Skip to content

WIAW #19–Race Day

November 23, 2011

Hello! It’s that time of the week again, time for What I Ate Wednesday. Thanks to Jenn @ Peas and Crayons for hosting as usual! If you want to join in or see what other bloggers have been eating this week, click on the button below to go to her WIAW page.

WIAWbutton 

I usually show you what I’ve been eating on a weekday, but I thought I’d do something a little bit different today and show the food that I ate on Sunday, which was the day that I took part in the Abbey Dash 10k. I’m always interested to know what people eat before, during and after races, and although everyone’s different, I’ve picked up some great tips from seeing what other bloggers eat.

Breakfast

23Nov11_1

I got up three hours before the race was due to start so that I could have a good breakfast and leave it time to digest. I went for simple porridge, made with Kara coconut milk and water, with sliced bananas and a small dollop of peanut butter. I can’t run on a full stomach because I end up feeling sick with awful indigestion. It used to be worse when I first started running, but now I’ve worked out what my stomach can and can’t handle, and I also think my stomach is more used to running and rebels less often in general. I had no issues with my stomach at all during the race, so this meal is now officially confirmed as my traditional pre-race breakfast.

Post-race snack

Straight after the race I made straight for Starbucks where there was quite a long line of runners that had the same idea! I had my usual tall decaff skinny latte (I’m telling you just in case anyone wants to buy me a coffee). I never have anything different, except perhaps something iced when it’s warm outside. Maybe I should branch out and try something different, but sometimes it’s good to stick to what you know.

I also had a Seed Stacked bar, which I’m rapidly becoming addicted to!

15Nov11_3

(I only had one of these, but I gobbled it without taking a photo, so this is a recycled one).

We then headed home and I spent the next few hours resisting the urge to eat everything in the house. Running a race makes me so much hungrier than a normal training run, but I knew that we were going out for a nice meal and I didn’t want to spoil my appetite.

Afternoon meal

For my post-race treat I booked a table for Peter and I at very nice Italian restaurant in Leeds called Salvos. It’s meant to be one of the best Italian restaurants in the country and is always very popular. On most evenings they have a policy of not taking any bookings, so you just turn up and wait for a table. I went with my housemate a couple of months ago on a Tuesday night and we had to wait over an hour for table! They now take bookings for lunch and all day on a Sunday, so I took the opportunity to eat at one of my favourite places in Leeds.

I ordered my meal from the Sunday menu, which was £17.50 for three courses, but there was a huge main menu that you could choose from as well. I started with a baked mushroom with a ricotta and herb crumb.

006 (2)

This was like a party in my mouth – the combination of flavours was amazing, and it would be easy to (try to) recreate at home.

I’d just run a hard race, so I plumped for a huge pizza for my main course.

007 (2)

Topped with goat’s cheese, mushrooms, red onion, chilli and garlic.

I had to have dessert (of course), and I chose ice-cream.

008 (2)

There were three different flavours – vanilla, chocolate and cherry. The cherry flavour was my favourite, so I need to hunt some down and then try not to eat it in one sitting!

You might be reading this and thinking “but Sarah, I thought you were trying to lose weight?”. I am, but I’m also sticking to my 80:20 rule of eating well 80% of the time and treating myself 20% of the time. In my experience, only eating “healthy” stuff all the time can be miserable and only makes me want the other stuff even more. I’m really pleased that at the moment I’m losing weight steadily whilst incorporating some treats into my diet as well.

What’s your favourite meal to have after a tough workout?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 3:45 pm

    Thats how I make my stuffed mushrooms lately! ahh sooo good!!!!!! Happy WIAW Sarah!

    ps: lmk if you want me to post the recipe! xoxo

  2. November 23, 2011 6:02 pm

    I’m all about the 80:20 rule too! Although Thanksgiving is tomorrow here in the US, so it might be more like 20:80 tomorrow. Haha 😉

  3. November 23, 2011 7:45 pm

    I didnt think you were trying to lose weight, but I would say that the 80/20 rule is perfect and realistic, and as you say you had run a hard race that day.
    I think I love a pizza after a long run too 🙂

  4. November 23, 2011 8:14 pm

    The ice cream looks delicious! Looks like a day of good eats!

  5. November 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    You’ve got to have treats too; I don’t think it’s doable not to have any and you deserve them, especially after a race like that! I love the look of that mushroom 🙂

  6. November 23, 2011 9:37 pm

    You might have had a larger dinner but you had a tiny breakfast, barely any lunch and no snacks, so I think you’re justifed in a pizza after your race!

    I love anything with nut butter after a hard race – weirdly my stomach is always ‘off’ after them where as I’m usually really hungry after an easier run. So we’re complete opposites in that respect!

    xxx

  7. November 23, 2011 9:40 pm

    OMG that restaurant food looks good! I’m definitely looking up Salvos next time we’re in Leeds!
    Like you, I can’t eat at least 2 hours before running otherwise I get stitches, stomach aches and all sorts of discomfort. It’s great that you’ve now sussed out what works for you on race days 🙂

  8. November 23, 2011 11:17 pm

    Mmmm that pizza! Definitely the best post-race treat there is (other than any kind of sweets :))

  9. November 24, 2011 3:13 am

    That pizza looks amazing!

  10. November 24, 2011 8:18 am

    That pizza looks fab and I think it was very well deserved! After the great north run I ate everything in site! I think a big vegan pizza would be perfect for me, or chips, something carb loaded for sure!

  11. November 24, 2011 10:44 am

    Well seeing how you’d just run a race I don’t think you need to justify your dinner!
    Not to mention that it all looks amazing!
    That pizza looks fantastic and cherry ice cream sounds delicious 🙂
    Glad you had a good time celebrating!

  12. November 25, 2011 1:25 am

    Mmm does that pizza look great, and it is very well deserved love! I am glad you Enjoyed your time celebrating 🙂

  13. November 25, 2011 1:45 pm

    The mushroom looks delicious! You deserved a good meal after your hard work at the race!

Leave a Reply

