Skip to content

Blogger Secret Santa

December 11, 2011

I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend. It’s 1.30pm and I’ve just got out of bed, which is very unusual for me. Usually I’m up at the crack of dawn because I love mornings and feel so much better having achieved something before lunchtime. I do have the excuse that Peter and I didn’t get back from the Santa Pub Crawl in Manchester until 3am this morning. The crawl was a lot of fun, although my legs ache from dancing almost non-stop for about three hours! I’m also very happy that I don’t even have a hint of a hangover. I suffer quite badly with hangovers, which is one reason why I don’t drink regularly, but last night I had a few drinks earlier on and then just enjoyed dancing. That also meant that we were able to successfully navigate our way home on the train in the early hours.

One of the best things about the night were the songs that we sang on our way to the different bars. Like most people, I love singing to my favourite CDs in the car, but usually my voice isn’t for public consumption. However, I really enjoyed belting out some Christmas classics like no-one else could hear me (sorry to anyone in Manchester who was unfortunate enough to hear!) It reminded me of when I spent some time in China as a teaching assistant a few years ago. In general, Chinese people love to sing and without fail every one of the 14 classes that I taught wanted me to sing a song. Refusal was not an option, so I ended up singing the only song that I know all the words to – “Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer” … even though it was only September!

My festive mood was enhanced yesterday by receiving my Blogger Secret Santa present from Lauren @ Fashion Looks North. Thank you to Laura who who organised it all. I can’t wait to read the round-up post to see what everyone got. Lauren bought me perfect gifts:

11Dec11_2

Yoghurt raisins and goji berries from my favourite health food shop, Out of this World. I haven’t been in there all through the Big Budget Challenge because it’s just too tempting, so I did a little jump of joy when I saw those packets. The yoghurt raisins are somewhat depleted already – yum yum! I’m obsessed by rooibos tea and much prefer it to black tea now, so I was very happy to receive that too. Lauren also sent me these really cute Christmas candles:

11Dec11_3 

I love anything sparkly!

Thank you once again to Lauren and Laura. I’m well and truly in the mood for Christmas now – only two weeks to go!

Do you like singing?

What song would you sing if you were put on the spot?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2011 2:26 pm

    What awesome gifts! I do like to have a good sing song every now and then- when no one is around of course. I have the most awful singing voice! 😛

  2. December 11, 2011 3:01 pm

    Fantastic secret santa, such a nice thing to do.

    Last night sounds like it was great too 🙂

  3. December 11, 2011 3:12 pm

    AHh you received such great stuff! I am with Jemma… I like to sing but only when no one is around! My voice is uhhh bad lol

  4. December 11, 2011 3:45 pm

    What a lovely Secret Santa – I can’t wait for the huge link-up too. It must be a nightmare to organise!

    I love to sing. It’s actually one of my life’s ambitions to get singing lessons, but I was useless enough at musical instruments, have a very low Alto voice and can’t keep in tune very well at all. Plus, I’m on the shy side about it, I am sure I sound truly awful. But singing is so expressive, and I think I’d find it theraputic, should I ever find the courage and money to be taught to sing, or at least make less of a cacophony.

    I would sing Rammstein’s ‘Sonne’! Hopefully the German might mask my terrible voice…it’s also one of the few songs I can remember all of the words to.

    xxx

  5. December 11, 2011 4:03 pm

    Aww your night out sounds so much fun! I really suffer with hangovers too, you are lucky you escpaed! Fab secret santa gifts too 🙂 x

  6. December 11, 2011 4:35 pm

    Everything you got looks great! 🙂 Yogurt covered raisins are so yummy!

  7. December 11, 2011 5:23 pm

    What lovely gifts 🙂 I love to sing- I used to be in a choir when I was younger (a district one) and was even on a CD for schools to use in assemblies. But now I make do with singing on Rock band at home! 🙂

  8. December 11, 2011 7:38 pm

    Sounds like your night out was fantastic! Thanks for the post, what lovely gifts! Thanks for taking part 🙂

  9. December 11, 2011 7:42 pm

    Glad you liked everything :)!

  10. December 11, 2011 8:58 pm

    Sounds like a great night – I don’t think I’d have been able to stop after a few drinks – but I’d have suffered today with the hangover! I love singing and have to be wrenched away from the microphone if there’s karaoke on… Sunday Girl by Blondie is probably my favourite…
    Lovely Secret Santa presents too 🙂

  11. December 14, 2011 10:12 pm

    Sounds like you had a top night out… and what a great pressie you received in the Blogger Secret Santa! I’d love that huge bag of Gojis… I’ve totally run out and I couldn’t find any in the local shops this week 😦
    I’m always singing at the top of my voice while I’m in the kitchen. It’s one of the only rooms in the house that isn’t attached to next door, so I feel that I’m safe to sing and I won’t give the neighbours a headache lol! I’ve just posted my favourite tunes to sing along to on my blog! xx

Leave a Reply

