Skip to content

I Love Cake

October 24, 2011

Hello! It’s the start of another week already – doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun? I took a well-deserved weekend off from blogging this week, but I did spend quite a lot of time catching up on blog reading and generally “reading the internet” as Peter likes to say. During the week it always feels like there are not enough hours in the day, so it’s nice to chill out and release the pressure.

My cold was still lingering, although I felt a lot better in myself, so I managed to get a couple of very successful runs in. On Saturday I set off to do 4 slow miles, but a week of rest had left my legs feeling wonderfully fresh and the exercise helped to clear my sinuses, so I went a bit faster than I expected. The glorious sunny but cool weather and the beautiful riverside route motivated me to finish with a 9.14 min/mile average. On Sunday afternoon I ran 10k along one of my favourite routes in Cambridge. Again, the sun was shining – I really love this time of year. I forced myself to go steady for the first half, but I felt good and going slow almost felt like more of an effort. I even managed to sprint the last few hundred metres. I finished the 10k in just under 58 minutes, which I didn’t think was bad for a training run (for me, anyway).

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you might have noticed that I’m obsessed by tea rooms and afternoon tea and cake. Yes, it’s usually overpriced, but I feel like I’m indulging in a little bit of luxury. On Saturday Peter and I headed to Ely and went to Peacocks Tearoom.

24Oct11_1

There was a queue to get in, but we waited in the cold because this place had come highly recommended. When we got seated inside I immediately locked onto the delicious-looking cakes that were displayed. There was full afternoon tea on offer, but Peter fancied a toasty and my eyes are always bigger than my belly in these cases anyway. I ordered a ham and real ale chutney sandwich on granary.

24Oct11_3

With orange blossom oolong tea to drink.

24Oct11_2

And there was no way I was walking out of there without having a slice of cake. It was difficult decision, but I plumped for the lemon cake in the end.

24Oct11_4

While I was enjoying this slice of heaven I had a revelation – I love cake and I’m not afraid to show it. When I was losing weight, especially when I was younger, cake was totally forbidden and I probably went two years without eating a single slice. I would even have dreams where I would eat a whole cake and then wake up in a panic thinking that my diet was ruined. My renewed appreciation of cake has been growing for while now. When I read Intuitive Eating earlier in the year, one of the exercises was to write down a list of all the foods that you really love to eat and then give yourself permission to eat these things. There were loads of healthy foods on the list (I have always been a fruit and vegetable fiend, even when my other eating habits weren’t so healthy), but cake was definitely up there. I found that exercise really useful because it made me realise that whenever possible I should only eat the foods I truly like and not waste time and calories on those that I don’t. The same goes for cake – I can give synthetic shop bought stuff a miss, but if there’s a luxurious slice of homemade cake then I can’t (and shouldn’t) resist.

On Saturday night we completed our carb-tastic day with some homemade pizza. Peter dug out his bread maker and I whipped up a batch of pizza dough (just the basic recipe that was in the instruction book). We topped the base with tomato puree, tomato sauce, tomatoes, roasted courgette and red pepper and piles of cheese.

24Oct11_5

Peter is a self-confessed cheese-monster, so I asked for slightly less cheese on my side. It turned out really well, although we might go a bit easier on the toppings next time.

24Oct11_6

I have to be honest, although I enjoyed everything I ate I felt a bit bloated and overdosed on wheat by the end of the weekend. I need to go a bit overboard sometimes to remind myself to be sensible. I’m looking forward to a few days of clean eating before my girls’ holiday next weekend when more cake with be consumed I’m sure.

What foods do you really love to eat? Did you used to restrict them in the past?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 4:29 pm

    I love cake too, but again home-made. I often get tempted by desserts in restaurants (not that we eat out much) – Andy prefers to share a starter than a dessert so we don’t often get one. Then I am often dissapointed because it turns out to be something that has been frozen and re-heated. But in a tearoom I would go for the cake as I love it :)I just dont have it every day! 🙂

  2. October 24, 2011 4:45 pm

    Aww what a cute place! I have never been to a tea room or anywhere like that, but I really want to! It would be so much fun to dress up and look all fancy 🙂
    That’s interesting your brought up intuitive eating today, as I just talked about in on my blog too! I still have foods that I am afraid to touch and this is a continuous work in progress. Cake is up there for me too and actual ice cream

  3. October 24, 2011 4:56 pm

    The teacups and tea pot set at the tea rooms are so pretty. I love stuff like that. I looks like a great place for afternoon tea and cake.

  4. Errign permalink
    October 24, 2011 5:04 pm

    I love to eat pizza (so hard to stop at a few slices), nut butters, apples, and homemade ice cream. Tons of deliciousness 🙂

  5. October 24, 2011 5:26 pm

    The pizza, especially looks delicious!

  6. October 24, 2011 5:47 pm

    I love cake too! It is definitely number one up there of foods I avoid and miss. Nothing beats a big slice of homemade cake with a steamy mug of tea!

  7. Bronagh permalink
    October 24, 2011 6:06 pm

    I love yr attitude to cake and allowing yrself to eat what you crave, it’s such a refreshing outlook to have when we’re constantly surrounded by negative associations with such foods. I’m going to think of this post next time I’m faced with a slice of delicious homemade cake that I’ve taught myself so rigidly (and unnecessarily) to resist and avoid 🙂 oh and that pizza… Yum!

  8. October 24, 2011 6:33 pm

    That cake and pizza look amazing! I have to agree, home made (rather than shop bought) cake is amazing. A lot of the foods I used to be crazy about have changed as my tastes have changed, but I’ve always loved peanut butter and chocolate and I certainly don’t stop myself from eating them now! I think that you feel like eating better just goes to show what a good balance you have, its great to indulge but then its nice to eat fruits and veggies too!

  9. October 24, 2011 6:53 pm

    I love the feeling of fresh legs…almost too much! Makes me want to take more rest days 🙂

  10. October 24, 2011 7:14 pm

    Awesome 58minutes for 10km that is brilliant.
    I love cake tooooo much and must banish until I get to a more comfortable weight 🙂

  11. October 24, 2011 8:55 pm

    Sounds like a lovely weekend and I’m glad your cold is starting to get better!
    I love tea rooms too 🙂 There is a lovely tea room near my house back home which has a gorgeous outdoor section and I always give myself permission to indulge on fresh scones with cream and jam whenever we go there!
    Your homemade pizzas look so delicious, I miss homemade comfort food like that.
    I indulged quite a lot too this weekend but like you I find that this actually helps make me want to be healthy afterwards because it reminds you how good you feel when you eat and live well 🙂

  12. October 24, 2011 9:01 pm

    Mmm…that oolong tea sounds amazing, as does the cake! I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I LOVE cheese and anything savoury like salted nuts. I do restrict the cheese though due to the fact it does not agree with me! I also measure out portions of the nuts and savoury snacks so I can have them without just stuffing myself silly.

  13. October 24, 2011 9:25 pm

    You’re so right, if you try to cut something you love out completely, you just want it more but if you have it every now and then, you enjoy it much more – win/win!
    The thing I could never not have is chocolate; I love it too much 🙂
    Glad you’re feeling better and I love the look of that pizza!

  14. October 25, 2011 2:49 am

    I love your attitude about cake and I feel the same way! I hadn’t had cake in ages when I was losing weight, so of course when I let myself eat it again I would binge on it, feel guilty and not even enjoy it. The cake you had looks scrumptious!

  15. October 25, 2011 12:45 pm

    Your post made me think about what food I really love and I realised that it was nearly everything! Hmmm…..therein lies the root of all my problems methinks!

    It’s great that you have got to a place where you can enjoy your food and indulge yourself. Especially when it looks as good as that piece of cake!

    Rosexx

  16. October 26, 2011 10:32 am

    I really will have to visit Peacocks one day – it comes highly recommended 🙂

Leave a Reply

