovery from DOMS?

What are your running / workout shoes like? Do you have more than one pair?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 4:27 pm

    Yay for the foam roller and new shoes 🙂
    I love to do gentle recovery- walking or stretching really do help 🙂

  2. October 11, 2011 4:39 pm

    Ooh, I might check out those Brooks if I can find them – I have so much trouble with running shoes because my feet are freakishly short and wide (just like the rest of me…) I currently use Asics Gel Cumulus and/or Nimbus but still have trouble with blisters in them. I used to run in NB shoes too, but I agree that they’re just not hardy enough for anything beyond a 10K.

    Protein seems to help with DOMS for me, but that could just be psychosomatic!

    xxx

  3. October 11, 2011 5:42 pm

    Oo, I love me some foam roller. It’s revolutionary, I promise 🙂
    I only have one pair of running shoes…I get too attached 🙂

  4. October 11, 2011 6:08 pm

    Ooo I love foam rollers… they help out so so much
    I always stick with Asics Kayano 17… they are my favorite!

  5. October 11, 2011 6:47 pm

    Glad your legs are feeling a bit looser – I’ve only ever run one race, an 8km Santa Fun Run with no training or warm-up and I couldn’t walk for days! Hot baths are definitely the way to go 🙂

  6. October 11, 2011 7:58 pm

    I have my new trainers, a trail pair for some cross country races I’ll be doing over the winter, and my old trainers that I use when it’s dry and I can’t bear to throw them away because aside from being torn in places they’re still fine to run in.

    Well done on the HM.

  7. emma permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:04 pm

    Great idea to keep moving. I got some new running trainers even though my old ones weren’t finished with. Think I’ll keep the old ones for walking and muddy stuff, and my new ones for ‘best’.

  8. October 11, 2011 8:26 pm

    heeheehee I got new shoes today as well (2 pairs) but for the opposite reason you did, I have yet to run my race 🙂
    I love Up & Running as well, they are always so fab there.

  9. October 11, 2011 9:55 pm

    Ooo I love getting a new pair of running shoes!

  10. Errign permalink
    October 12, 2011 1:22 am

    Lots of water! I need to pop over to read your recap. I can’t wait to get fitted for new sneaks once I can run again. I try to keep separate shoes for walking/hiking etc and running.

  11. October 12, 2011 9:03 am

    aaaarrghhhhh how did I miss your recap????? will go read it soon as I have done this 🙂

    I keep my old trainers for the gym when I do just cardio like x-trainer and rower and very short treadmill runs and also for when I cycle to and from work. Which reminds me, I must be due a new pair as I’ve had little niggles lately when running….

  12. October 12, 2011 12:51 pm

    Glad I’m not the only one with wide feet! I have two pairs, one for the gym and one for running, I know I’m going to need to replace my running shoes soon but they are so expensive I think I’ll be after some as a Christmas gift! For DOMS I love a good warm bath followed by some stretching 🙂

  13. October 12, 2011 1:25 pm

    I want to eventually move to vibrams for running, so my current shoes are in between the typical running shoe and a vibram- super light weight, non bulky, and less support. I absolutely adore them!

Leave a Reply

