Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday #14

October 19, 2011

Hello and Happy What I Ate Wednesday! Thank you to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons for hosting the party – follow the link below if you want to find out how to join in.

WIAWbutton

So, I’ll get started with my day’s eats with no further ado …

Breakfast

My day started off as it usually does during the week, with a delicious green smoothie. I still have piles of apples and pears, so this one was an spiced apple concoction.

19Oct11_1

  • 1 apple
  • 1 frozen banana
  • handful of curly kale
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons pea protein powder
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin seeds
  • teaspoon maca powder
  • teaspoon xantham gum
  • cinnamon
  • ginger powder
  • 1/2 cup hemp milk
  • 2 cups water

This was the first time I’ve used hemp milk and I thought it worked really well in the smoothie. I tried a bit on its own and I thought it tasted very different to other non-dairy milks, but I kind of liked it and I think that it will grow on me. It’s also the first time that I’ve used pumpkin seeds in a smoothie. They are a great source of iron, so they have become a staple in my diet and they blended up fabulously.

Lunch

19Oct11_3

Lunch featured my favourite grain (ok, technically it’s a seed), quinoa. I mixed it up with some chickpeas (some of them were slightly charred), sweetcorn and diced cucumber. After I took the photo I topped it with some romaine. This was super filling, but that could be because my cold has temporarily thrown off my hunger signals. It was very tasty, but would have been even better if my nose wasn’t so blocked.

Dinner

For dinner I had my favourite meal of the moment – a tomatoey, vegetable stew. It was the perfect antidote to the cold and windy weather that signals our descent into winter.

19Oct11_5

For me the best thing about stew is that I can come home from work and throw everything into a big pan and then spend the next hour doing something else. I don’t like having to stand over something while it’s cooking, I’d rather be multi-tasking. I guess that’s why I don’t make too many risottos.

Into this stew went:

  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 2 small carrots
  • 1/2 leek
  • 1 courgette
  • 4 large closed cup mushrooms
  • 2 tablespoons sweetcorn
  • 1 carton of chopped tomatoes
  • teaspoon vegetable bouillon
  • black pepper, chilli powder
  • 2 cauldron veggie sausages
  • handful of spinach

Everything except the sausages and spinach went into the pan. I grilled the sausages separately and then sliced them and mixed them into the stew along with the spinach.

Snacks

These are the snacks that I took into work. I also had a rice cake with Dark Chocolate Dreams and some natural yogurt with a clementine.

19Oct11_2

I like to snack and eat regularly throughout the day to keep me going and my meals tend to be quite light because I don’t like feeling stuffed. From the blogs that I read I would say that most bloggers appreciate the joys of healthy snacking as well. I had an interesting conversation with a guy on my course yesterday. For the past four weeks he has been following a diet where he only eats one meal every day or every two days. He is naturally lean, so I assume that it isn’t intended as a weight-loss diet, but he was adamant that this diet was best for his health. He’s one of these people that always believes that he is right, and there is no point in arguing with him. He used my cold as an example of why eating three meals a day and snacking is bad for you and said that I would be cured if I didn’t eat for two days. I did have a little chuckle to myself today when I noticed that he seemed to have caught my cold!

Where do you stand on snacking? Do you think that this kind of fasting has any benefit? I know that people who follow the paleo diet sometimes fast, but it’s not something that I would willingly do.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 5:16 pm

    When I saw the picture of that soup/stew, I was going to ask you for the recipe, and thereeee it is! Thank you for that, I am certainly making this when I get home next weekend 🙂

  2. October 19, 2011 5:18 pm

    Snacks work for me as long as they’re healthy and contain as little unprocessed food as possible. I find I can almost snack on as many nuts, fruit, seeds as I want because I feel sated by them and don’t overeat, but sweet or processed foods like chocolate or crisps are a real no-no because I always crave more!

    I’m not convinced by fasting. I know some people do ‘intermittant fasting’ but I’m not convinced it’s not old-fashioned skipping meals under a different guise. I think you should eat when you’re hungry, of course, and not force yourself to refrain from eating for a set period of time.

  3. October 19, 2011 5:38 pm

    I’m not on board with the whole fasting thing myself, particularly not when people are as smug and sanctimonious about it as that man. Yes, I might be jealous that I don’t have the willpower not to eat, but at the same time I wonder if these people are screwing up their metabolisms and making their bodies hoard the calories they eat in preparation for another ‘fast.’ I don’t know…

    Spiritual fasting is another matter entirely though – I really admire people who do that.

    xxx

  4. October 19, 2011 7:17 pm

    Eh? That sounds like a nightmare! I completely understand the benefits of doing occasional fasts, but nothing I’ve read or experienced makes me think that fasting like that would be very good for your physical or mental health for that matter. Your veggie stew sounds lovely, I’ve just bought some veggies from Aldi and I’m thinking a bit stew is in order!

  5. October 19, 2011 7:36 pm

    I know that fasting is not for me- as my mum is diabetic I have to be careful of blood sugar levels- I know that if I do not eat for a long time then I get shaky and also very irritable! So I like to snack- I dont think it is excessive- one in the morning, and then one before exercise, because I have smaller meals. I cannot imagine eating once every 2 days! I did a sponsored fast once for 24 hours and it was awful.

  6. October 19, 2011 8:53 pm

    Everything looks delicious especially the tomatoey vegetable stew!

  7. Errign permalink
    October 19, 2011 11:06 pm

    I like snacks, and I’m working on making them more of my routine. I just had a massive snack of at least 2 servings out of a fresh jar of pb, a huge apple and pretzels. Probably too much food, but too delicious to stop 🙂

  8. October 20, 2011 12:16 am

    Ooooh thanks for sharing that stew recipe! I’m sitting in my freezing cold office right now so a warm stew sounds perfect.

  9. October 20, 2011 9:06 am

    Haha, I’d have had a slight chuckle too! I know it’s what works best for individuals but struggle to see how one meal a day could be healthy – and I know I couldn’t do it even if it was!
    I think good snacking is a positive thing to do for health; it’s much better to take healthy snacks like the ones you’ve shown rather than getting starving or eating something not as great to make up for it… this looks like a brilliant day’s food 🙂

  10. October 20, 2011 11:39 am

    Great eats Sarah! I must try a green smoothie. They don’t like very appealing to me, but everyone raves about how delicious they are so I must give one a try.
    We’ve had stew this week too! It’s such a great dish for this colder weather. In my house, I have to call it ‘casserole’ rather than ‘stew’ as M and Lil’ L say they don’t like ‘stew’. They love ‘casserole’ though lol! 😉
    I think that how many times a day we need to eat is a very personal thing. Grazing suits some people, while others (like me) are far more suited to 3 meals a day. I guess it depends how quickly your body metabolises food; how big your stomach is; etc, etc. Eating one meal every day or two sounds bizarre to me. It might suit that guy but it’s certainly not for most people. I think I would pass out lol! Happy WIAW xx

  11. October 20, 2011 1:10 pm

    Your green smoothies always look so serene and perfect. Your stew is perfect winter fuel. I think I need to have another cook up sesion this weekend. 🙂

  12. October 20, 2011 1:31 pm

    I add pumpkin seeds to some of my food for the extra iron too 🙂
    Your dinner looks like the perfect cold weather, warm and comforting dish.
    I could easily gobble up a couple of bowls of that right now!
    And when it comes to the idea of fasting for me that’s a big no no, because of my condition I can’t go half a day without eating or I’ll get shakey and weak and much more likely to collapse! If someone told me that by eating one meal a day or fasting that I’d be much better I’d laugh in their face 😛

  13. October 20, 2011 4:50 pm

    I have never fasted and don’t intend to do so, I love to eat too much.

Leave a Reply

