Skip to content

More Reasons To Be Cheerful

November 29, 2011

I first started this little blog in January this year and winter was beginning to drag on, so I tried to cheer myself up with five reasons to be cheerful. It’s started to get colder this week, it’s windy and rainy and I have the sniffles (fingers crossed it’s not a full-blown cold). So, I decided it was time to reflect on all the good things again and remind myself why there are lots of reasons to be cheerful.

1. I’m going to Rome next week!

I’ve got a random week off work next week, so I’m taking the opportunity to visit a City I’ve always wanted to go to. I’m going with my parents Monday to Thursday and I can’t wait!

image

It won’t be warm exactly at this time of year, but I’m hoping that it will be a bit less nippy than the UK at the moment. It’s the off-season, so hopefully we’ll be able to see the sights without it being too crowded.

2. It’s nearly Christmas!

I’m more excited about Christmas than usual this year. It might be because the anticipation is building in the blogworld, it might be because I’m about to wrap up and send my blogger Secret Santa present, or it might be the thought of Christmas pudding and mince pies. I’m lucky enough to have the week between Christmas and New Year off work this year, so there should be plenty of opportunity to relax and spend time with family.

3. I’m back in the cooking groove

For the past month or so I’ve been going through a stage where all my meals have been quite repetitive. My repertoire is very tasty, but it hasn’t been very adventurous. However, I’ve had inspiration to try out some different recipes lately, although they are always extremely quick and easy. This one’s based on this recipe from 101 cookbooks, although I altered it to suit what I already had in the fridge.

Chickpea and kale stir-fry

28Nov11_1

Serves 1

  • 2 handfuls of curly kale, chopped
  • 60g chickpeas
  • 1/2 courgette, sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1 large mushroom, diced
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • black pepper

I stir-fried all the vegetables and the chickpeas in a large pan until the vegetables were tender. I then added the spices and lemon juice and cooked for another two minutes.

This was so simple to make, but was a little bit different to anything that I normally make – I think that the lemon juice gave it something a bit special.

4. Yoga

I’m really loving going to my weekly yoga class and I feel like it’s been especially beneficial this week. I’ve been suffering with some sciatica pain for a few days which I was starting to get a bit worried about. It was a coincidence that we did lots of stretches designed to alleviate sciatica last night and I’ve woken up this morning without any pain at all. I’m a bit sad that I had to sit out some postures because my shoulder injury has got worse, but I’m hoping some chiropractic treatment will fix it.

5. Glee

It was on my list in January and it’s still making me smile!

What reasons have you got to be cheerful at the moment?

What should I see it Rome? I want a couple of must-sees because we’re not there for very long.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 5:45 pm

    The pantheon in Rome is in my opinion the most amazing thing to see. The coleseum of course too, and the Trevi fountain, and the Vatican. But the pantheon was my favourite- left me in awe. Have a fab time 🙂
    I am excited about Christmas too 🙂

  2. November 29, 2011 5:59 pm

    Thinking about Christmas and all things festive always make me feel cheery. 🙂

  3. November 29, 2011 6:01 pm

    Oh my goodness I am so sooo jealous you are going to Rome! I cannot wait to hear all about it so I can live vicariously through you haha 🙂

  4. November 29, 2011 8:50 pm

    Rome, wow that will be amazing. Hope you enjoy to the max.

  5. November 29, 2011 9:09 pm

    I have so many things to be cheerful about at the moment, November has been such a good month! My allotment is definitely making me smile! You’ll love Rome especially the food! We visited when we were in Italy getting married, you have to go to St Peter’s square and see the Vatican St Peters Basilica – the Colosseum is breath taking as well. Enjoy!

  6. November 29, 2011 9:21 pm

    Wow – I’ve always wanted to visit Rome! I like the idea of this post, it’s a good reminder to look at the positive.
    I’ve also been cooking new things recently and it’s reminded me how much I love doing it – it’s easy to be repetitive when you are busy but starting off with a new recipe once a fortnight is a good way to expand your repertoire. Enjoy your break 🙂

  7. November 29, 2011 9:27 pm

    Your stir fry looks delicious, Sarah! I was in Rome the first week of December quite a few years ago. I expected it to be warmer than it was. I’d say be prepared to do layers. Fortunately, I had my trenchcoat with me because I wore it the whole time. How exciting that your’re going!! Looking forward to hearing all about it!

  8. November 29, 2011 11:07 pm

    Those are definitely all reasons to be cheerful!
    So jealous about your trip to Rome, I’ve been desperate to go for ages!!
    I can’t wait to read all about it and make sure you take some lovely photos for us 🙂
    I’m really excited for Christmas too, it’s my absolute favourite time of the year.
    Glad you’re back in the cooking groove, I’ve been trying to get back into mine too!
    And now I have one more reason for you to be cheerful, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award :-). I wasn’t sure whether you’d done it before but I wanted to nominate you anyway!

  9. Errign permalink
    November 30, 2011 1:28 pm

    I’m terribly jealous that you get to go to other European countries much more easily than I do 😉

    I’m cheerful because I’m going home in one week!

  10. November 30, 2011 4:30 pm

    Glad to hear you’re back into the cooking groove! You’re chickpea and kale stir-fry looks amazing! I keep seeing chickpea inspired recipes all around the blogosphere and I am loving it! Chickpeas are one of my favorite fiberlicious foods and I love finding new ways to incorporate them into my menu.

  11. November 30, 2011 9:10 pm

    In Rome you should definitely go to the Trevi fountain. I’m sure everyone has said that, but it’s seriously amazing. I went to look at it three times in two days. The Colosseum is obviously worth a look, as are the surrounding archaeological sites. If you’re a bookworm like me you should hunt down a bar called Bibli. It’s something of a library/bookshop/cafe/bar, but when I was in Rome it was closed. Go to Sant’ Eustachio for coffee – while I was in there I read that the New York times had called it ‘the best coffee in New York’ lol! Basically I love Rome and I’m very jealous. I constantly daydream about going back.

    That stir-fry looks awesome and is definitely on my menu in the next few days 🙂

    • November 30, 2011 9:37 pm

      Thank you for the tips! I’m with my parents so we’ll be taking it easy, so good coffee places are an absolute must.

  12. November 30, 2011 9:25 pm

    Wow, very exciting about going t Rome and even better that it’s come as such a surprise! I’d love to go there and I think you’re right in that it’ll be better without hordes of people.
    I really like this positive post too; winter’s so depressing 🙂 But on that note, I’m cheerful that Christmas is coming and that it’s the shortest day in three week’s time and then it’s longer days till summer! Can’t agree on the Glee though, I’m afraid… 😉

Leave a Reply

