Skip to content

Use Your Imagination

November 28, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone had a brilliant weekend. I had a fantastic weekend in Cambridge with Peter. I took my laptop with me, but I didn’t even get it out of its bag – which was wonderful. We ate lots of beautiful food and took a stunning walk in the countryside … but I’ve been a terrible blogger and I didn’t take a single photograph! I love writing this blog, but sometimes it can seem like I’m living life with a view to posting it on the internet. It was a very nice change to just enjoy real-life to the maximum.

Having said that, the food I ate over the weekend was pretty amazing, so I’ll describe it for you and with the help of a few old photographs you will be able to use your imagination! When I’m in Cambridge it’s become a Friday night tradition to have dinner at Bibimbap House, which is a small, but extremely good Korean restaurant. There’s only about ten different choices on the menu, but all the ones that I’ve tried have been delicious. On Friday I had sweet potato noodles with vegetables and rice with some added beef. Here’s a photograph I made earlier:

image 

The side dishes were different to the ones in this photo. On Friday we had crunchy broccoli and sugar snap peas, and mashed potato with sweetcorn. I’m a huge fan of miso soup and Peter doesn’t like it, so I got two portions – bonus! I love eating at Bibimbap because the food is delicious and out of the ordinary, yet it feels vaguely healthy and balanced.

On Saturday we went shopping in Cambridge, mainly because I had neglected to take any underwear with me, so I needed and emergency trip to Marks and Spencer – doh! To make the journey into town worthwhile we called in to my favourite restaurant in Cambridge, the Rainbow Cafe. I’m a creature of habit and I nearly always have the Libyan cous-cous. However, a Greek casserole that was on the specials menu caught my eye, so I decided to have that instead. It was giant butter beans in a tomato sauce, topped with feta cheese and served with brown rice. I love feta cheese, but I never really cook with it. It was delicious melted on top of the casserole, so I will definitely recreate that at home. I can’t go to the Rainbow Cafe without having dessert, so I had a vegan vanilla cake with fudge. It was divine and filled my weekly quota of cake nicely. Despite the fact that I’m trying to lose a few pounds, I’ve decided that I need a slice of cake every week, no negotiation!

On Sunday we went to a friend’s birthday party which was at a kooky pub/restaurant called The Missing Sock. I really wish I’d taken my camera because the place was so unusual with a fantastic odd sock theme. The bill was served in a child’s sock with cars on it! On a Sunday they have a buffet with the weirdest mix of food. I think it was the first time that I’ve had roast pork, yorkshire pudding, thai casserole and a South African stew on my plate at the same time. It was a good meal, but I really struggle not to overeat at buffets, so I had the rein myself in. Afterwards we all went for a gorgeous walk along the river. It was a perfect day – blue skies and a slight chill in the air (damn it – I really should have taken my camera!)

I got a couple of runs in over the weekend too. I did four easy miles on Saturday morning and then seven miles on Sunday before we went to the party. The weather was beautiful on Sunday, although it was quite windy. For the first half of my loop I had a tail-wind and I got quite warm as the sun beat down on me. I took my jacket off, but I was still getting a sweat on. When I turned the corner at the halfway point, of course, I had a head wind and it was freezing! I haven’t run in wind very much and I think it’s good to get used to different conditions, so I’m not moaning too much, but it was tough.

When you eat out, do you like to go to slightly kooky or odd places? All three restaurants that I went to this weekend were a bit out of the ordinary, which I love!

Have a fabulous week everyone!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 9:38 pm

    I hear what you say about taking pictures for blogging, its nice to live in the moment. I have to keep reminding myself sometimes of this with the kids, I can be consumed with taking pictures rather than just enjoying them.

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    November 28, 2011 10:07 pm

    I agree with the above comment! Over the holiday weekend I tried not to be up in my company’s face with my camera. Sometimes living in the moment is so much more important than documenting it!

  3. November 28, 2011 11:45 pm

    I hardly took any photos this weekend either, I just wanted to enjoy it without having any distractions! I’m glad you had such a lovely weekend 🙂
    It sounds like you ate some absolutely delicious food.
    I adore the Rainbow Cafe, and guess what, I usually have the Libyan Couscous too 🙂
    But I’ve never been to Bibimbap House so I’ll definitely have to give it a go sometime soon. The food sounds really good and I reckon my sister would like it there so thanks for the tip!
    I love eating at little independent and slightly kooky places – they’re definitely the nicest and most interesting places to eat 🙂
    Hope you had a good Monday!

  4. November 29, 2011 1:45 am

    I am so so glad that you took a step away from computers, cameras and blogging for a few days to just enjoy the moment. I need to do this too once in awhile, and you are giving me some motivation to do so!
    And goodness it sounds like you had some tasty food!

  5. November 29, 2011 8:44 am

    I think that it;s nice to step away from cameras and things for a while, it kind of reminds you what food is for – to eat. I got a bit bogged down in making things look pretty that eating was bit of a hassle so I definitely had to step away from it all. Your weekend sounds great, I love odd/quirky restaurants and cafes so much – better than most chain restaurants any day.

  6. November 29, 2011 8:50 am

    That place sounds wonderful! I love unusual places like that, although I love my Starbucks, it is a bit sad that we end up with not much diversity and independence in cafes, coffee shops and pubs so I do try and make an effort to go to them when I can. Sounds like you had a perfect weekend 🙂

  7. November 29, 2011 1:15 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend, Sarah!!

  8. Errign permalink
    November 29, 2011 1:28 pm

    I love places that are a little funky – sounds like you had an awesome weekend!

  9. November 29, 2011 3:54 pm

    That’s the best pub name ever – I love places like that that try to be different, with the menu and the extra touches, and brilliant idea to serve all those different things together… the Greek stew sounds fab too and good for you for enjoying it for itself, glad you had a great time 🙂

  10. November 29, 2011 4:27 pm

    I’m definitely a creature of habit when eating out, but I take baby steps 🙂 A weekend away with the hubs sounds lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

