Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–My 20th!

November 30, 2011

Hello and happy What I Ate Wednesday to you all! It’s hard for me to believe, but I’ve been joining in the WIAW fun for 20 weeks now. Thanks to Jenn @ Peas and Crayons for coordinating the party as usual. If you want instructions on how to join in, or you just want to ogle at some delicious food, follow the link below.

WIAWbutton

This week I’ve chosen a random selection of the food that I’ve had over the past few days, so it’s not a complete day of eats. It is pretty typical of what I do eat on a weekday though.

Breakfast

28Nov11_2

This is apple, raisin, chia and cinnamon porridge and it’s one of my favourite ways to warm up a cold autumn morning. I soaked the oats and chia seeds overnight, so that they would make an extra creamy porridge. I added a chopped pink lady apple and some raisins in the morning and then cooked it in the microwave until it thickened. I served it with a very liberal sprinkling of cinnamon. This warmed me up so much that I was actually shedding layers of clothing as I was eating it.

Snacks

No photograph of any snacks today, but my favourite things to snack on at my desk have been celery sticks (cue lots of dirty looks from my colleagues as I munch away!), Munchy Seeds chilli mix (addicted!) and cashew nuts. I’ve been trying to snack on raw veggies like celery and carrots more often lately because I feel like I’ve been overdosing on fruit. I still have plenty of fruit during the day (at least 3-4 pieces), but I no longer feel that I’m relying on it.

Lunch

22Jul11_4

I have to admit that this is a recycled photograph, but it is typical of what I’ve been eating for lunch lately. I haven’t had them in ages, but I bought a packet of Food Doctor pitta breads last week and I’ve been enjoying them with hummus and cottage cheese. I really like the texture of them and I find that they really fill me up for the rest of the afternoon.

Pre-run snack

Before I went on a run yesterday evening I had some chia pudding and honeydew melon.

30Nov11_1

I prepared the chia pudding in the morning by mixing together 25g of chia seeds with 125ml of oat milk and then sticking it in the fridge. It had thickened up nicely by the time I got home from work and I just added some cinnamon and a little agave for flavour and sweetness.

At running club yesterday we did another 31/29 split. The idea of the session is to practice pacing yourself. You have to run along a prescribed route for 31 minutes and then turn around and get back to the beginning in 29 minutes. Last time I did it I got back to the start in about 26 minutes because I ran too slowly on the way out and ran flat out on the way back. This time I decided to pay no attention to my Garmin (although I wore it for timing) and just do what felt right. I kept a steady pace on the way out and then just picked it up a smidge on the way back. I was really chuffed that I got back in 28:55 minutes – nearly spot-on! I think I’m getting a better feel for pace now.

Dinner

I had some vegetables from my organic veggie box that needed using up, so I decided to throw together a simple salad.

30Nov11_2

Chunks of cooked beetroot and roasted sweet potato, topped with cottage cheese and chilli seeds. This was really colourful and felt quite autumnal, with lots of different flavours and textures.

I adore beetroot, but I’m not sure that it entirely agrees with me. Every time I have more than a small amount my stomach feels kind of off for a few days. It would be difficult to give it up entirely because it’s so yummy, but perhaps I should only have it occasionally.

What’s the best thing that you’ve eaten lately?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 6:17 pm

    I love the idea of the 31/29 run- such an easy thing to do on your own too.
    I have to say my favourite food from today was a soya chai latte at lunch – what a treat 🙂

  2. November 30, 2011 6:55 pm

    Well done on your pacing, that sounds ace – I never have any idea of what pace I’m at without my garmin. Shame about the beetroot, I love the stuff too! Best thing I’ve ate recently? Has to be my tahini, carrot, raisin wraps!

  3. November 30, 2011 7:21 pm

    Great work on your pace! That’s so awesome! I love beet root too and really like it roasted.

  4. November 30, 2011 9:04 pm

    I am useless at pacing myself – I always start out too slowly because I’m so scared of burning out and not finishing.

    I thought I was the only one that had trouble with beetroot! I don’t know what it is, but as you say after a few days of eating it for consecutive meals my tum felt decidedly ‘oogly’ so I decided to give it a miss.

    The hummus salad of yours..oooh, I WISH I had eaten that this WIAW…

    xxx

  5. November 30, 2011 9:43 pm

    Wow, that beetroot dish looks so so good! The best thing I’ve had recently has been multiple cannolis 🙂 Can’t beat a freshly baked cannoli!

  6. November 30, 2011 10:35 pm

    Great job on the pacing! That is a difficult thing to achieve, but of course is so beneficial 🙂 The best thing I had recently IS icecream that I am eating while I read your blog!

  7. December 1, 2011 1:59 am

    yum! your dinner looks awesome.

  8. December 1, 2011 2:14 am

    The best thing that I have eaten lately are the peanut butter thumbprint cookies that I just made and are AMAZING! I really like your smoothies, they look really good. I wish you could mail one over to me in NJ 🙂

  9. December 1, 2011 2:29 pm

    Happy 20th, Sarah!! Your photo of the oatmeal is so good…I swear I can smell the cinnamon!

  10. December 1, 2011 9:28 pm

    Your dinner is probably the most Autumnal dish I’ve seen this year! It looks delicious! 🙂

  11. December 2, 2011 3:24 am

    Everything looks delicious! I have seen chia pudding on so many blogs, but I still haven’t tried it…I need to get on that ASAP!

  12. December 3, 2011 10:52 am

    Mmm your breakfast looks so tasty – cinnamon make everything amazing in my opinion!
    And I love Food Doctor pitas, they have so much flavour 🙂
    Well done on the running, it’s great that you’re starting to have a natural feel for pace.
    Your dinner looks delicious, I bought a sweet potato yesterday to have sometime, I might do something similar to your dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

