Skip to content

My Saturday in Bullet Points

October 16, 2011

Hey! I hope everyone’s been having a good weekend so far. Mine has been mixed – mostly good, but with one bad thing mixed in. I’m at Peter’s parent’s house in Lincolnshire and the weather is fabulous, so that’s definitely a big bonus! A while ago I did a bullet-point post, which I thought was fun, so I’m going to do it again (I borrowed the idea from Errign).

  • Woke up at about 8am feeling hungry, so I reached for the Berry Nakd bar that I had in my handbag and gobbled it down.
  • Went back to sleep.
  • Had a lovely long lie-in and eventually (and reluctantly) crawled out of bed at about 10am.
  • Set off on a 4 mile interval run around the country lanes. It was perfect running weather – clear blue skies, cool and crisp with a breeze, but warm enough not have to wear loads of layers.

018

023

  • I loved the run – I warmed up for 1 mile and then did 2 miles of intervals (1 min fast, 1 min walk, 1 min jog) and finally another mile steady to finish. It was nice to get some speed up and there were some challenging hills too, but I didn’t push myself too hard because I’m still recovering from my aches and pains following the half marathon.
  • My new running shoes were awesome! (Brooks Ghost 4 if you’re catching up).

Shoes

  • Got back and enjoyed some delicious porridge made by Peter’s Mum. I topped mine with some cooked apples (I’m absolutely in love with the seasonal apples at the moment), walnuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and raisins.

035

  • Played lots of fetch with Amos. He’s getting really big now, and he really likes playing fetch!

027

029

  • Peter fixed the brakes on my car.

016

  • I sat around being supportive and playing with my camera.

020

  • I then actually did something useful and helped to bleed the braking system. I’m not sure what that means … but I helped!
  • Then the bad thing happened. I was waiting for Peter to come back outside when I heard a loud bang. I’d just seen Tesla the cat crossing the road, so I thought the worst. Tesla then came hobbling around the corner with one of his front paws lifted up and in distress Sad smile
  • We all took Tesla to the vet, who thinks he’s got nerve damage in his leg, but no other serious injuries. We don’t know whether he’ll regain use of his leg and he’s certainly used up one of his nine lives!
  • Brought Tesla home and then went to the pub for dinner. I had a spinach and potato bake with chips (Peter insisted I had them so that he could finish the ones I didn’t eat) and then carrot cake and ice-cream. All very yummy and perfect comfort food!
  • Came back and watched some Big Bang Theory and then got a well-deserved early night.

Give me your weekend in a couple of bullets.

Do you know anything about car maintenance? I know zilch – I didn’t even know I had a spare wheel in the boot (hang my head in shame)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 4:21 pm

    Your last sentence had me chuckling – a tonic after reading your report of Tesla’s accident.

  2. October 16, 2011 5:59 pm

    Apart from the poor cat, that sounds like a lovely day! I wish my fella was so handy with cars! A couple of bullet points from my weekend would have to include the kitchen as I’ve spend well over half my time in there, plus making raw nutella!

  3. October 16, 2011 6:20 pm

    Wow busy busy day!
    Love your Autumnal photos, isn’t the countryside beautiful right now?
    I’m so so sorry about your kitty 😦
    I really hope he turns out ok!
    I know nothing about car maintenance don’t worry you’re not alone, I don’t even no how to sort out things like the oil and water levels 😛

  4. October 16, 2011 6:55 pm

    breakfast out
    friends for sleep over
    3year old birthday party
    technical difficulty at start of run
    raging fire and winter woolies

    🙂

  5. October 16, 2011 7:34 pm

    I take my car to halfords to get a new headlight put in 🙂 So no, is my answer!
    My weekend- cake decorating 🙂 Awesome 8 mile run 🙂 Chai almond milk latte 🙂

  6. October 16, 2011 7:43 pm

    I know naff-all about car maintenance. I want to do one of those car maintenance for women courses but I don’t think there are any in my area.

  7. Healthy Living Leah permalink
    October 16, 2011 7:44 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day!
    I hope your poor kitty is ok – we live on a main road and I always worry about my own cat!

  8. October 16, 2011 8:21 pm

    So sorry about Tesla – after losing my own cat Minnie in a car accident, I can only sympathise with the immense worry and heartache you must have felt. I wish Tesla well, and will keep everything crossed that the poor puss makes a full recovery.

    xxx

  9. October 16, 2011 8:57 pm

    Hi, Sarah! I just found your blog and love it! 🙂

    What a busy, busy day! I know very, very little about car maintenance! My dad has always tried to teach me how to take care of my own vehicle but I never retain any of the info he passes onto me.

    Your puppy, Amos is sooo cute! What kind of dog is he? Oh, I’m glad Tesla is doing okay. Going to the Pet ER is never fun and always nerve-racking!

  10. October 16, 2011 9:36 pm

    Ooh, could have been horrible – glad Tesla wasn’t too badly hurt 🙂
    I’m not too bad on car maintenance but onlybecause I’ve always had old ones that go wrong!
    My weekend:
    – enjoyed sun
    – ate chocolate
    – got bitten by a random dog (!)

  11. October 17, 2011 12:45 pm

    I know zilch about cars either. I always have to ask my dad and other family memmbers for help and advice. Sounds like you had a great weekend.

  12. October 17, 2011 2:42 pm

    Oh my goodness I am so sorry for your kitty, I hope everything is a okay 🙂

    I know absolutely nothing about cars, except how to put gas in them! Pretty sad ha, I need to learn a few more things I think

  13. pcjc2 permalink
    October 17, 2011 4:30 pm

    Tesla seemed much happier today, despite only being able to move three out of four limbs. He’s been at the vets all day getting X-rays and such, but we’ll be picking him up shortly. I expect it will be a week or more before we know whether he’ll regain the use of his leg.

    I returned those incorrect brake shoes today too. The bloke in the parts center apologized profusely for the mixup.. the guy who picked them off the shelf had read the part-number a bit dyslexically and picked up a box with the last two digits swapped around. Oh well.

    Fingers crossed the brakes stay sorted for a year or so. With the FIATs we used to run, it was pretty much an anual ritual to take the back brakes apart and free off the jammed handbrake linkage.

  14. October 17, 2011 8:16 pm

    Hope Tesla is OK – poor cat!

  15. October 18, 2011 6:24 am

    Oh no, poor kitty! I hate seeing animals in distress! I hope he makes a full recovery.

    I’m totally jealous of your gorgeous country lanes that you get to run on! That scenery is to die for!

  16. October 18, 2011 12:32 pm

    Glad to hear that Tesla is doing a bit better. It’s so horrid when pets get hurt.

    I must admit that I’m pretty good with car maintenance, when I got my first car my stepdad wouldn’t let me go out in my car until I’d learnt how to change a tyre, dry out my distributer, check the plug caps etc etc. I huffed and puffed a lot at the time but I’ve always been grateful ever since!

Leave a Reply

