Skip to content

Attack of the Giant Vegetables

October 21, 2011

Hello and happy Friday! I’ve been on a course at work all week and it’s gone past in a cold-addled haze. I’m just about coming out on the other side of my cold, but I’ve succeeded in giving my germs to most of my colleagues. I’ve probably not done my career much good … I think they might hate me now Winking smile

I don’t want to moan too much about a cold because I know that in a couple of days I’ll be right as rain and back to pounding the pavements, but I have been getting serious itchy feet after a few days of being almost completely sedentary. I was really hoping that I’d be able to run either yesterday or today, but the cold has been a lingering one and I knew that it wasn’t sensible. I’d had enough of sitting on my backside though, so yesterday I decided to walk the 3 miles home instead of getting the bus. It did me the world of good and really lifted my mood. This morning I did some strength and core circuits, although I wasn’t ready for any cardio. I just did the exercises I felt like without any real plan, but this is what it ended up like:

I warmed up and then I did each exercise in the circuit and then repeated the circuit 3 times

  • Bicep curl + shoulder press x 15
  • Squat (holding dumbbells) x 15
  • Plank (1 min)
  • Upright row x 15
  • Walking lunges x 20
  • Reverse crunches
  • Press ups x 15
  • Tricep press x 15
  • Deadlift x 15
  • Bicycle crunches x 15

I ended up really sweaty after I finished!

Yesterday I got my organic veggie box, which is always very exciting. Some of the vegetables were huuuuge this week!

21Oct11_1

The red cabbage is the size of my head and the pepper is perhaps the biggest one I’ve ever seen. I think the pepper is destined for being stuffed and roasted at some point, but I’m not sure what to do with all that cabbage. I got the bramley apples free with the box, and apparently red cabbage and apple go well together, so that’s one possibility.

I used a couple of the cabbage leaves in a giant stir-fry for my dinner last night.

21Oct11_2

Along with the cabbage there’s carrots, courgettes, broccoli, orange pepper, mushrooms and baked tofu. For the sauce I use some dark soy sauce, peanut flour, agave and some chilli powder.

For pudding I attempted a baked apple. I roughly followed the recipe that Abel & Cole sent with the veggie box, but I think I left it in the oven too long because it exploded into a big apply splodge.

21Oct11_3

I stuffed it with raisins, agave, cinnamon and ginger powder, and served it with some natural yoghurt. It was very tasty, but not really dinner party material just yet!

I used one of the other apples in my lunch today. I got home early from work, which meant that I could eat whatever I was craving at the time. As I was walking down the road towards the door the only thing that I really fancied was porridge. I don’t often have traditional breakfast foods at other times, but I decided to indulge myself. I chopped up one of the bramleys and cooked it for 5 minutes in a pan with a little water and some raisins. I then added some oats, hemp milk, water cinnamon and agave and cooked until it was really creamy. I served it with a dollop of peanut butter.

21Oct11_4

Being home in the daytime also meant that I could take advantage of the natural light to take quite an attractive photograph for a change.

Do you have any other recipe ideas for red cabbage?

Have a fabulous weekend everyone!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 4:39 pm

    That is indeed a huge pepper!

    Please tell me you ate all around that teeny blob of PB and saved it for the last bite…it’s what I would have done 😉

    xxx

  2. October 21, 2011 4:55 pm

    That pepper is enormous! I second what Jess said about the pb too- I always save it for the last spoonful!
    My Dad likes sort of pickled cabbage/ chutney thing which is with apples and also raisins I think- not sure. I only like cabbage raw and crunchy in salads- do you like coleslaw or a variation on that? Raw with some sort of creamy sauce thing- or maybe hummus or something?

  3. October 21, 2011 4:57 pm

    That’s quite a haul of veggies…I’m impressed!

  4. October 21, 2011 5:35 pm

    That pepper is massive! I’ve been getting some giant apples recently. I love red cabbage – you could try making a slaw with it as Maria suggests. I’m sure Gena at Choosing Raw posted a recipe for one with a tahini curry sauce that sounded lovely 🙂 Hope you have a good weekend!

  5. October 21, 2011 6:15 pm

    Red cabbage is great in a stir fry and raw in salads. That pepper is huge. I love my red peppers so would love to get one that size in my veg box. Have a great weekend. 🙂

  6. October 21, 2011 7:11 pm

    Oooooh best way to get rid of a cold is to give it to everyone else around you (snigger snigger)

  7. October 21, 2011 9:05 pm

    Ha wow those are rather large veggies! I love red cabbage in a stir fry or soup! I don’t particularly care for it raw, my stomach starts to bother me

  8. October 21, 2011 10:02 pm

    I love red cabbage – I get a few my dad’s grown and they’re always huge! I like grating it with carrot for colourful coleslaw and chucking a load in with whatever veg mountain I’m steaming 🙂
    I’ve heard the same about it going with apple; or you can do a vinegary, sweet mix with raisins which is nice… hope you feel better soon!

  9. Errign permalink
    October 22, 2011 12:17 am

    I like to make cabbage with hard cider 🙂

  10. October 22, 2011 2:35 am

    That box looks great! I love braised cabbage or a chopped cabbage salad with a light vinegary dressing!

  11. October 22, 2011 12:31 pm

    I don’t have any recipes with cabbage, sorry! Those veggies look so good! I love big organic produce – usually it’s on the smaller size.
    When I was sick last month I was having a seriously hard time dealing with not working out. It was a week and a half! But, you have to listen to your body and be smart about it so it sounds like you’re donig the right thing. Plus, if you run when you’re sick your performance is not going to be very good and then you’ll get down on yourself.
    Feel better 🙂

  12. October 22, 2011 7:29 pm

    Good workout! My red cabbage usually makes it into stir fries as well 🙂
    That bowl of oatmeal looks incredibly smooth and creamy! Making me oh so hunngry.

Leave a Reply

