Skip to content

Boosting Self-Confidence

November 8, 2011

Hello! Thank you to those commenters that said my glasses looked cute in my last post – it was a nice boost to my confidence, which needs a bit of attention as you’ll see later in the post. I wear my glasses about half the time now, and I enjoy changing my look, although sometimes it’s because I’m too lazy to put my contact lenses in! I actually have real trouble finding glasses that suit my fair colouring, but I’m very pleased with the brown animal print ones I have at the moment.

Before I start wittering on, and because at least part of my blog is supposed to be about food, I will share my new addiction … baked beans. I’ve been actively craving them for a few weeks now, to the point that I ate a tin that was three years out of date the day before my half marathon. It was a risky tactic, but worked out ok in the end (don’t judge me!). I indulged the craving I had last night by making an easy blog classic – sweet potato, baked beans and nutritional yeast.

8Nov11

Served with loads of broccoli and leeks – I love my greens! I didn’t get home until 9pm last night, so this ticked all the boxes – ready in 10 minutes, healthy, yummy.

Now onto something that’s been on my mind lately. I wouldn’t describe myself as “high maintenance” in the least. Even as a teenager I wasn’t much into make-up and I only really started wearing it on a regular basis when I started working in an office a couple of years ago. Before that I worked in retail where I was rushing around getting covered in bread flour and placating angry customers, so make-up sort of felt pointless. I couldn’t grow or paint my nails and I couldn’t wear any jewellery either. When I quit that job I felt liberated and started taking more care of my appearance.

I still take quite a haphazard approach though and I haven’t worn any jewellery for a few months and I’ve not put on any make-up for a while. I suppose in general I’ve been feeling a bit “meh” about myself lately and all this is a symptom. My hair feels frizzy and out of control, I’ve put on a few pounds during October and I’m not happy with my wardrobe. Actually, to be fair to my wardrobe I have some really nice clothes, but I just haven’t made the effort to wear them – grey, black and beige seem like all I can manage lately.

I would guess that is something that all but the most confident women go through every now and then and I’m certainly not feeling depressed about it (no need to worry Mum!) – I just feel a bit apathetic. I certainly don’t think happiness can be found at the bottom of a foundation bottle or in a beautiful pair of diamond earrings (although I might manage to raise a smile), but in my experience a little superficial jazz can go a little way towards self-confidence.

I’ve already got an appointment at a very nice salon lined up for next weekend, so that should help to solve the hair problem. Reuniting with my long-lost friends the hair straighteners wouldn’t do any harm either. I’m going to wear a little bit of make-up to work (just subtle eye make-up) and wear at least one piece from my beautiful jewellery collection each day. I’m going to moisturise my body – it’s surprising how good smooth elbows can make me feel. I also want to lose those few pounds and perhaps this is something I’ll address in more detail in another post.

What do you do to bolster your self-confidence when you feel a little glum?

Do you take notice of best before dates?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 5:30 pm

    I definitely agree that a little time spent on ‘you’ can make you feel better and more confident. A lot of the time it’s the motivation that counts – I realised doing my eyeshadow in the morning to make myself feel happier, or pampering myself with a pedicure, works really well for confidence but if I do it because of what other people might think, it does not have the same effect!
    Look forward to seeing the new hair 🙂

  2. November 8, 2011 6:21 pm

    Sweet potato and beans sounds tasty. I find that when I make an effort to put makeup on, straighten my hair I do feel loads better, and much more confdent. I think most women suffer with their self confidence at periods in their life but just remember that your lovely becaue who you are and your partner, friends, family love you for being you. Try treating yourself to a new necklace or a subtle lippy. xxx

  3. November 8, 2011 7:51 pm

    I felt a bit meh a couple of months ago and I found that making a bit more of an effort with myself helped – just things like putting on nail varnish and using liquid eye liner helped me. As much as I love fashion I’ve found I’m much less bothered about wearing full make up and straightening my hair as I used to be too, which I think is nice as I’m less worried about my appearance now! I think its completely natural to have peaks and troughs in how you feel, I think its just a little reminder to treat yourself to something special 🙂

  4. November 8, 2011 8:16 pm

    I think taking time out for yourself can do you the world of good. I feel down sometimes and just spending that little bit of time on me even if it is just curling my hair can make a difference to my mood. I just had baked beans for dinner and love them. An old classic never dies!

  5. November 8, 2011 8:25 pm

    Taking time for yourself and doing what you want to…whatever that may entail, can make such a huge and positive difference. I am pretty low-maintenance too, but when I put the effort in to “beautify” a bit more- put make up on, put on a cute outfit and all of that, I definitely feel more confident.
    Baked beans are so so good! I just can’t be around people after 😉

  6. November 8, 2011 8:47 pm

    I think having your hair cut and making more effort will help – I’m in the same place at the moment and having my hair cut always makes me feel better… hope it does for you 🙂
    And I love baked beans too and always have them with broccoli and leeks; that dinner sounds perfect to me – and I’d have eaten those ones too; I always go by my mum’s saying “if it’s all right, itis all right”!

  7. November 8, 2011 9:10 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re having a bit of a crisis of self-confidence 😦 I never bother with make-up, jewellery, accessories etc. because I am such a tomboy, but even if I wasn’t I suspect I don’t think I’m worth bothering with so I’d never pay attention to my appearance. When I was a teenager trying to fit in I did the whole fashion/make-up thing but to me I just looked daft, and ugly no matter what. It felt pointless, like dressing a man up in female clothing, yet underneath you can still see he’s male – with me, it was like no matter how much slap and fancy clothing you dressed me in I was still the same horrible person underneath.

    You look great even without a lot of make-up, but if it makes you feel better then I say go for it 🙂

    Best before dates? I have a bit of a paranoia about them – maybe one day over, but my hypochondriac self goes crazy if it’s anything more than that! I am very impressed with your tin of beans lasting so long and still being okay!

    xxx

  8. November 8, 2011 9:19 pm

    I never even noticed your glasses, but I wear mine all the time anyway so I don’t normally notice them on other people for some reason. 🙂 They are pretty though (I looked on your link).
    I get like that sometimes- my hair takes ages to dry so I go to sleep with it wet, then it is messy so I wear it in a messy ponytail, and we have a lot of glam people at work- I never wear makeup, well maybe some mascara for a wedding as it generally irritates me and will come off when I exercise in the evening anyway! I like to paint my nails (even with clear or a tint) and also having my hair cut makes me feel better. Or a bright scarf for a splash of colour. Hope you cheer yourself up.xx

  9. November 8, 2011 11:01 pm

    I love baked beans. I make barbeque beans in my crockpot and they are so good. It’s that time of year again, need to make some!

  10. November 9, 2011 12:10 am

    I never pay attention to best before dates! Living life on the edge! 😛
    I tend to get into the habit, especially in winter, of not shaving my legs, or only as much as I have to i.e. mid calf for when I’m wearing running leggings! This is mostly because I can’t shave in the shower due to plumbing issues, and it seems to take forever doing it separately in the sink! When I have the time, and I actually shave my legs, especially when I go all out and go all the way to the top, and ten slather myself in moisturiser, it always gives me a boost, even though I spose I look exactly the same!

  11. Errign permalink
    November 9, 2011 12:53 am

    I don’t notice best before dates on canned things – only perishable things.

    As far as confidence, when I need a boost, I make sure I’m wearing things I’m comfortable in and I usually go for a run or to yoga. Exercise makes me feel super confident.

  12. November 9, 2011 11:36 am

    I think its the little things we do that help boost our confidence! I actually just did a post on this. You should check it out =)

  13. November 9, 2011 2:58 pm

    There is nothing wrong with nice clothes and hair makin you feel better about yourself, I agree. Sometimes you need a little boost!

  14. November 9, 2011 4:43 pm

    You’re definitely right that a little pampering can go a long way! When I’m feeling a little “blah”, I find that working out invigorates me and makes me feel better about myself and life in general. I also think it perks my face up a bit so I look less tried (I seem to always look tired even when I’m not).

Leave a Reply

