Skip to content

Adventures with Nature

November 7, 2011

It’s Monday again – doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun? I took another weekend off blogging. I had intended to write a post, but it was another fun-packed weekend and I wanted to enjoy it as much as I could rather than be tied to my laptop.

It was Peter’s birthday yesterday, so we were hanging out in Lincolnshire with his family. One of my favourite things about where they live is the beautiful country lanes, so I started Saturday with a lovely four mile run. Peter and Spike walked/ran with me, which made the miles just fly past. As much as he’d like to gallop beside me, Spike is unfortunately arthritic and has to stay on his lead and be forced to take things easy. I ran a few hundred yards ahead of them and then ran back and repeated that the whole way. I always thought that Lincolnshire was pancake flat, but not so where Peter’s parents live, so I got in some hill training along the way as well.

Saturday was of course Guy Fawkes night, so we headed out to a bonfire and fireworks display. Forget Halloween, without a doubt the 5th of November is my favourite autumn celebration. It was a really nice evening, although a bit nippy, so I got wrapped up and enjoyed the heat of the bonfire.

019

029

The food was the perfect cold night comfort food – pumpkin soup, jacket potatoes and chilli.

Yesterday Peter and I got out of the house while his family prepared a birthday tea for him. We decided to go to a local nature reserve to see some seals and it turned into a bit of an adventure! The sea was about half a mile from the car park, with marshland in between. We made the rookie mistake of deciding to take a straight line from the car park to the sea, not realising that there were numerous tributaries in our way. Peter’s legs are 10 inches longer than mine, plus he’s pretty fearless, so he had no trouble hopping over them. I have hobbit legs and I’m a big fat wuss, so I had more trouble. With Peter’s encouragement I did manage to get over them and finally we could see some seals in the distance.

Unfortunately there was a bigger stream in the way of us getting a closer look. Again, Peter was able to jump over with a bit of effort, but there was no way I could do it on my own. Peter decided to straddle the stream (his legs are really, really long!) and then literally threw me over. I landed on the ground, Peter fell over and then slipped sideways into the stream. I should say that I was inappropriately attired – I had on a woollen dress and tights, although I did have heavy duty walking boots on (would have made an amusing photo, but I was too distracted by trying to stay dry).

The seals were very cute, but my point and shoot camera wasn’t capable of showing them to their best advantage.

033

035

I wasn’t too impressed with getting muddy, but by the time I was safely in the car again I saw the funny side and realised that life is boring without some adventure! It was all worth it when we got home to a wonderful spread for birthday tea. I took the photo before all the food was out, and then was too distracted by the food to take any more photos, but there were delicious pizzas, quiches, cold meats etc. as well.

037

I only had a small breakfast and no dinner, so I took most of my daily calorie intake from this table, and it was wonderful! Peter’s Mum’s German chocolate cake is my favourite and multiple handfuls of Smarties were eaten.

All-in-all I had a fabulous weekend and I actually feel rejuvenated ready for the week ahead.

What were you up to this weekend?

Have you ever had any nature-related adventures or mishaps?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 5:34 pm

    That bonfire looks AMAZING, and another amazing weekend 🙂
    Happy Birthday Peter (insert bells and balloons here 😉

  2. Errign permalink
    November 7, 2011 6:49 pm

    Your adventure sounds like a day in my life. I’m constantly inappropriately attired and falling over/into things, no nature involved 🙂 Hahah

    I really like your glasses. I need to get a new pair, as mine are like 5+ years old, but I’m not excited about paying for them.

  3. November 7, 2011 7:26 pm

    Aww wow what a lovely day you had 🙂 Your glasses are really cute too!
    I went to a tailgate on Saturday and it was quite chaotic! But entertaining at least

  4. November 7, 2011 7:46 pm

    That sounds like a really fun adventure! I enjoyed bonfire night too, I had my family and friends round and we watched a great display. Its probably my favourite autumn celebration too 🙂

  5. November 7, 2011 7:58 pm

    Sounds fab and like so much fun!!! I went to a really gorgeous wedding this weekend.

  6. November 7, 2011 8:51 pm

    I can smell the smoke in that picture- amazing shot of the fire.
    We did get a bit stuck up a mountain in Switzerland the other summer- everyone else had walking sticks but the map said it was a gentle stroll. At one point Andy had to almost leap over a dry river that fell away to the bottom of the mountain. I refused to go, so he had to try and get back over without falling- in the end a man with a walking stick helped him (not an old man, you know a proper hikers walking stick). we were releived to get back to solid ground! 🙂

  7. November 7, 2011 8:53 pm

    I didn’t realise you were a clost pyromaniac 😉 Sorry, it’s just that first photo really made me laugh, because if I had to put a caption to it, it would be something along the lines of ‘Did I leave the gas on?’ or ‘Clearly I didn’t listen to my Mum’s advice not to play with matches.’ Just my stupid sense of humour.

    I have hobbity legs too, so would probably have fallen straight into the water crossing even the smallest streams. I rode a mountain bike straight into a tree once…and my best friend at the time later came off the trail we were on and catapulted himself into a patch of stinging nettles ‘Ouch’ doesn’t quite cover it.

    Glad you had such a great week-end 🙂

    xxx

    • November 8, 2011 9:05 am

      Haha! I used to be terrified of fire when I was younger, but obviously not now!
      Falling is nettles is so painful – ouch!

  8. November 8, 2011 2:26 am

    Wow, what an awesome weekend! I thought mine was pretty action packed, but you definitely win this round 🙂

  9. November 8, 2011 5:06 am

    Awww, that seal is so cute!!

    I really love your glasses! I’ve had mine for a while and I need a new pair desperately. The style of yours is great 🙂

  10. November 8, 2011 10:35 am

    What a fun-filled weekend you had! 🙂 Firework night is my favourite Autumn celebration too. I don’t know why I love it so much… it’s usually very cold and rainy… but there’s something very magical about standing in a muddy field and watching a beautiful firework display 🙂
    Whenever we go out for a nature walk, without fail I’ll find the biggest, boggiest puddle to slip over in, so I feel for you. You just gotta laugh along with everyone else. At least you provide them with some entertainment 😉
    What an amazing site of a very cute seal. I didn’t even know that we had wild seals in England (shows how much I know!)

  11. November 8, 2011 1:18 pm

    I love the idea of the bonfires and fireworks. What fun!

  12. November 8, 2011 3:03 pm

    That firework photo is impressive!

Leave a Reply

