Skip to content

No Smoothie For Breakfast Shocker

November 3, 2011

What a great What I Ate Wednesday it was yesterday! I love sneaking around looking at all the delicious food that everyone eats. I’ve joined in for 16 WIAWs now, so I actually spent some time yesterday having a look at some of my old posts and reflecting on my eats. What struck me was that sometime around early August I fell in love with smoothies and ever since they’ve made an appearance every week for breakfast. I’ve got in a routine of eating green monsters for breakfast every weekday and then swapping to porridge or cereal at the weekends when I usually don’t have access to my smoothie maker or a blender.

This morning I decided that I fancied a change. It’s not that I’ve gone off smoothies at all – I still adore them and think that they are the perfect start to my day – but I’m not the sort of person to get stuck in a rut for too long. Don’t worry, I’m sure smoothies will be making many more WIAW appearances. This morning I wanted a nice warm bowl of porridge.

I’ve seen carrot cake porridge on several blogs and I’ve been meaning to try it out for ages, but those smoothies just weren’t leaving any room for a new breakfast idea. I soaked some oats and chia seeds in soya milk and water overnight so that my porridge would be lovely and creamy. In the morning I added in some more water, grated carrot and raisins and then zapped it in the microwave for about 5 minutes. I always like to add quite a lot of liquid to my porridge and then I cook for a long-ish time so that the oats become creamy and most of the liquid disappears. Once the porridge was cooked I stirred in some blackstrap molasses and sprinkled on some cinnamon.

3Nov11_1

This was absolutely delicious – I think I’m becoming a convert to vegetables for breakfast. First spinach, then curly kale, and now carrots. I imagine that grated courgette would also be good in porridge, perhaps with some cocoa powder. I certainly don’t feel like my day has got off to the right start if there’s not at least two servings of fruit and veg in my breakfast.

I’m also converted to blackstrap molasses. I originally bought it because I know that it’s a good source of iron. When I first tried it my taste buds were overloaded – it’s such a strong flavour. However, it’s delicious stirred into oats or in a smoothie, and I can even take it neat now (in small quantities). I’ve finished my iron supplements now and my iron levels are back to normal, but I’m still trying to include lots of iron-rich foods in my diet to avoid becoming anaemic again.

Wednesday is usually my toning workout day. I admit that I don’t find strength training as enjoyable as cardio and I’ve not got the lifting heavy bug yet. I enjoy designing workouts, so I find that I’m more motivated to actually workout if I’m come up with a circuit myself rather than following a plan. I’ve learned lots of toning exercises from the various exercise classes that I’ve been to over the years, but I’m not a trainer so I won’t go in to any detail of how to do the exercises. I’m sure if you Google any of them you will find instructions.

I did this circuit three times.

  • Squat and shoulder lift x 15 reps
  • Hammer curl and calf raise x 15 reps
  • Walking lunges x 20 reps
  • Wood chops x 15 reps each side
  • Plié squats and upright row x 15 reps
  • Front raise and side raise (with lighter weights) x 15 reps

I then did this short ab circuit twice

  • Plank (for as long as I could … not very long!)
  • Reverse crunches x 30 reps
  • Side plank raises x 10 reps each side
  • V crunches x 15 reps

I have some nice DOMS this morning, so something in this routine must have worked. My abs felt particularly blasted, which I think was a result of the wood chops as well as the ab circuit.

What’s your favourite breakfast? Do you eat the same things or do you like to change your routine?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 6:52 pm

    That looks delicious! i love blackstrap molasses too.

  2. November 3, 2011 8:22 pm

    That looks like a fab workout. Gotta love DOMs, I still have from Tuesdays kettlebell workout 🙂

  3. November 3, 2011 9:14 pm

    Fave bfast is eggs…hands down!

  4. November 3, 2011 10:37 pm

    Woop for carrot cake porridge! I get in ruts, especially for breakfast, and I’ve had that just about every day for the last three weeks 🙂

  5. November 3, 2011 10:46 pm

    I mostly have porridge as I find it filling (and warming)- plus I like it before a run as I know it sits well. But I do like muesli with fruit, or pancakes sometimes.

  6. November 3, 2011 11:33 pm

    That carrot cake porridge is a great idea! All that is missing is some delicious icing…

  7. November 4, 2011 1:30 am

    Carrot cake porridge sounds rather tasty! I do love smoothies, but it’s definitely too cold for them here now!
    That is a great workout too… don’t worry, I can’t hold a plank long either 🙂

  8. November 4, 2011 7:50 am

    Green smoothies are my favourite, 🙂 but I just had a bowl of porridge oats that was pretty delish.

  9. November 4, 2011 10:19 am

    I’ve seen the carrot cake porridge too. Not sure what I think of it,yet!

  10. November 4, 2011 3:33 pm

    I love carrot cake porridge, especially with a bit of coconut on top! As you know green smoothies are my fave, I think I have them 4 days out of 7 for breakfast – I just don’t feel right after a morning workout without one nowdays! I do like to switch it up with cereal, muesli, porridge or nut butter and bread some times too though 🙂 Your weigh circuit looks great!

  11. Errign permalink
    November 4, 2011 8:01 pm

    Favorite breakfast = oats, eggs, smoothies, English muffins…So many 🙂

    I like to make my own workout plans too!

  12. November 5, 2011 3:13 am

    I’ve pretty much been existing off chocolate oatmeal for breakfast for the past month! I like to make it the night before and eat it cold on my way to class or work every morning.

  13. November 6, 2011 2:00 am

    Well I’m sure you know what my favourite breakfast is… 😛
    Pretty much any variation on my “weetabix mush” is a winner for me, with oats, seeds, dried fruit, fresh fruit, it’s all good to me!
    Smoothies come closely afterwards though, especially eaten in a bowl 🙂
    Sounds like a great routine, I’m planning on doing a serious strength routine tomorrow, wish me luck!
    Have a lovely weekend Sarah 🙂

  14. November 6, 2011 2:02 am

    That looks similar to a workout circuit that I do 🙂
    And your oats look gross!! Haha I bet they tasted good though ;P

  15. November 6, 2011 8:27 pm

    Your breakfast looks really good! I have so many favorite breakfasts, one of them is toast with butter and fruit on the side. 🙂

  16. November 7, 2011 1:35 am

    I love my carrot cake oatmeal! I make it probably once every 2 weeks. Honestly, I’m a straight up cereal and milk kind of gal. I just can’t help myself!

  17. November 7, 2011 2:28 pm

    Blackstrap molasses is a total favorite of mine too – and it’s really nutritious too 🙂

Leave a Reply

