Skip to content

Autumn Fitness Goals

October 17, 2011

I’m really loving autumn this year. I think it’s partly because the enthusiasm for the season across the blog world is catching, although I haven’t embraced the pumpkin trend just yet (I’m not 100% sure that I actually like pumpkin). We’ve had some lovely weather in the UK over the past month which has emphasised the gorgeous autumn colours. It’s also been a bumper year for apples and pears and I’ve been reaping the benefits.

My Dad gave lots of big juicy pears from his garden.

17Oct11_2

And Peter’s parents gave me some of the many apples they have grown. These are seriously crunchy and tasty.

17Oct11_1

I’ve been munching on these many times a day, as well as enjoying them in smoothies and  as a topping for porridge. It’s also a fantastic way to cut down on my grocery budget and contribute to the Big Budget Challenge.

For me autumn represents new starts and after my half marathon last week I’ve been reflecting on how I’m going to progress with my fitness routine. I want to give myself some time to recover, but I also want to stay motivated and keep my routine interesting. So, I’ve come up with a few goals that I want to achieve between now and Christmas.

1. Run 4 times a week and keep to my training plan. I have devised a training plan leading up to the 10k I have entered in November. Obviously I will be flexible with this within reason because life has a habit of getting in the way (I have an autumn cold which is threatening this week’s routine already!)

2. Include one interval or tempo run every week.

3. Go to a yoga class once a week. When it’s not possible practice at home instead.

4. Include strength and toning exercises twice a week. I’ve not quite got fully on board the strength training bandwagon yet, although I completely see the benefits. I do want to include some short weight and  toning workouts into my routine and build up from there.

5. Take a complete rest weekend. This one will be easy because I’m heading for a girly holiday in a couple of weeks where the only exercise will be lots of dancing!

6. PR in the 10k. It’s a flat course and I think I’ve got faster since July, so it should be possible.

I’ve been doing OK so far. This week has looked like:

Sunday Half marathon
Monday Rest
Tuesday Gentle yoga
Wednesday Strength & core workout
Thursday 5 mile run
Friday Rest
Saturday 4 mile interval run
Sunday 4 mile run (had 5 on plan, but felt sick) + toning

 

What are you loving about autumn (fall) this year?

Have you got any exercise goals at the moment?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 4:25 pm

    I think if you like squash, there’s a fair chance you’ll be okay with the texture of pumpkin, but it does have a distinct ‘savoury’ taste. Personally I think it needs jazzing up with some spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger…particularly in autumnal oat bran 🙂

    I’d really like to get my joints in good enough shape to do Body Attack – it’s the only decent substitute for long distance winter running and everyone that does it at my gym have bodies to die for (obviously diet plays a part in that too!) If I could somehow get used to a treadmill some middle-distance runs+Attack would be a better option than slip-sliding away on icy pavements all winter long.

    I hope that pesky cold clears up for you!

    xxx

  2. October 17, 2011 4:32 pm

    Yum, I am loving apples right now! My aunt gave me a big bag of them to. 🙂 One of my exercise goals is to lift heaver weights.

  3. October 17, 2011 6:13 pm

    I am loving apples and pumpkin right now, along with the rest of the world 🙂 I agree with Shannon, a goal of mine is to strength train more efficiently and with heavier weights!

  4. October 17, 2011 6:38 pm

    I am with you on the autumn love! I just adore apples and pears too, my fave being chocolate and pear green smoothies! I think your right about autumn being good for fresh starts. I was the same after I did my half and wanted to refresh my training plan as well. It sounds like you have a great plan to follow with lots of flexibility – as you say life some times gets in the way! Hope your cold is ok!

  5. October 17, 2011 6:55 pm

    I love apples and pears- yum yum yum 🙂
    I also love pumpkin soup- My Dad always used to make a massive pot of it and it just reminds me of coming in from playing outside in the cold garden and to warm up with soup. Yum.
    Great goals too- esp the rest one- so important.

  6. October 17, 2011 7:14 pm

    It needs to cool down over here since it sure doesn’t feel like fall yet! I’m looking forward to cool and crisp days and gorgeous fall leaves. I don’t have specific exercise goals at the moment but I am itching to sign up for a race so that I have something to focus on!

  7. October 18, 2011 12:40 am

    Those are some great goals! I break my goals down by month…right now I’ve done two so far: tried a new recipe, and tried two new fitness classes. I love setting goals, and even more I love achieving them 🙂

  8. October 18, 2011 3:32 am

    I love your goals, they’re very realistic and achievable 🙂
    My current goal is pretty much just to increase mileage, so everything else is kind of on the backburner. Once I’m up to the mileage I’m happy with I plan on including some intervals, hill runs and that kind of thing! 🙂
    It’s spring in Australia, so I’m more looking forward to the summer fruits like berries and stone fruits!!

  9. October 18, 2011 9:13 am

    Your training plan looks great and I think a fresh start is the right idea after running a race/marathon as you whole out look changes and goals chage once it;’s done. I’m loving pears right now. They are the perfect autumnal fruit.

  10. October 18, 2011 11:45 am

    I’m absolutely loving the weather! It is perfect for exercising and outdoory runs – I hate the treadmill!!

  11. October 18, 2011 12:35 pm

    Apples and pears for me too. I’ve had loads of my own apples and loads of pears from various people. Bargain!

    I think that you have a good plan in place for your training. I tend to do more on the weights side of thing in the winter as I don’t mind being indoors so much then!

    Rosexx

  12. October 30, 2011 1:28 pm

    HI there – commenting for the first time after lurking for a while!

    My fitness goal is to do all 30 days of the 30 Day Shred! Am on day 13 currently (with two rest days as I had a wedding and a family do to go to, and couldn’t make it all fit!) Thus far it’s working brilliantly, and I love having the deal with myself that I will go the gym every day, no matter what – no space for excuses!

    Love the look of those apples and pears – I’m sure they’ve been used for some lovely dishes!

Trackbacks

  1. Speed Shopping « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

