Skip to content

I’ll Tell You Some More About Me

November 17, 2011

Earlier in the week I was was tagged by Eleanor from Eating Like a Horse in the Tell Me About Yourself award. Thank you Eleanor!

image

The idea of the award is to tell you 7 random things about myself. I actually did another 7 random things post ages ago, so I’ve been racking my brains to think of some more interesting things … I’m not sure there are 14 interesting facts about me. I’ve tried my best though!

1) I was really unsporty when I was younger and I used to dread having to do cross country. My Mum actually wrote notes excusing me from cross country because I used to get so upset about having to do it. I also came last in every single race I took part in at school, except one sack race I did when I was about 8 years old where I came third and got a bronze sticker. I can still remember that day really clearly.

065

Me after finishing the Peterborough Half Marathon – take that Mr Nelson!

 

2) Being unsporty and poorly co-ordinated actually worked to my advantage later in high school. We were playing a game of lacrosse and I accidentally whacked the school bully over the head with my stick. Honestly … it was an accident! She wasn’t happy and threatened to kill me … but it felt so good! (I obviously have violent tendencies).

3) One of my idols is the actress Emma Thompson.

image

 

I went to the same college as her (about 20 years later) and when I was studying there she came to give a talk. She was hilariously funny and had some brilliant anecdotes about her student years, including riding a motorbike through the college halls. She used to date Hugh Laurie when she was a student and her top advice was “Never date a rower, all they do is eat steak”.

4) I love taking part in quizzes – the music and photo rounds are my favourite. I don’t go to them very often, because no-one I know is interested in forming a team. I don’t think that I’ve ever won a quiz though – my team come second in the Cheshire high school geography quiz and I once came a very close second in a quiz where the prize was an iPod Touch for each member of the team … bummer!

5) My favourite song is “Masterplan” by Oasis. I saw this video for the song at the Lowry galley a few years ago and love it.

The Masterplan Lowry video

 

6) I used to be a first aider with St John Ambulance when I was at university. I went to some brilliant events through the organisation, including multiple gigs at the Cambridge Corn Exchange and V Festival. At V, I was stationed backstage, which was amazing, but a bit scary when we got loads of casualties when the Red Hot Chilli Peppers came on. It’s a huge time commitment, so I don’t do it now, but I really should keep my first aid skills up to scratch.

7) Dublin is probably my favourite city to visit. I went there on a “fieldtrip” when I was at university.

image

Source

The purpose was to study the geographical aspects of James Joyce’s Ulysses. This involved visiting the pubs mentioned in the book, taking a tour through the red light district and getting stopped by the police who were concerned for our safety, going to the achieves to research the locations of brothels in the 1900s, and visiting lots of graveyards. My degree could be very random.

I’m meant to pass this award on to other bloggers, but I’m not going to because I’ve seen this award on loads of blogs, so I think most people have done it by now.

Tell me a random fact about you.

 

What’s your favourite city? Where would you like to visit?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2011 5:04 pm

    Haha love these facts!! Good on ya for whacking the school bully (even if you didn’t mean to!!)… We go to our local pub quiz every Monday night and we have won 3 time yay 🙂 x

  2. November 17, 2011 5:07 pm

    Loved getting to know you better!
    Hmm..my favorite city? Thats a hard one!
    I would love to visit soo many places! One of them is Alaska 😀

  3. November 17, 2011 5:33 pm

    Love those facts 🙂 Gosh, fave city is so hard- I love going to San Francisco so I might choose there? BUt it is hard!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    November 17, 2011 5:37 pm

    I didn’t know you used to be a first aider! Is that the same thing as a paramedic in the states?

    • November 17, 2011 8:19 pm

      St John Ambulance is a voluntary organisation like the Red Cross. There are a lot of people that put in loads of time and effort for free to help out at events like concerts and sports matches.

  5. November 17, 2011 6:06 pm

    Great facts! That is pretty cool about being a first aider 🙂

  6. November 17, 2011 6:48 pm

    For a ‘non-interesting’ person, as you describe yourself, you have some truly fascinating facts. And you struck me as extremely intriguing when I met you in Manchester, I would have loved more time to chat with you (although it’s probably fortunate for you that I didn’t get a chance to bore your socks off!)

    I am a great fan of quizzes, and would feel honoured to be on any team of yours! I also share your lack of athleticism at school (love the comeback to your old P.E teacher, I presume) and was similarly unco-ordinated. Replace a lacrosse stick with a hockey stick and I did the same thing to a bully, whacking her in the shins while I missed the ball. Ah, so satisfying…until she yanked half my hair out in the lunch queue the next day.

    Favourite city? Ooh, that’s tough, but I’d have to say Edinburgh. If I’d been to London though, I think I might well have a different answer.

    xxx

    • November 17, 2011 8:18 pm

      Aww – that’s sweet, thank you! I love Edinburgh too – now you mention it, it’s a close run thing between Dublin and Edinburgh as my favourite.

  7. November 17, 2011 11:09 pm

    These are great! I love the Emma Thompson/Hugh Grant story and bless you about the running at school – I hated cross country too 🙂
    I went to Dublin for my birthday a couple of years ago and it was brilliant – but then I’ve got a bit of a weakness for men with Irish accents so I was in heaven 😉

  8. November 18, 2011 5:00 am

    Oasis is my absolute fave! Excellent taste 🙂 And good for you for overcoming your distaste for running!

  9. November 18, 2011 9:52 am

    You may have come last in sports but you were taking part, sadly when we are at school we don’t really like to hear that we just hate coming last 😦 But it has meant that your journey to where you are now is taking you even further. Your achievements are amazing and inspiring.

  10. November 18, 2011 10:02 am

    I always used to come last in cross country too! I wonder if previously bad sports people make some of the best half marathoners as we have more to prove, I never thought I’d be capable of running like that – I would have loved for my PT teacher to have seen me!

    • November 18, 2011 10:32 am

      I think you might be right – I don’t consciously think I’ve got something to prove, but I do feel that I’m making up for lost time.

  11. November 18, 2011 6:02 pm

    I’ve wanted to visit Dublin for a really long time, I was even thinking of going to university over there! My favourite city is probably Liverpool, because although I haven’t lived there in a really long time, getting into Lime Street always feels like coming home 🙂

  12. November 19, 2011 1:46 pm

    I love Dublin too- went there for my hen weekend and have been there a number of times since. Also love Madrid and NYC (obvo) 🙂

  13. November 19, 2011 5:18 pm

    I love Emma Thompson, too. Have you ever seen “Dead Again?” One of my favorites! I think it was a wonderful way to see a city going through the Joyce novel. Excellent! But I’d love to see Ireland under any circumstances.

Leave a Reply

