Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday: Run For the Hills

October 26, 2011

When I opened up Live Writer and started to write the post title I realised that I’ve started to mark time by What I Ate Wednesday. Every week it comes around without fail and it always quietly sneaks up on me. It only seems like yesterday when I was writing last week’s post!

WIAWbutton

Yesterday was a very busy day, so my food was quite simple and all my meals were whipped up in less than 15 minutes. I’d love to be organised and cook up large batches of meals to have throughout the week, but I’m away most weekends and I’m usually rushing about during the week. My form of organisation is to have lots of quick meals in my repertoire and to have a well stocked fridge and cupboard that I can raid if I’m in a rush.

Breakfast

I have a smoothie for breakfast most weekdays, although I try to have something different at the weekend. I’m reluctant to call it a food rut because there are so many different combinations that you can try. I will admit that most of my combos lately have included pears – I just can’t get enough of them!

26Oct11_1

Pear and carob smoothie

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 pear
  • handful of spinach
  • 2 tablespoons pea protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseed
  • 2 teaspoon carob powder
  • 1 teaspoon blackstrap molasses
  • ½ cup oat milk
  • 2 cups water

Snacks

I had a very snacky day yesterday. Perhaps it was because I was travelling, or because I’ve got back into running after a cold-enforced break. Quite a few raisins from my jar in the kitchen were also consumed.

26Oct11_2

I’ve realised that there was an apple theme to my snackage yesterday!

Lunch

For lunch I made an attempt to get started on that giant red cabbage that I got in my organic veggie box last week. I took your advice and made a crude sort of coleslaw. I’ve never been a coleslaw fan, but I think that’s mostly because I don’t like mayonnaise. I made this one by chopping up some red cabbage and mixing in some raisins, natural yoghurt, lemon juice, salt and pepper. I topped it with some sliced boiled egg.

26Oct11_3

Not the most attractive lunch ever and by the time I got to Newcastle the egg had been turned completely purple. It was tasty though and that’s what matters.

Pre-run snack

My standard rice cake with almond butter and banana and one with pear and apple spread.

26Oct11_4

After this I rushed off to running club for the first time in three weeks. It was a really tough workout, but pretty awesome too! It was billed as hill training, although as far as I can tell every run I do with the club is hill training. After a warm up the coach took us to a variety of local hills (there are a lot to choose from!) and we did intervals up and down them. I didn’t wear my Garmin, but someone who did said that we covered about 6 miles. Since the half marathon I’ve steered clear of hills, partly because I wanted to make sure I was giving my body chance to recover and partly because I was running in Cambridge which is as flat as a pancake. It actually felt really good to get my blood pumping and my backside burning. I didn’t feel too bad this morning, but I do have a date with my foam roller later on.

Dinner

As soon as I got home I put a pan of millet on and let it cook while I had a quick shower. I then cooked up lots of veggies – carrot, courgette and broccoli. I added sweetcorn and chickpeas and mixed in some olive tapenade spread.

26Oct11_5

This was the perfect post-run meal. For dessert I had some yoghurt and muesli, but it was in my tummy before I could take a photo.

I collapsed in my bed last night absolutely exhausted – it must have been all those hills.

What’s the most unattractive, but tastiest food you’ve had recently?

What’s the hardest workout you’ve done?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 5:26 pm

    Yummy eats! 🙂
    The most unattractive, but tasty food I’ve had recently was a yogurt mess! 🙂

  2. Errign permalink
    October 26, 2011 5:27 pm

    My pumpkin mac bake was pretty ugly, but it tasted good! I also some ugly Indian dish last night.

    Hardest workout recently was getting started on my first outdoor run since my injury. There were loads of hills and I felt as if I would die. I got over the hump though, and it was all good.

  3. October 26, 2011 6:14 pm

    I love my green smoothies, but sometimes they look so unappealing!

  4. Sara Grambusch permalink
    October 26, 2011 6:18 pm

    I feel like all my food in unattractive. Savory oats probably love the worst but they are one of my favs!

  5. October 26, 2011 7:24 pm

    I think some of my green smoothies usually look like sludge but they taste amazing! I do agree though, its the taste that counts 🙂

  6. October 26, 2011 7:37 pm

    You are the second blogger I’ve read tonight that has done hills recently, shew I totally admire hill work since I consider a slight undulation Mt Kilimanjaro 😉

  7. October 26, 2011 8:08 pm

    The pumpkin pancakes I made looked horrible- a big pile of brown mess. But they were tasty!
    I think my hardest workouts have been runs after long breaks-although at the moment the abs track in body pump is defeating me at the end!

  8. October 27, 2011 9:37 am

    Sometimes my oats and green smoothies come out a little gross, but they always taste good.

  9. October 27, 2011 11:33 am

    Your food looks delicious. I really need to get into the smoothie routine with everyone else. I need to dig out my blender from storage to do it! Happy WIAW~a day late!

  10. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog permalink
    October 27, 2011 12:49 pm

    I love eggs in salad-SO GOOD.

    I made a green smoothie once that looked terrible but tasted delicious!

  11. October 27, 2011 4:05 pm

    Your dinner looks so lush and fresh! 🙂
    I’m loving the Nakd bars too, but I’m going to have a try at making my own bars and see if they work out any cheaper. The Nakd bars only seem to have a couple of ingredients and they’re cold pressed, so how hard can it be? We’ll see!
    My least attractive meal happens to be my favourite… black beans and rice. The beans are so dark that photos just don’t do them justice. To me, though, they are the best tasting bean ever!

Leave a Reply

