Skip to content

The Treat List

October 25, 2011
tags: ,

Just a quick one today because I’m having one of those days where I seem to being running from one thing to another. I’ve been up to Newcastle for the day and now I’m squeezing in a bit of blog writing before I head off to running club. It’s the first time I’ve been to running club in three weeks, so I’m a bit scared about getting back into it. I believe that tonight is a hill workout, so I’m not exactly easing myself in.

Last night I went to yoga again. I’ve been doing a good job of going to this class every week, although the teacher will be sunning herself in the Canaries next week, so I will have to practice at home. The teacher has changed the format of the class a bit after she went on a residential course. The type of yoga she teaches is based on ashtanga, however lately we’ve been concentrating on making the movements more fluid and going deeper into postures. The class is quite full on, really challenging and even gets my heart pumping. As much as I feel like begging for mercy when I’m in a middle of a twist and my hamstrings and hips are screaming, I love the feeling when the class is finished. We lie on the floor in corpse pose for a couple of minutes and I appreciate how stretched and worked all my muscles feel.

Following on from yesterday’s post I thought that it might be interesting to share some more of the “treat” foods that I really like and some of the ones that I’m not so bothered about. It’s not that I actively dislike these things, but I’d rather eat something more yummy instead.

Treats I love

1. Scones, especially smothered in jam

017

2. Ice-cream

image

3. Chocolate (duh!) Actually, as a teenager I didn’t eat chocolate at all for 5 or 6 years – what was I thinking?

4. Pizza

image

5. Chinese takeaway – especially noodles … yum!

Food I’d rather give a miss

1. Doughnuts – I just don’t get what’s meant to be so great about them

2. Pies – pastry doesn’t agree with my digestion

3. Cream cakes – no thanks!

4. Full English breakfast – I can just about live with scrambled eggs and beans, but hold the sausage and bacon. I’d much rather have some porridge or a smoothie

5. Chips (or fries for my American friends). Ok, this one is only half true – most chips are rubbish and totally not worth the calories and fat. I will go for some really nice freshly cooked chunky chips though

What would be on your list?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 4:54 pm

    Good idea! I think it’s really good to remind ourselves of what is worth treating ourselves to -what we really love 🙂

    My list would be…

    Loves:
    1. Cake, especially homemade
    2. Indian food, although to be honest, especially now I don’t eat meat, I much prefer my homemade curries to takeaway
    3. Cheese

    Not so bothered about:
    1. Biscuits – they’re one of those foods I’ll eat mindlessly without really taking the time to properly enjoy
    2. Chinese takeaway – I do love Wagamamas stir-fries but the greasiness of takeaways is always worse than I remember

    Haha, I can’t think of a number 3 for the second list whereas I could easily write more foods that I love…pretty much sums me up!! 😀

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    October 25, 2011 5:33 pm

    I wen’t to London in middle school with my class and thought it was so strange that we were served beans for breakfast! Now that I’m older and a bean lover, I’m pretty sure I’d love it.

    Now we need some good scones in the states 😀

  3. October 25, 2011 5:43 pm

    Love:
    1. Dates
    2. Nut Butters
    3. Bars (clif, nakd etc)
    4. Good quality dark chocolate
    5. Granola

    Not bothered about:
    1. Chips
    2. Takeaways
    3. Biscuits
    4. Bread
    5. Pasta

  4. October 25, 2011 5:49 pm

    Totally there with you on the scones and pizza. There are days, however, where chips and doughnuts taste out of this world, but I agree that I do just fine living with out them on a regular basis 🙂

  5. October 25, 2011 6:25 pm

    Love pizz and chines take-out! My like list also includes pasta and licorice. 🙂 I’m not a big fan of pies or doughnuts either. I’m not really a huge chocolate fan – can you believe that?! I could live without it.

  6. October 25, 2011 7:10 pm

    Your yoga class sounds great, I have to say I’ve missed mine since I packed it in back in Feb. My loves would be chocolate (dark), nut butter, chocolate mousse, cupcakes, sweet breads (like banana bread), ginger cookies and I’m not so bothered about doughnuts, pies or cream cakes either or any type of takeaway food – I’d much rather make my own pizza’s!

  7. October 25, 2011 7:54 pm

    I love this idea as a comment topic 😀

    Take =
    1.) Dark Chocolate
    2.) Nut Butters (particularly Sunflower..which is technically a seed, I know :P)
    3.) Eating a whole 1.5kg squash to yourself (I may or may not have done that tonight)
    4.) Ketchup. Lots of it.
    5.) Hot chocolate.

    Leave =
    1.) Donuts (eew…they’re fried yet soggy….)
    2.) Pastry (another one I agree with you on. It’s just wrong)
    3.) Crisps (unless I’m ill and craving salt)
    4.) Any kind of takeaway.
    5.) Pasta (doesn’t fill me up and seems really bland)

    I hope the run went well, and the yoga class sounds amazing!

    xxx

  8. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog permalink
    October 25, 2011 11:13 pm

    I totally agree with the pizza, ice cream and chocolate. Those are my favorites! I also love nut butter, froyo, and biscoff! I never had a scone before. Can you believe that?! I must try it out though.

    Food that I don’t miss are chips and pies.

  9. October 26, 2011 4:44 pm

    Great post! I did something quite similar on my blog today too! Great minds think alike 🙂
    I would actually take cream pies 🙂 And I agree on the pizza, ice cream and chocolate.. what else does a gal need?!

  10. October 26, 2011 8:05 pm

    Love this post!
    I love- homemade cakes, nice tea (not yucky tetley or dust), dark chocolate, clif/luna bars (can that be one??),, cinnamon rolls.
    Not bothered- any takeaways (never liked chinese/ curry/ indian etc), chips (the first one is nice, then after that I wonder why I bothered usually), pastry, cream, crisps.
    I have such a sweet tooth!

  11. October 26, 2011 9:03 pm

    I just don’t get doughnuts, cream cakes, pastry, pies or fry-ups either, yuck! Great minds must think alike and I agree – what’s so great about doughnuts?! I do like chips though, although I can’t have them much these days because they’re usually either not GF or cooked in the same batter as breadcrumbs – garlic butternut chips are almost as good 🙂
    I don’t really get scones or Chinese but my treats are chocolate, especially chocolate raisins and Cadbury’s Crunchies, biscuits and, every now and then, proper home-made fudge – love them all 🙂

  12. October 27, 2011 11:30 am

    Scones are one of my favorites. I nabbed a wonderful recipe from my sister and I love making them for myself and for others. It’s easy and always turns out just right!

Trackbacks

  1. A Step Forwards or a Step Back? « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

