Skip to content

Sightseeing In Rome

December 8, 2011
tags:

Hello – long time, no see! I had a lazy weekend at home with my parents and then I’ve been in Rome with them since Monday morning. I’ve literally just arrived home from Manchester airport and I couldn’t wait to get straight back into blogging. Sometimes a break is just what I need to reignite my passion. I’m looking forward to catching up on what you’ve all been up to over the past week as well.

I’ve had a fantastic time in Rome and I hope that you’ll indulge me in showing you some photographs. At least be thankful that I’m not with you in person making you sit down next to me on the sofa and forcing you to watch a painfully slow and detailed slideshow.

Our trip got off to a rocky start early on Monday morning when for various reasons we nearly missed our flight! I have never been so stressed in my life and have definitely learned a lesson to leave plenty of time to get to the airport and get through the massive security queues at Manchester airport. Once safely landed in Rome and at our hotel, we started our sightseeing in earnest. Look at the view from the door of our hotel!

Recap_1

We stayed in the Albergo Abruzzi which is a small hotel right next to the Pantheon. Apparently most of the rooms have a view of the Pantheon, but we had a view of a side street. It didn’t make much difference because we were only in our rooms to sleep at night and have a much needed afternoon nap. It felt quite incongruous to have this massive Roman temple in the middle of a bustling square, but that was the charm of the city.

After the Pantheon we walked through the small streets to the Trevi Fountain, which is a bit of a tourist trap, but was still fairly impressive, especially as it was just starting to go dark as we got there.

Recap_2 (2)

Just to prove that I was actually there, here I am photo-bombing the fountain.

Recap_3

On Tuesday we headed to the Vatican, which was a nice walk in gorgeous weather.

Recap_4

We went into St Peter’s Basilica first of all, which was very opulent and overwhelming.

Recap_5

Recap_7

We walked around the walls of Vatican City to the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. By that time I had what I call the museum-shuffle back ache, so I didn’t take any photos, but there was lots to see in the museum. The Sistine Chapel was impressive, but no photography was allowed.

On Tuesday evening we went to the Piazza Navona where there was a Christmas market. It was fun to look around, but the quality of the stalls wasn’t great. I imagine that the Piazza is a lot more impressive without the market.

Recap_9

Yesterday we walked in the opposite direction towards the Colosseum. It was such a beautiful sunny day, perfect for taking our time to look around. We took a short guided tour to give us some background information, although the tour group was quite big, so an audio-guide might have been a better idea.

Recap_14

Recap_12

The tickets to the Colosseum also got us into the Roman Forum, which was jam-packed with ruins which really gave an idea of the scale of the Forum.

Recap_16

Recap_17

I absolutely loved Rome and I can’t wait to go back at some point in the future and spend more time exploring. Coming from Chester I’m very used to Roman ruins and history, but they were still awe-inspiring. I really want to learn more about Ancient Rome now and I have a couple of books lined up to read.

I liked the fact that the centre of the city was quite compact and it was definitely possible to walk to most of the main sites, even though my parents aren’t the greatest walkers. My legs were very tired by yesterday afternoon and I felt like I’d run a half marathon!

Of course the food was a major highlight, but I’ll save that for another post, probably for What I Ate Wednesday next week.

Do you like city breaks, or would you rather sit on a beach?

I’m off to spend the next few hours catching up on e-mails and blog posts!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 6:32 pm

    I love Rome, something about the city just sets my heart alight. I have been there quite a few times, and it’s almost strange to say but I feel quite at home there. Great photos!

    I definitely am a ‘city break’ girl, I’ve never had a beach holiday. I’m so fair skinned I don’t think me + beaches goes well.

    • December 8, 2011 7:41 pm

      I’m the same. I like to visit warm countries, but I can’t sit on a beach because I’m pale with freckles and I burn in about 30 seconds!

  2. December 8, 2011 6:42 pm

    Oh I am so so jealous of this trip!
    You’re so lucky Sarah!!
    I love Italy and I’ve been wanting to go to Rome for years now, it just sounds so interesting and exciting.
    Those photos are fantastic, I’m so glad you had a wonderful time 🙂
    I’m definitely a city break person, I get bored on beach holidays!

  3. December 8, 2011 6:46 pm

    Welcome back!

    Your post was 10x more interesting than any Aunt-induced slideshow (I only say ‘Aunt’ because I have one that used to love boring me to tears with said slideshows when I was a kid). I really enjoyed it, and also can’t wait for the WIAW: Rome Edition.

    I don’t mind what kind of break I’m on as long as it is an active one…probably beach would be better, because there’s the potential for Jetskiing, beach running, swimming ,etc. All of which I’ve wanted to do but never had the chance (swimming in the sea, that is!).

    xxx

  4. December 8, 2011 7:08 pm

    Thanks for the gorgeous photos! I went to Rome a few years ago and had a great time. Personally, I am more for beach breaks because cities tend to stress me out!

  5. December 8, 2011 7:38 pm

    Rome’s been on my must-visit list for ages and this has reinforced that – it looks so gorgeous. I’d never seen pictures of the inside of the Colosseum before; seeing all the gladiators’ bits below is amazing!
    I know what you mean about the museum shuffle backache too… and you look lovely in the pictures 🙂

  6. December 8, 2011 7:43 pm

    Those photo’s take me back to when I visited Rome while I was in Italy getting married, we only went for a day but I wish I could have stayed longer! I have to say I’m more of a city break girl!

  7. December 8, 2011 8:18 pm

    Such wonderful photos, I am glad you are sharing these with all of us 🙂 I hope to go to Rome one day, scratch that I WILL, and this is getting me even more psyched!

  8. December 8, 2011 9:13 pm

    I am so jealous! I LOVE Rome. I visited a friend that lived there a few years ago and fell in love with the city. I’d love to go back!

  9. December 8, 2011 9:24 pm

    Looks like an amazing trip you had, I’ve never been but would love to go. I think a city break like you have done is fantastic way to see a city.

  10. December 9, 2011 6:30 am

    Rome looks stunning as expected from Italy. I love that country! So glad you had a fab time! 😀

  11. December 9, 2011 12:55 pm

    Looks like a great trip! I’ve never been to Rome but my boyfriend and parents have been, and really enjoyed it! I am a city break girl, I love exploring cities and always have a full itinerary planned so our holidays are usually pretty exhausting 😛 A beach holiday is cool, but I just get restless, I would much rather be soaking up culture and sightseeing!

  12. December 9, 2011 12:55 pm

    I’ve never been to Rome but it looks nice! 🙂

  13. December 11, 2011 5:20 pm

    Lovely pictures! I have to agree that the Trevi fountain is a complete tourist hellhole, but I still thought it was so stunning, and amazing to think of how much work must have gone into it. It’s that old tourist paradox, I suppose: if something’s worth seeing, there will be a million people there looking at it, which makes it far less enjoyable to see.

    I’m a huge fan of the city breaks! I’ve never been on a beach holiday, but I think I’m far too English to appreciate a proper beach. If there’s no donkeys on the beach or arcades nearby, I’m just not interested 😉

  14. December 12, 2011 5:16 pm

    What fab photos looks like you had brilliant weather.
    I love city breaks all the way- I do not sit well anyway and I sunburn easily and overheat so sitting around on a beach annoys me. If we go somewhere with a lovely beach we would walk up and down it, come back to watch the sunset but that is all. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. What I Ate Wednesday–When in Rome « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

