Skip to content

Mini Freak Out

October 14, 2011

Phew – I’m so pleased that the weekend is here. I only worked four days this week, but it still felt like a long week! I’m normally a very calm person and rarely get ruffled by everyday events, but very occasionally I have a freak-out and need to be talked down from a ledge. Last night was one of those times.

image

Source

I’d planned to go to running club for the first time since the half marathon at the weekend. I was a bit nervous about how the run would go – would I have any aches and pains, would I be able to keep up, would I aggravate my tender IT bands? I psyched myself up for going all day and finally at 6.40pm I walked out the door pumped and ready to go.

Only I didn’t go anywhere because my handbrake had stuck and I couldn’t release it. It’s happened before, so I really should have sorted it out, but it was one of those things that I’d been putting off for far too long. My inner control freak took over and I couldn’t handle the fact that I now had to ditch my plans because I couldn’t drive to running club. I’ve accepted now that sometimes I can’t workout because I’m ill or injured, but I couldn’t handle something like this derailing my plan.

There wasn’t anyone at home to listen to my tantrum, so I actually calmed down quite quickly and decided that I needed to call the RAC. They were really busy and I was inside my warm house, so they said that I would have to wait two hours for someone to come out to me. That turned out to be plenty of time for a run, shower and to make and eat dinner.

I ran up and down the same stretch of road because I didn’t want to get too far away from home. I planned to go slow and steady, but with all that adrenaline running through me I went a bit faster. I didn’t look at my Garmin once – I just wanted to get out and vent some of my frustration. I ended up doing 5 miles with an average pace of 9:26 min/mile.

However, I was reminded of why I don’t like running in my neighbourhood in the evening when a gaggle of teenage girls started running with me and heckling me. I had calmed down considerably at that point, but they did get some of my residual anger. I regretted it when I realised that one of them had a large baton that they were twirling around. Thankfully nothing bad happened to me and I didn’t have to test my theory that I could run quicker than they could.

The run was good and felt so easy thanks to that adrenaline. The blister on my toe started to really hurt during the last mile though. I’m sure it was the blister than caused my leg problems during the half marathon, so I’m hoping that it will heal soon, because it’s very painful and annoying.

The RAC man came eventually and freed my brake for me, so this story has a happy ending J Usually if you take a deep breath and try to think rationally, there’s a solution to most problems.

How do you cope if your exercise plans are disrupted?

Any tips for getting blisters to heal or making them less painful to run on?

Have you ever been heckled when you run and how do you deal with it?

You can help cheer up my day by following me on Twitter and/or liking my Facebook page (link also in sidebar ———->) There are some more photos of race day on my Facebook page.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    October 14, 2011 3:25 pm

    I hate to have my plans disrupted in any sort of way. I’m such a control freak. I’ve tried to become more easy going and accept that things happen, but it’s a slow process.

    My heckling is usually by guys driving by and I just smile or ignore them. It’s annoying though, and I remember kids in Ireland were much more likely to heckle us when we were walking places than kids here would.

  2. October 14, 2011 3:48 pm

    Oh thats awful, I hate it when something like that happens, I usually get really angry then I try and remember my inner zen, sometimes these things just happen and we have to deal. Its awful that you got heckled, luckily apart from a few cars beeping at me, I’m out earlier than all the chavs 😉 I was at a work meeting this week at a library and they had kids jumping about on their roof, I could go on a rant about now but I’ll save you from that! Hope your blister isn’t too bad as well. I’ll be liking your facebook page too and as a sponsor will give your twitter a shout out too 🙂 Hope you have a good weekend!

  3. October 14, 2011 4:30 pm

    I once had a kid (probably about 15) try to rugby tackle me in the middle of a run. I jumped out the way and he landed with a thud. I tried not to smirk to hard! Kids are idiots. If they’re really bothering me, I usually just pretend to phone the police, it sends ’em running.

    I’m glad to hear your car is working now, at least, and you did get a run in, even if it wasn’t with the group!

  4. October 14, 2011 4:58 pm

    Having a workout schedule disrupted STINKS, but you’ve got to figure, one day isn’t going to make or break anything. Blisters…during a run, I recommend band-aids and this stuff called moleskin. It’s basically just a layer of material that you stick over a band-aid to provide an extra layer of cushioning/protection. After the run, I’d say just try to air them out as much as possible. As for heckling, horn-honking, etc. I wish I could say I had a more effective reaction, but I usually just try to ignore it [or tell myself that those people are just jealous!]. That’s my two cents 🙂

  5. October 14, 2011 5:49 pm

    I hate things going wrong when I’ve got a plan and I will stress, whinge and whine until I can get it sorted so I’m full of sympathy!

    I’ve been heckled a few times – once by a man while walking past a pub cooling down after a run when he said, ‘Shouldn’t you be running?’ so I said, ‘I’ve just finished’, and once out with my running group where some girls hooted and behaved like idiots. I was surprised, since I thought they’d only have the bad manners to heckle a single runner, not a group that outnumbered them.

    *Sigh* Kids and men outside pubs these days…

  6. October 14, 2011 6:01 pm

    Urgh that must have been so annoying! I hate it when something gets in the way of my plans like that, I’m not very good at dealing with setbacks.

    I’m glad you still got a decent run in though, sounds like a good pace 🙂
    Those girls though! I’d have been really scared if a group of girls heckled me and one had a large baton! I just don’t understand why teenagers have to be like that, it’s one of the reasons that I’ve never felt like one myself, only two years to go and I no longer have to be associated with them 😛

    Hope your blister goes soon!

  7. October 14, 2011 6:03 pm

    Oh poor you- especially the heckling. I did get some comments once and the boys ran with me for about 2 metres, but I had my headphones in so pretended I did not hear.
    I get annoyed if something happens and I can’t do something I planned- I am a creature of habit!
    🙂

  8. October 14, 2011 8:44 pm

    How horrible, I hate things like that, especially when you’re psyched up to do something and especially when you’re partly angry with yourself for not doing something sooner!
    Glad it was ok with those girls, doesn’t sound like a good night all round – and I agree with Fifi, if it’s not kids, it’s men outside pubs!

  9. October 14, 2011 8:45 pm

    I think we all need a freak out moment when they’re required. I seem to require them daily. Inanimate objects are frequently the source of my wrath, particularly my computer. I hate things being out of my control, and when it’s some random piece of technology gone awry, I just want to smash whatever implement is causing the problem. Not great when it’s a laptop more often than not…

    I’m glad things worked out in the end 🙂

    Ugh, tell me about rowdy kids. It sounds like we live in similar areas in terms of chavvery. Like Laura, I get up early to run, but on longer runs I pass by kids on their way to school, and because I can’t drive I walk/cycle everywhere so see them when I’m out and about anyway. Plus, Laura lives in a nicer area than me even though we’re quite close to one another geographically.

    The kids ALWAYS pick on my weight. Last week a bunch crowded the pavement and forced me into the road, so I was inches away from being run over. I refuse to let them stop me from running though, even if they do jog alongside me and call me fat, or ask why I haven’t lost weight when I run so much.

    *hugs*

    xxx

  10. October 14, 2011 9:34 pm

    Ugh, how miserable! I probably wouldn’t have been able to keep from cursing those girls out. I’m normally pretty even tempered, but a few months ago I was on a run and these teenage boys were purposely blocking the sidewalk when they were skateboarding and I may or may not have exchanged a few choice words with them…

  11. October 14, 2011 9:38 pm

    Oh man, I don’t know if anything aggravates me as bad as having my workout derailed…especially my car having problems. GRRR. Good for you for staying somewhat calm. Watcha gonna do though? Happy Friday, lady!

  12. October 14, 2011 9:59 pm

    I can get quite stroppy if my exercise plans are altered because of an unplanned event, I’m trying to teach myself that life happens but sometimes its really tough.

    Glad you are ok, should have ask the girls to keep up with you for the full 5 miles!!!

  13. October 14, 2011 11:42 pm

    Urgh I would have been so mad!!
    And I feel you on running in your own neighbourhood… we’ve got some “interesting” characters about and they often heckle me when I go past or make comments… ugh.

  14. October 15, 2011 1:33 am

    Ok, why the heck were those girls heckling you?! That is the most bizarre (and mean) thing I’ve heard all day. People are so strange sometimes.

    You did well to get out there and run even though you were wound up! Glad the story had a happy ending 🙂

  15. October 15, 2011 4:11 pm

    Are you serious?? What is wrong with people?! People need to raise their kids to have respect for other people, it’s getting out of control. Those same girls probably torment some of their classmates. When people act like that it really is a reflection on how they feel about themselves. It’s psych 101 – when you have no self-esteem/self-worth, you bully people to try and make them feel as bad about themselves as they do. I’m glad you were able to rise above and not give them the reaction they were looking for.

Leave a Reply

