Skip to content

Fear of Fancy Dress

October 27, 2011

I nearly called this post “I am a party pooper”, but that’s not quite accurate because I love a good party. I do however dislike fancy dress. It’s not that I mind dressing in a costume, it’s just that I have no imagination about what to wear and I’m not creative at all when it comes to clothes. I need a friend to tell me what to wear – I’ve been dressed up as a playboy bunny, a car mechanic and a 1920s flapper in the past. I can also cope when the occasion dictates the costume, like the “Santa Claus pub crawl”.

image

Source

That’s why I decided to give running club a miss tonight. It’s a fancy dress treasure hunt race, which I admit sounds like it could be fun. The fancy dress part freaks me out a bit, so I decided to be lame and go for a run on my own this morning. I haven’t been on an early morning run for several months and the mornings have certainly got darker and colder! I set my alarm for 5:30am and it was such a struggle to get up. I don’t usually run with music, but I felt like I need a little extra something to motivate me. I haven’t put a lot of thought into my playlist – it’s a running complication mixed in with some top 40 stuff I downloaded. About half way through my run the Time Warp came on and I couldn’t help but dance. I somehow managed to do the Time Warp while running along a main road. Yes, I probably looked like a maniac. I’ve had it stuck in my head all day and it took all my willpower not to start to dance at my desk.

Actually, today marks a bit of a milestone on the running front – I’ve hit 500km in my Olympic Gold Challenge! If you’re catching up, I’ve taken on the challenge to complete 2012km before the start of the London Games. So far I’ve been running and walking as many kilometres as I can. It’s exactly three months today since I started the challenge and I’m just under a quarter done – so I’ll call that more or less on track. It’s going to be harder to get the mileage in over the winter, but I’m going to try my best to be consistent.

One good thing about running in the morning is that I have the evenings free. I like filling my evenings with fun stuff like running, but it’s good to have a rest sometimes too. Last night I had more time to potter in the kitchen, so I decided to tackle the giant red pepper I received in my veggie box last week.

27Oct11_1

Roasted red pepper stuffed with rice and adzuki beans

  • 1 large red pepper
  • 40g brown rice (dry weight)
  • 50g adzuki beans (cooked weight)
  • 6 cherry tomatoes
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • Salt & pepper

I cooked the rice and then mixed it together with the beans, quartered cherry tomatoes, cumin and seasoning. I then cut the pepper in half, removed the seeds and stuffed the halves with the rice and bean mixture. I then popped it into the oven for about 45 minutes. After I took the photo I added a dollop of natural yoghurt onto each half.

This isn’t a labour intensive recipe by any means, but cooking the rice and roasting the peppers did take some time. I still had plenty of time for blogging and watching TV while it was in the making.

I’m planning to unplug this weekend – I’m going away with some friends and my laptop isn’t coming with me. There will be fancy dress involved for Halloween, so I better buck my ideas up. I do have a vague idea of dressing up as a doll, but your suggestions would be very welcome.

Do you have any fancy dress suggestions for me? Do you like fancy dress?

What song is in your head at the moment?

Hopefully there will be mobile internet coverage where I’m going, so I’ll still be avidly following all your blogs. So this is it until Monday – have a great weekend everyone!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 4:31 pm

    So, does fancy dress mean “Halloween costumer?” 🙂
    I’m struggling to come up with costumes post college…I mean, there’s nothing like getting ready with friends who encourage you to be as ridiculous as possible 🙂

  2. October 27, 2011 4:43 pm

    Well now the time warp is in my head! 🙂 I hate fancy dress! I feel like an idiot! My friends went through a phase of doing murder mystery parties, and these included fancy dress, and it was just not my thing at all!

  3. October 27, 2011 5:50 pm

    The Rocky Horror Show is amazing: I’m such a fan, and I love the image of you doing the Time Warp while running. I may just have to emulate you at some point as I know all the moves…it’s ‘dancing around the living room’ time!

    I think you’d make a great Columbia or Magenta, personally. You could probably re-wear some of the Playboy bunny costume for that 😉 I wouldn’t look half as good in fishnets!

    I’ve got bloomin’ Moves Like Jagger or whatever it’s called stuck in my head because it’s on 24/7 at the gym. Argh!

    xxx

  4. October 27, 2011 6:52 pm

    I love fancy dress, my grand parents used to throw fancy dress parties when we were little all the time and my friend is having an 80’s themed 30th birthday party – I’m going as a punk! If your stuck for ideas you could always fall back on a good ol witch outfit 🙂

  5. October 27, 2011 7:28 pm

    The stuffed peppers look Amazing…You’re making me hungry!

  6. October 27, 2011 7:52 pm

    Ooooh I’m with you on the fancy dress thing, I’m just not a fan. Last time I dressed up, my friends and I dressed as babies and wore big onesies (in other words, fully clothed), and we’ve never gotten so much male attention before. It just creeped us out.

    One idea my friend had that was good was to be a “holy cow”. She just colored a white vest in black patches and wore a halo. Cheap and easy!

  7. October 27, 2011 8:11 pm

    I’m like you, I’m not a natural fancy-dresser-upper, I love the idea and totally enjoy seeing everyone else’s costumes but me = NAH!

  8. October 27, 2011 9:57 pm

    Haha I’m like you, not really a fan of fancy dress!
    It’s not that I don’t like dressing up per say, I just find the whole tacky costume things a bit irritating 😛
    Your stuffed peppers look amazing, want to come make me dinner sometime? 🙂

  9. October 28, 2011 4:32 am

    I’m not creative at all- I rarely get dressed up for Halloween! I think I’m going to buy a witch’s hat from the dollar store and call it a costume 🙂

  10. October 28, 2011 12:19 pm

    I love dresses! I love shopping for them too! If I was over there, I would help you 🙂
    Peppers look yummy too, I don’t know why I haven’t made them in so long..

  11. Errign permalink
    October 28, 2011 11:56 pm

    I don’t really like costume dressing up, because I never know what to go as or have any big creative ideas. Once as a kid, I dressed up as a port-o-potty, which was highly hilarious. I just don’t think I can top that. 🙂

  12. October 30, 2011 7:42 am

    I know what you mean about fancy dress… I like it in theory but my ideas never seem to work! We’re going to do a Santa Fun Run at work in December and I think I’m going to dress up as a reindeer; just wearing brown and with antlers on!
    Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

