Skip to content

Welcome Mr November

November 1, 2011

Today was the day I turned over the page from Mr October …

1Nov11_1

… to Mr November

1Nov11_2

I haven’t mentioned it before, but this is the calendar that I wake up to every morning. My old boss gave it to me for Christmas last year and with my childish sense of humour I find it brings a smile to my face. As a bonus, at the end of the year I get to see Sooty with only some flowers to hide his modesty Winking smile

1Nov11_3

On a more serious note today also marks the beginning of the second month of Laura’s Big Budget Challenge – follow the link below to find out more details.

image

I joined in with the challenge because I wanted to save some money to go towards Christmas and holidays, and I also recognised that I am poor at tracking what I spend. Setting myself a budget and entering everything I spend into a spreadsheet has really opened my eyes to how easily money disappears throughout a month. This is how I’ve got on so far:

  • I came in just under my grocery budget, which I’m really pleased about. I’ve been careful about what I spend and I have been using up the random tins and packets that I had in my cupboards, but I haven’t been living off noodles and baked beans.  I’ve found that leaving myself limited time to go around the supermarket really curtails my spending because I haven’t got time to impulse buy anything. This week I had more time to wander around and I did end up spending a bit more than previous weeks.
  • I overspent on my personal budget after the first week! Considering that disaster, I managed to keep my personal spending under control for the rest of the month. I discovered that £50 is a very small pocket money budget for me.
  • I underspent on my holiday budget. One of my friends organised a home shopping delivery that cost £30 each, plus there were leftovers to take home with us. Entry to Blenheim was expensive, but other than that we didn’t spend very much.
  • Travel costs are by far my biggest outgoing. I didn’t set myself a budget for travel because it’s mostly unavoidable, but tracking it really hammered home how expensive it is to run a car. Luckily I am a member of the RAC, so when my car broke down I didn’t have to pay for someone to get it started, and then my very talented boyfriend fixed it for me. I actually have a car fund that I pay into every month to pay for servicing and repairs.

Next month it’s more of the same. I’m going to try to keep my personal budget under tighter control and continue using up the food I’ve already got in the house. I also want to get back into making more recipes. As part of the Big Budget Challenge quite a few bloggers have been posting cheap and easy meals and I want to try out a few of them. I’ve not got anything too exciting planned for November, so it could be a good time to save.

If you’re taking part in the Big Budget Challenge how are you getting on?

Have you got anything exciting planned for November?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 8:00 pm

    Congrats on sticking with your budget! The calender is hysterical!

  2. November 1, 2011 8:07 pm

    That calendar is a bit disturbing! 🙂
    Well done on your budget too. I like to save each month towards the expected (like holidays) and the unexpected (like car trouble) but some times it can be hard- being sociable is when I spend most of my money!

  3. November 1, 2011 8:30 pm

    Haha, I love that calendar! I’m not part of the challenge but I really should work on my grocery budget :/

  4. November 1, 2011 8:55 pm

    PS you might want to check out my post today 🙂

  5. November 1, 2011 9:58 pm

    well done on sticking to your budget, especially around this time of the year. Can’t believe how close xmas is.

  6. November 1, 2011 9:59 pm

    L is fantastic 🙂 …. Love that Sooty made December.

    Not part of the budget challenge although I seriously should be !!!

  7. November 2, 2011 8:12 am

    That calendar is hilarious!!!

  8. November 2, 2011 11:45 am

    Thanks for the update! That calendar is well funny, it would cheer me up on a morning too! I’ll add your update to the round up tomorrow! I think we’ve all really learned a lot by doing the challenge so far, its had a massive impact on me

Leave a Reply

