Skip to content

Solid Food is Overrated

November 24, 2011

I have a colleague at work who we like to gently tease that he eats like a granny who’s lost her dentures because he hardly ever brings solid food to eat at work. He typically has instant oats for breakfast, soup for lunch and rice pudding or a yoghurt for dessert. We’re waiting for the day when he actually brings in jars of baby food to eat. I usually have a salad for lunch, which I munch on loudly, so no-one can deny that I’ve progressed to solids. What my colleagues don’t know is that when I’m at home I’m also rather to partial to eating my meals in a liquid or mushed-up form.

Yesterday I went particularly mad with blending, liquidising and mashing my food. It’s certainly no secret to anyone that reads my blog that I’m a smoothie convert, but for breakfast yesterday I had something a little bit different. You might also remember that my favourite food of all time is cantaloupe melon, so I don’t know why I haven’t thought of making a melon smoothie before!

Cantaloupe Green Monster

24Nov11_1

Serves 1

  • 1/2 cantaloupe melon
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1/4 cup of water

Optional extras:

  • tablespoon of pea protein powder
  • tablespoon of shelled hemp seeds
  • xantham gum
  • fruit and nut muesli to top

This was a really pretty orange colour before I added the spinach, but I also love the vibrant grass-coloured green of the finished product. Something that colour just has to be good for me!

Last week I got some celeriac in my organic veggie box. I’ve never tried celeriac before and it was quite scary looking, so I did what I usually do with vegetables that I don’t know what else to do with … I made soup! This recipe is so simple, but to add anything else would have been a mistake because it was absolutely perfect. It ended up with a lovely comforting thick texture and a delicate flavour, despite the house smelling really strongly of celery for a few hours.

Spiced celeriac soup

24Nov11_2

Serves 2

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 celeriac, chopped
  • 1 litre vegetable stock (I used Marigold vegetable bouillon)
  • teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • black pepper to season

I fried the chopped onion in a little oil until translucent and then added in the other ingredients. It took about 30 minutes for the celeriac to become very tender, then I blended it until smooth. I served mine with a few pumpkin seeds on top, mainly because they make the photo look a bit less beige, but they also gave a nice contrast in texture.

Both of these meals were delicious and satisfying, but probably the best thing I’ve eaten over the past couple of days is this pre-run snack.

24Nov11_3

I topped some wholegrain rice cakes with a banana mashed up with peanut flour and sprinkled with cinnamon. This tasted like a was eating a richly decadent dessert, not healthy running fuel. I can guarantee that this combination is going to be repeated over and over again.

What’s your favourite blended or mashed-up meal?

What’s the best food discovery that you’ve made lately?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 7:42 pm

    Your smoothie looks really good! I have just discovered the dorset cereals gingerbread porridge…it is A-mazing. I am definitely stocking up before it disappears!

  2. November 24, 2011 8:36 pm

    You know me, I’m green smoothies all the way! A few weeks ago I mashed some beans with some herbs and that was delicious and tonight I combined some pb flour with apple and mango fruit puree (well baby food if I’m honest!) and it was very sweet and tasty!

  3. November 24, 2011 10:17 pm

    Your smoothies look so good; I’ve always drooled over Jemma’s and Laura’s too; mine look nowhere near as delicious as yours 🙂
    I love chia puddings, especially with mashed banana and peanut flour, with oats blended in.

  4. November 24, 2011 10:46 pm

    I love porridge 🙂 Or tomato soup. Or rice pudding. Love the idea of mashing a banana with peanut flour 🙂

  5. November 25, 2011 7:44 am

    Mmm I could easily not eat solid food for a day – veg juice for brekkie, green smoothie for lunch and soup for dinner!! I have never used celeriac before but your soup sounds yummy!!

  6. November 25, 2011 7:48 am

    Mmmmm melon in a smoothie is yum. I’m not so much of a fan of liquid food, so a smoothie is more of a drink to me which is why I don’t have them very much. I suppose soup is my favourite blended meal, or maybe houmous but that’s a bit more solid so it’s more food like. Hmmm, I’ve not really discovered any foods lately, let alone one that I’ve loved.

  7. November 25, 2011 1:47 pm

    I keep saying I’m going to make a green smoothie, but I don’t. I need to do that!

  8. November 25, 2011 2:19 pm

    That green smoothie sounds delish! I have been on a smoothie kick lately! 🙂

  9. November 27, 2011 12:12 am

    Haha, my family makes fun of me because I eat a lot of foods out of bowls / in liquid form. I can’t help it that so many good foods need to be eaten with a spoon 🙂

  10. Errign permalink
    November 27, 2011 7:22 pm

    I love smoothies 🙂 And soups! and I hate my pasta sauce to have chunks – blegh!

  11. November 28, 2011 2:39 am

    Coming off of Thanksgiving, I’d have to say squash is my favorite mashed meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

