Skip to content

WIAW #18–Tofu-Tastic

November 16, 2011
tags: ,

I am totally confuddled today – it doesn’t take much to be honest! What with having Friday and Monday off work to revise and taking an exam yesterday I have had no idea what day it is today. I’d finally settled on Tuesday as the most likely candidate, but then all the What I Ate Wednesday posts popping up in my Google Reader made me realise that it must be Wednesday … how could I forget?

Luckily I have taken some photos, although it’s a mix of what I ate today and what I ate yesterday. As usual, if you want to join in WIAW or see the delicious eats of literally hundreds of bloggers, follow the link below to Jenn’s blog!

WIAWbutton

Breakfast

It was the return of the smoothie for breakfast this morning. My parents don’t have a blender, so I’ve had porridge for the past four mornings. As much I love porridge, I was really looking forward to a cool, fruity green monster.

16Nov11_1

This one had:

  • Frozen banana
  • Frozen mixed berries
  • Curly kale
  • Pea protein powder
  • Chia seeds
  • Kara coconut milk
  • Water

Topped with some fruit and nut muesli – delicious!

At work snacks

16Nov11_2

Pretty self-explanatory I think

Lunch

Last night I baked a couple of portions of tofu for my lunch today and my dinner last night. I have a minimalist approach to baking tofu, but it always turns out the way I like and tasty without being overpowering. I use Cauldron original tofu, which I think is firm, mostly because it’s the only one you can buy in the supermarket. I first drain it and press it for at least half an hour by wrapping it in kitchen towel and putting something heavy on top. I then cube it and pour over some soy sauce. I’m lazy, so I don’t let it marinade for long, but you could do. It then just goes in the oven for about 30-40 minutes, turning over half way through cooking. I’ve seen much more imaginative ways of cooking tofu on other blogs, but I’d do anything for an easy life!

For lunch I just put half the tofu on top of a salad of spinach leaves, cucumber, red pepper and sweetcorn.

16Nov11_3

After work snack

16Nov11_4

I downed a rice cake topped with Dark Chocolate Dreams before I did some at-home yoga practice. I missed yoga on Monday because I was in Chester and when I miss the class I usually end up skipping it altogether, so I was proud of myself for getting my mat out in the living room. My legs feel really strong at the moment, which I think is at least partly down to yoga, so I don’t want to loose the momentum.

Dinner

I haven’t had dinner yet tonight, so this is what I had last night.

16Nov11_5

It’s the most epic stir-fry ever! I bought loads of veggies from the supermarket and I wanted to put a bit of everything into my creation. It turns out that a bit of everything makes a lot of food. I added some baked tofu for protein and I was going serve it with noodles, but when I saw the overflowing pan I decided that I probably had enough food to be getting on with!

  • Tofu
  • Carrots
  • Courgettes
  • Broccoli
  • Aubergine
  • Red pepper
  • Mushrooms
  • Chard stalks
  • Peanut flour
  • Soy sauce
  • Chilli powder

I usually have room for a piece of fruit or some yoghurt after dinner, but I was well and truly stuffed after this!

What’s the most epic thing you’ve eaten recently?

Do you like to load up on veggies?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 5:01 pm

    I havent had a smoothie in a long time…after seeing yours I think its about time I had one again! 🙂 I love how you topped yours with muesli!

    Yes, I like to load up on veggies! 🙂

  2. November 16, 2011 5:44 pm

    Okay sooo I have never cooked tofu before, or used it really in any recipes! Must try this soon, you had so many great uses for it 🙂

  3. November 16, 2011 7:05 pm

    He he, I thought I was the only one that said confuddled! Love the look of the tofu too!

  4. November 16, 2011 7:10 pm

    I love those nakd bars. And I think I have a soy obsession- I love it in the form of tofu, tempeh, milk, yoghurts. Awesome. I must admit though, I’m really lazy when it comes to tofu and end up buying the ready-flavoured stuff that I can eat hot or cold.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    November 16, 2011 7:23 pm

    Leave it to What I Ate Wednesday to remind you which day of the week it is 😉

    I LOVE to load up with veggies. In fact, I sometimes need to convince myself to fill my meals with foods OTHER than veggies.

    • November 16, 2011 9:00 pm

      Haha – I’m the same … sometimes I have to force myself to add something else. I’d be more than happy with just veggies.

  6. November 16, 2011 8:17 pm

    I think that’s probably one of the best ways to enjoy tofu! I love loading up on veggies, my salad at work this week got a comment from a co worker on being so huge 🙂

  7. November 16, 2011 8:17 pm

    I always feel most full when I have a massive amount of veggies. Today for dinner I had some vegan lentil tofu mousakka, which has a lot of veggies in there, plus some roasted carrots, butternut and sweet potato (left over from my batch of lunches) and it was delish. But the batteries went on the camera so no photo ;(

  8. November 16, 2011 9:59 pm

    I made some lovely tofu meatballs this week which were lovely. I do love tofu, such a versatile product. 🙂

  9. November 16, 2011 11:19 pm

    Mmm your breakfast smoothie looks delicious!
    And I really need to buy some tofu next week, thank you for the inspiration 🙂
    Most epic thing I’ve eaten recently? Basically all of the food I ate back at home last week!!
    And I love to load up on veggies 🙂

  10. Errign permalink
    November 17, 2011 1:18 am

    I love vegetables 🙂

    Hmmmm, most epic thing? I’m not sure – I was loving pancakes today though!

  11. November 17, 2011 3:32 am

    We had the same afternoon snack! Haha, great minds think alike 🙂

  12. November 17, 2011 2:00 pm

    Your stir fry looks totally delicious! I can never be bothered to marinade tofu for very long either and my palate certainly isn’t refined enough to taste the difference! My usual way of cooking tofu is to stir fry it with a little groundnut oil, soy sauce and crushed garlic.
    I guess the most epic thing I’ve eaten this week was the Nettle Bhajee… just because it was a first for me and tasted far nicer than I imagined it would. I was terrified taking the first bite in case it stung me lol!

  13. November 18, 2011 9:49 am

    That green monster looks amazing…I want to try it w/ Chocolate Greens 8000 instead of pea protein powder…. Or you can enter my giveaway (http://living-learning-eating.blogspot.com/2011/11/thankful-thanksgiving-giveaway.html) and try it. 😉

  14. November 19, 2011 5:11 pm

    Sarah, Your food looks delicious especially the tofu salad. You mentioned pea protein powder in your smoothie. If you don’t mind me asking, what brand do you use and do you like it? I’m looking for a good protein powder. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

