Skip to content

At Last, Mr Postman

November 15, 2011

Hello – I hope the start of the week has treated everyone well. I didn’t post yesterday, which is unusual for me on a weekday, but I had perhaps the most boring day ever and I didn’t have anything interesting to say at all. I think my day could be summed up in four brief bullet points:

  • Got up
  • Revised
  • Ate some food, but too lazy to take any photos
  • Went to bed

I went to bed nice and early because I had to wake up at 5.30am today to get to my exam. I did arrive two hours early, but it’s better to have some time to look over notes than to get stuck in traffic and be late. The exam was ok, although not spectacular … I’m just relieved that another one is over (if I don’t have to re-sit) and I only have four more left to do. I was pretty hungry when I finished, and luckily I’d thrown together a ham and mustard roll last night to take with me. It was a bit sad looking, but it filled a hole!

15Nov11_1

The package I had waiting for me when I got home more than made up for my very ordinary lunch – it was the prize I won on Maria’s blog! Maria raised lots of money for Cancer Research by running the Great South Run and running a fantastic competition on her blog – well done! I’ve been looking forward to receiving this for a while, but the post is a bit rubbish around here (I think the postman just doesn’t bother coming down our road some days!) and I was away at the weekend.

I won some tubes of Nuun tablets and a Nuun water bottle.

15Nov11_2

(Yes, we need to clean our kitchen windows!)

I’m already a convert to Nuun thanks to Maria’s recommendation and I drink one after every run or workout. They are a bit pricey though, so I was very very happy to win four tubes, especially as I’ve never tried the orange and ginger flavour before.

But that’s not all! Maria also sent some Seed Stacked flapjacks. I’ve never had these either, so I’m really looking forward to trying them.

15Nov11_3

And the best thing was some of Maria’s own baking! She sent two dark chocolate brownies and a vegan spiced pumpkin cake.

15Nov11_4

I was in desperate need of some chocolate after my exam, so one of the brownies went down the hatch straight away.

15Nov11_5

I intended to eat half and save the rest for later, but it was so good that I couldn’t stop munching through the rest – thank you Maria! I can’t wait to try the pumpkin cake as well.

Even though the exam wasn’t specular, I always get a high once I’ve finished, so I decided to put that energy to good use by cleaning my room and sorting out my wardrobe. I’m no domestic goddess and I really really hate cleaning – so when I’m in the mood I have to take advantage. I sorted through all my clothes and only found three items that I don’t think I’ll ever wear again. That does mean that I think I have enough clothes to wear a different ensemble every day for a month … so I’m going to take myself up on that challenge. I just need to try to remember what I’ve worn each day!

Do you sort through your clothes regularly? Do you have lots?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 5:50 pm

    Yay glad it all arrived! So funny how long they all take seeing as I posted them all on the same day at the same time!
    I sort through regularly and clear out clothes for charity, but I know I get stuck wearing similar things to work all the time! 🙂
    Glad your exam is out of the way.

    • November 15, 2011 9:26 pm

      I’m exactly the same – I wear the same things all the time. I actually forgot about some of the things I had in my wardrobe – it was a nice surprise to find them!

  2. November 15, 2011 6:25 pm

    Good job on the exam.

    I have a huge pile of ‘sorted’ clothes ready to go on ebay whenever I have the spare time.

  3. November 15, 2011 6:56 pm

    What a great package of stuff! I have tried nuun before too and really enjoyed how it made me feel! You are right though, it is a bit expensive, so winning it is much more helpful 🙂

    • November 15, 2011 9:27 pm

      I think I’m a bit low on electrolytes sometimes, so they are really good for me and I can really tell the difference after drinking one.

  4. November 15, 2011 7:58 pm

    Maria should get commission for her NUUN referrals 🙂 I’m a convert too.

  5. November 15, 2011 9:01 pm

    I have loads of running clothes and shoes, but very few ‘dressy’ clothes at all. I just don’t feel comfortable in anything remotely fancy or feminine, I suppose.

    Love the look of those brownies, and I can attest to the pumpkin cakes being absolutely divine.

    xxx

    • November 15, 2011 9:28 pm

      It takes a lot of effort for me to wear something more dressy, but I do have a few nice things. I can’t wait to try the pumpkin cake!

  6. November 15, 2011 10:40 pm

    Glad the exam went well! Maria’s baking always looks amazing. I think I need to start using some kind of electrolyte replacement, I looked at nuun but was initially put off by the price but think I’ll just suck it up and buy them. I don’t have that many clothes and tend to re-wear stuff off the top of the pile, I suppose I should have a sort out and get some stuff off the bottom of the pile”

    • November 16, 2011 9:37 am

      There are some cheaper brands – I’ve tried Zero and that’s ok. You could also use diluted fruit juice and salt.

  7. Errign permalink
    November 16, 2011 2:04 am

    I do sort my clothes regularly – I hate clutter and keeping things that don’t fit. I’m terrified of Hoarders haha.

    Mmmm Maria makes yummy stuff. She sent along some proper fudge when we did a blog swap.

  8. November 16, 2011 8:07 am

    Those brownies look so dense and rich..yum! I hope the revision is going well. 🙂

  9. November 16, 2011 9:42 am

    I think I have less clothes than I used to and usually each season I have a good sorting out but I think I could do with another! Its always nice if you find something good you haven’t worn in ages. Glad your exam was ok, that brownie looks delicious!

  10. Alexiasana permalink
    November 16, 2011 3:24 pm

    i travel a lot and every time I go to Austria I have to go through my wardrobe and sort out my clothes. I absolutely hate doing it but if I would leave it my wardrobe would look like hell in a couple of years. well, somehow its already a mess….

  11. November 17, 2011 2:04 pm

    What an amazing bounty of goodies you got in the post! It must have felt like Christmas came early!
    Glad to hear that the exam went okay. That’s another one crossed off! x

Leave a comment