Skip to content

Sprouting Out All Over

November 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments yesterday about my PB at the Abbey Dash on Sunday – I really appreciate every comment I get Smile I’m really amazed that I’m not sore at all, although my hamstrings were really tight at yoga last night and some of the postures stretched some slightly tender muscles in my bum! My arms are actually more sore than my legs and yoga punished them last night with some tough sun salutes to “warm-up” (that’s the toughest part of the class, so I’m not sure why the teacher calls it that) and lots and lots of vinyassas. I think I use my arms a lot and perhaps tense the muscles more than I should when I’m putting a lot of effort into running – I should work on relaxing a bit more perhaps.

When I got home from yoga I made some winter comfort food – mashed swede and carrots with baked beans and two Cauldron Lincolnshire veggie sausages, plus some nutritional yeast sprinkled on top.

22Nov11_1

I’d count myself as a veggie-lover and have been from a young age, but I’ve also always been highly suspicious of root vegetables. I have horrible memories of spitting out swede and parsnips that I’d been given to eat as a child. Last winter I tried really hard to like parsnips, but mostly failed, except if they’re drowned in honey and roasted to within an inch of their lives … then they are tolerable. When a swede arrived in my veggie box last week I decided to give it another chance because maybe my taste buds have matured over the past 20 years. I’d had a little bit of mashed swede a few weeks ago when someone else cooked for me and didn’t mind it, so I decided that was the way to go.

I just boiled up cubed swede and carrots until tender and mashed them with some black pepper. I’m sure some butter or cream would be nice  as well if I’m feeling more indulgent in the future. This was a big pile of mash … and I ate it all … and liked it! I felt like someone should have given me a gold star for eating all my vegetables, or I at least deserved a sweet treat for being a good girl.

Sadly, I was home alone, so I had to make do with something less sweet, but still exciting – alfalfa sprouts!

22Nov11_2

I bought a sprouter on impulse at the health food shop months and months ago (before the Big Budget Challenge!), but it’s sat in it’s box on a chair since then. I was tidying up on Friday night and came across it, so decided that it was time to put it into action. The sprouter came with a small packet of alfalfa seeds that I spread over the bottom tier of the sprouter and wet with a glass of water. I then rinsed the seeds twice a day for a couple of days et voila.

These sprouts have a lovely delicate flavour compared to the more peppery ones I’ve tried from the health food shop before and they were delicious on my lunchtime salad. I can’t wait to experiment with more seeds and beans soon. I particularly love the fact that sprouts are so nutritious, providing quality proteins, fats and vitamins, including B vitamins. It’s so easy to do that I can’t believe that I let my spouter sit all lonely on that chair for so long.

My sprouter was pretty cheap at around £6, but you don’t even need to buy one – you can use a jar instead. This website tells you how, but I haven’t personally tried it, so let me know if you have a tried and trusted method.

Do you like root vegetables? Are there any vegetables that you don’t like?

Have you ever tried to grow your own sprouts?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 8:16 pm

    I love root veggies, but I’m not a big fan of tomatoes or potatoes. I make myself eat them anyway 🙂

  2. November 22, 2011 8:38 pm

    I love my sprouter! Got some nice mixes from the health food shop, some of them are lovely and peppery and they make a great topping for sandwiches 🙂

  3. November 22, 2011 9:40 pm

    Swede is actually one of the few vegetables, and root vegetables, that I don’t like. It’s just too peppery for me (though if I drench swede chips in ketchup I can put up with it, as with most things). In fact, that’s probably a taste that I can’t get on with full stop, because the only other veggie I vehemently dislike is rocket, which has the same ‘nip’ to it. Oh, and runner beans, because they’re furry. Random, I know.

    I love all other root veggies though.

    I’ve never grown my own sprouts because I think I probably ate some with e-coli on them or something! One of the only two instances in my life in which I’ve had food poisoning came from after eating alfalfa sprouts. Never again!

    Glad the race recovery is going well – when you’re running fast and your legs get tired, it’s actually the arms that start driving the legs. Hence, why sprinters have such jacked up arms.

    xxx

  4. November 22, 2011 9:53 pm

    That mash looks great! I went through a carrot and swede mash obsession all summer but I’m back on roasted butternut every night now – I go through such phases 🙂
    The sprouting sounds good too; I might have to try the jar method, although I’m impressed the sprouter was only £6.

  5. November 23, 2011 7:31 am

    I cannot eat parsnips- I actually feel my throat closing up when I think about them- this is down to years of my mum disguised them with roast potatoes (which I dont mind but dont really like either)- if something has parsnips in the ingredients, even if it was 1% then I would not eat them either. At the moment I am loving roast carrots, sweet potato and squash- as I made a lot over the weekend I am having it with most meals to use it up!
    Sprouting sounds very good- it is somehting I might try in the summer as I am more likely to eat them with salads and things.

  6. November 23, 2011 8:12 am

    I had a couple of years where I couldn’t eat parsnips as one sunday lunch time I was so hungover I ate some and they tasted like dirt. Much to my mothers dismay, as before that they were my favourite.
    I’d like to try sprouting, probably not til I have a kitchen of my own though unfortunately.. £6 isn’t bad at all, I imagine you can get seeds very cheap! So really, it is budget friendly 😉

  7. November 23, 2011 11:24 am

    I love my home sprouted seeds, I just do mine in a jar and it is so easy and so much cheaper than buying them. I have to admit I have always loved carrot and ‘turnip’ (as we used to call it but really swede) mash – they call it clapshot in a restaurant near me, so yummy!

  8. November 23, 2011 7:14 pm

    Growing up my Grandma always grew her own sprouts too and it has made me quite partial to home grown ones. Plus, they are so good for you too! 🙂

  9. November 25, 2011 1:41 pm

    I’ve done sprouts in jars. Several years ago, I bought a set of lids that you put on canning jars. Three of them and you change the lid to allow for the growth of the seeds. Works pretty well, but I haven’t used them in a long time. I should dig them out and experiment!

Leave a Reply

