Skip to content

WIAW #17 and 5k Time Trial

November 9, 2011

Hello and welcome to another What I Ate Wednesday – my 17th … wow! As usual if you want to know how to join in, follow the link over to Jenn’s blog for more information.

WIAWbutton

After reviewing my past few WIAW posts I realised that I’d been eating pretty similar foods for a while. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that, and some of my meals are familiar, but I did make a bit of an effort to try something different as well.

Breakfast

9Nov11_1

This was a delicious bowl of chocolate and banana porridge. If I make porridge on a weekday I only have time to do it in the microwave, so it usually ends up looking very unattractive! I suppose I could transfer it to another bowl … but I’m too lazy Winking smile Into this bowl of yumminess went:

  • Porridge oats
  • Sliced banana
  • Chia seeds
  • Cocoa powder
  • Blackstrap molasses
  • Soya milk
  • Water

The cocoa and molasses conspired to make it a dark chocolaty brown and made it taste decadently rich.

Snacks

Eaten throughout my workday:

9Nov11_2

A Jazz apple. an orange, a carrot and some chestnuts. Raw carrots are my new favourite snack because I find that they kill my mid-afternoon biscuit cravings and keep me full for ages, maybe because they take so much effort to eat!

Lunch

9Nov11_3

OK, lunch was a variation on a usual staple of mine – egg salad. Underneath the two sliced boiled eggs are spinach leaves, cucumber, red pepper and sweetcorn. I’m meant to be cutting down on eating raw spinach because it can interfere with iron absorption, but it’s my favourite salad leaf and so hard to give up! I decided to treat myself yesterday and tried to eat plenty of vitamin C to make up for it.

Pre-run snack

9Nov11_4

A trio of rice cakes, all topped with a different treat. The first one on the left is good old Marmite, then it’s tahini with pear and apple spread, and then mixed nut butter. I also had half a grapefruit on the side. The tahini and fruit spread was a bit of an experiment, which is why I had different toppings on the other rice cakes, but it was delicious and very creamy.

Running club was awesome last night! It was the monthly 5k time trial, which is usually not my favourite session. I’m not too keen on running 5ks because there’s a lot of pressure to actually run quickly. I managed to find an excuse to miss the last one because it was the week before my half marathon, so I forced myself to do it yesterday. When I got to the leisure centre where we meet, my coach announced that they were reintroducing the runner of the month prize (well the prize is honour and your photo in the newsletter) and I won it for my group! I’m by no means the fastest, but I guess that I’ve made a good improvement and always give it my all.

I was so chuffed and it gave me the adrenaline boost I needed for the 5k. The 5k course consists of running three times up and down an industrial estate road. It’s all uphill one way, and not surprisingly, downhill the other. I wore my Garmin, but decided not to look at it because I didn’t want the pressure of shooting for a particular time because it stresses me out. I set off at a comfortable pace, which I’m pretty sure that I managed to maintain throughout, although I will have to check on my Garmin. My legs and core felt really strong, which I hope means that the strength and toning work I’ve been doing is paying off. However, on the last lap my lungs were burning and I was breathing heavily. I tried to concentrate on how good my legs felt and powered through. When I passed the finish I looked at my Garmin and realised I’d done it in exactly 25 minutes, which is a whole minute faster than my previous PB! I’d had to stop and wait a few seconds for lorries to go past a couple of times as well, so I think I could have knocked a little bit more off.

Dinner

I needed a dinner of champions after that, so I made grilled portobello mushrooms topped with quinoa, butter beans and chard, served with green cabbage and nutritional yeast.

9Nov11_5

This was so easy to make. I just stuck the mushrooms under the grill for about 5 minutes while I prepared the quinoa. Once the quinoa was cooked I stirred in a tin of butter beans and some chopped chard. I waited for the chard to wilt a bit and dumped the mixture on top of the mushrooms.

Dessert went unpictured, but it was an old favourite – yoghurt with muesli.

What’s been your biggest achievement lately?

If you’re a runner, what distance do you most like to race?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 4:38 pm

    Happy WIAW! Great job on the 5k, that’s awesome, especially if it was uphill half of the time! You dinner looks really healthy and delicious 🙂

  2. November 9, 2011 4:55 pm

    Awesome 5K ! Congrats! You should try the choc and nanna oats with some PB on top it tastes fab!

  3. November 9, 2011 5:38 pm

    Way to go on the 5k! I have only raced 5ks, but I really enjoy the distance. I’ll be interested to see how I feel about the 1/2 marathon, because I’ll have to pace myself…not my forte 🙂

  4. November 9, 2011 6:04 pm

    I prefer the half marathon because it gives me time to get into a rhythm, and also as I am slow I feel more up with the average pace! I like 10k and 5k as you can do them quick, but I panic a bit in fast races and my breathing goes a bit crazy sometimes.
    Ace work on the 5k 🙂

  5. November 9, 2011 6:54 pm

    your oats are one of my fav combo love chocolate and banana ooh I could so do with some of that right now!!! I quite like running 10k distances, but have never done races. I do plan too next year. Love you dinner, mushrooms are one of my favourite foods.

  6. November 9, 2011 7:52 pm

    Well done on your 5k time that’s brilliant! I bet that porridge was delicious, I love the sound of those ingredients! My fave distance is definitely 10k, I find it a good balance for me between distance and speed!

  7. November 9, 2011 7:56 pm

    Great job on the 5Ktime! Your food looks delicious!

  8. November 9, 2011 7:56 pm

    10k is my favourite time – I often only feel like I’m getting into the swing of things 3 miles in.

  9. November 9, 2011 9:24 pm

    I’ve just discovered cocoa porridge and it’s so delish! I’ve been using a teaspoon of raw cocoa powder, some chopped walnuts and brazils, and a squirt of Sweet Freedom. It makes a nice change from my usual porridge/fruit/nut combo!
    Congrats on the runner of the month prize and the PB! What a great achievement! 🙂

  10. November 9, 2011 9:41 pm

    You just know that I am going to say ‘marathon’ 😉 Although if my body would let me do an Ultra or an Iron Man, then I would be there in a heartbeat. I know my limitations though, sadly. Nothing matches the internal and physical journey you take during a marathon for me – although I do very much admire speedy sprinters, I prefer the long, drawn out, sometmes painful marathon challenge.

    Congratulations on your 5K!

    xxx

  11. November 10, 2011 12:55 pm

    Yay well done on the PB!! And for getting runner of the month 🙂
    Your food all looks so healthy and nutritious (as always!) that chocolate and banana porridge sounds really tasty – I love banana and chocolate together!

  12. Errign permalink
    November 10, 2011 1:48 pm

    I don’t really like racing, but my favorite distance to run is either 5k or 4 miles because it’s short enough to do everyday if I wanted and long enough to see some time improvement.

  13. November 11, 2011 1:35 pm

    As always, your eats look soo good!

Leave a Reply

