Skip to content

WIAW–Recovering From the Weekend

November 2, 2011

Hello and Happy What I Ate Wednesday to you all! I hope that everyone is having a good week so far. Mine has been ok, although it’s always a bit of a downer when you get back from a fantastic holiday and have to go back to work. I’ve been feeling the physical effects of my over-indulgence at the weekend. I drank a lot more alcohol than I would normally do and I completely overdosed on sugar. I wouldn’t have wanted to restrict myself and I’m glad that I ate all those yummy things, but my skin thinks differently!

I never really had spots as a teenager, but as soon as I hit my twenties I started getting spots along my jawline and on my forehead. I finally got them under control this year by investing in Clinique anti-blemish solution (expensive, but it works!). The spots do tend to make a re-appearance if I eat a lot of sugar and they are back with a vengeance today. I also feel generally “bleh” after eating badly for a few days, so yesterday was all about getting back on track and actually nourishing my body.

WIAWbutton 

Breakfast

I returned to an old favourite smoothie combination for breakfast because I actually remembered to buy some frozen berries.

2Nov11_1

Into the blender went:

  • Banana
  • Frozen berries
  • Curly kale
  • Pea protein powder
  • Cracked flaxseed
  • Soya milk
  • Water

Topped with the last of my cheap stash of Dorset Super High Fibre muesli.

Snacks

2Nov11_3

Ever since I got some in my organic veggie box I’ve become obsessed with celery. I haven’t taken up your suggestion to pair it up with peanut butter yet, but I love nibbling on it through the afternoon. I’m not sure how my colleagues feel about it – it’s pretty crunchy!

Lunch

2Nov11_2

I can’t seem to get enough eggs lately. I go through stages with eggs – sometimes I eat loads and then I go off them. For lunch I enjoyed two boiled eggs with a mixed leaf salad, diced cucumber and sweetcorn.

Pre-run snack

2Nov11_4

Yes, it’s a bit boring, but I think I’ve found my “safe” pre-run snack. This time I had two rice cakes topped with almond butter and one topped with Marmite. I try and eat my pre-run fuel about two hours before I run. I know it sounds like a long time, but I really don’t do well running on a full stomach.

I struggled a little in running club yesterday. I think it might have been more after-effects of my poor food choices over the weekend. It was speed work and after the first sprint I was a gonner. It wasn’t all bad though because we played my favourite train game where we jog in a line and the person at the back has to sprint to the front. I might be a big kid, but I love playing games like that – it really mixes things up.

Dinner

2Nov11_5

A veggie-tastic stir-fry of tofu, carrots, courgette, aubergine, broccoli, red pepper, mushrooms and peanut flour sauce. I managed to whip this up in 20 minutes when I got back from running club, so it’s definitely a winner!

I then spent my evening cementing my position as a blog cliché – I finished reading The Hunger Games. I’d resisted reading it before precisely because it seems to be so popular across the blog world, but then I read Jessica’s brilliant review and I knew that it would be something I would enjoy. I’m not into reading anything heavy at the moment because I have a big textbook waiting to be read for my professional qualification, so a book aimed at teenagers is about my level at the moment.

Do you notice physical differences when your diet changes?

How do you get back on track when you’ve over-indulged?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 6:07 pm

    It look like you’re really back on track from after your over-indulgent weekend 🙂 Yummy 🙂

    My skin is always the first thing to suffer (apart from the bloating obviously). Lots of water is the thing that sorts it out best! x

  2. November 2, 2011 6:10 pm

    Mhmm! A bunch of yummy and healthy eats 🙂
    YES, I def notice a physical difference when my diet changes. Eating healthy always makes me feel good and gives me energy! 🙂

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    November 2, 2011 6:38 pm

    I love celery too, but you have to try it with peanut, almond, or sunflower butter. It is DELICIOUS. You can even add some raisins for variety too!

  4. November 2, 2011 7:20 pm

    Oh I love celery, but it must have peanut butter. I promise it you can eat it plain you will love it with a little nut butter on top 🙂

  5. November 2, 2011 8:27 pm

    I had an overindulgence weekend two weeks ago, and definitely payed the price skin-wise. Meh. It definitely makes me think about what I put in my body though!

  6. November 2, 2011 8:48 pm

    I know that now if I have too much sugar (normally when I make fudge and nibble the ends) I then feel really rubbish (sugar crash) and I have to make myself avoid sugary things for a bit.
    I agree about clinique too- although my skin is really dry in some places and super sensitive so it gets irritated very easily, and although it is expensive it does really work. Plus the bottles are big so it lasts for ages.
    That smoothie looks amazing.

  7. November 2, 2011 9:36 pm

    I get terrible skin problems when I overdose on sugar too, as well as exacerbated mood swings and mania. Wheat tends to make my eczema worse as well as aggravating my tummy, and wheat and dairy both make me terribly tired.

    I think it’s okay to ‘indulge’ so long as you’re enjoying it, which is sounds like you did, and the quality of what you had was very good (lots of it home-made, etc.) so I’m sure your body hasn’t taken too much of a hit. It looks like a very nourishing WIAW so I hope you are feeling better now 🙂

    I am useless at getting back on track when I go OTT (but that’s bingeing in my case so it’s a bit different) so the least said about that the better. Besides, you’re a shining example anyway so if I were to advise it would be like teaching your grandmother to suck eggs (favourite phrase of mine, but such a strange one…)

    xxx

  8. November 2, 2011 11:35 pm

    I am totally the same way with eggs, I’m either all about them or I completely quit eating them. Right now, I’m eating them constantly!

  9. November 2, 2011 11:59 pm

    Well I’m glad you had such a fantastic weekend, I think indulging occasionally is actually important for health 🙂
    Your breakfast smoothie looks delicious!
    As does your dinner, veg and tofu stir fry is one of my favourite dinners 🙂
    I notice bloating in my stomach pretty quickly when I’ve been eating badly for a couple of weeks, it’s definitely the first noticeable place to change!

  10. November 3, 2011 2:23 am

    I’m trying to catch up on my reading – I’ve been out of power for a while due to a crazy snow storm over here! I love your smoothies, they all look amazing! I’ve never heard of Pea Protein Powder, I’m going to google it now, haha!

  11. November 3, 2011 9:24 am

    That train game sounds great! For me, after I’ve indulged a bit I go for green smoothies and lots of salads / veggies to feel a bit better plus I tend to like simple meals until I start to feel less sugared out!

  12. November 3, 2011 2:18 pm

    Green smoothies and salads usually do it for me and stripping back my meals so that they are less complicated to help me feel balanced again. 🙂

  13. November 3, 2011 11:35 pm

    I get the skins problems after loads of sugar, too. Interesting that you say your skins was fine until your 20’s, I had the same experience! Seems backwards to me because I make better food choices now than I did then.

Leave a Reply

