Skip to content

My Lucky Day

December 12, 2011

Hello, I hope Monday is treating everyone well and you all had fabulous Sundays. Yesterday was a very lazy one for me, recovering from getting home in the early hours of the morning. Peter and I spent nearly the whole day watching episode after episode of “Breaking Bad”. I’d never heard of it before Peter got me into it, and now I’m hooked, although it is a bit violent. We ordered pizza for dinner because we both felt lazy, although I had some salad leaves with mine to try and make myself feel a bit better about eating junk.

This morning I felt a bit glum about having to go back to work after a fabulous few days in Rome and an exciting weekend. However, it’s turned into one of those days when everything just seems to go right for once. It doesn’t happen very often, so I’ve been trying to enjoy it. When I got to work I had an e-mail waiting for me to tell me that my application for promotion had been successful. To be honest, promotion is part of the scheme I’m on, so I would have been surprised not to get it, but I still had to put a lot of work into the application. I also got a letter of commendation from a senior manager, which I was very pleased about. Like a lot of people, I often sell myself short and have a tendency to think that I’m doing a bad job or that other people are so much better than I am. Something like that letter really made me think about what my qualities are and what I have to offer. I was also really chuffed that the manager had taken time out of his busy schedule to write the letter.

I also had an e-mail from a friend inviting me to a house party next weekend. That brought a smile to my face because a party with my friends is always a lot of fun and we didn’t have anything planned for the weekend anyway. I do need to make sure that I finish my Christmas shopping though. This may come as a shock to all you super-organised people, but I haven’t even started mine! I plan to finish work a bit early on Wednesday and hit the shops to hopefully get it all done. I don’t really want to fight with the crowds in Cambridge at the weekend if at all possible!

The next good thing that happened was that I won two tickets to the Gold Challenge Olympic Stadium Event in a competition on Twitter that I had forgotten that I’d even entered! I’m not too sure what the event will involve, but I’m really looking forward to seeing the Olympic Stadium, especially as I haven’t got any tickets for the real thing. On the subject of the Olympic Gold Challenge, I’ve been doing really well and consistently been building up the mileage (kilometreage?!) I need to update my page, but I reckon I’ve done at least 700km since the end of July.

I had good news at the scale this morning too – I’d actually managed to lose a pound over the past two weeks despite Rome, a couple of Christmas parties, a greasy pizza and quite a few yoghurt raisins. I guess I did eat well in between occasional splurges and although I haven’t been running quite as much I have walked a lot and been boogying the night away. I’ve been trying to get back into the healthy groove today though because otherwise I know that the pizza could come back and bite me on the bum (and stick there!). I talked about wanting to lose a few pounds in this post and over the course of the month I have steadily got down to a weight that I’m happy to maintain. As someone commented, maintaining weight loss isn’t just a steady state, instead it involves some ups and downs. I’ve been calorie counting to lose some weight and I think that I will continue to count for a little while to help me to get the right balance to maintain. However, I maintained for over a year without calorie counting or weighing myself, before a few too many indulgences crept in, so I want to get back to that eventually. Personally, the thought of counting calories indefinitely is soul-destroying and not healthy for me.

What’s the luckiest thing that’s happened to you?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 5:24 pm

    What a great start to the week! I love these positive posts! Congrats on the promotion 🙂

    I’m not generally lucky when it comes to winning things, but I feel like I’m lucky to have my loving and supportive family and I’m definitely lucky to have my wonderful boyfriend.

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    December 12, 2011 6:06 pm

    Great job with the promotion 🙂
    Don’t worry– we’re all guilty of comparing ourselves to others sometimes and wondering if someone else would be better at our job. The best thing you can do is to try to set those thoughts aside. You got promoted for a reason, girly!

  3. December 12, 2011 6:54 pm

    Well done with your promotion! You definitely deserve it 🙂
    But I can completely understand what you mean about never thinking you are good enough or thinking that others are better! I do think that everyone does it a bit though, it’s human nature.
    Exciting about the Gold Challenge Olympic Stadium Event!
    And I’m pleased for you that you’re feeling positive and you lost a pound, I think you have a great attitude towards weight loss and maintenance.
    Enjoy all of your successes 🙂

  4. December 12, 2011 7:50 pm

    Promotion, wooohoooo. Well done 🙂

  5. December 12, 2011 8:53 pm

    Congratulations…on everything! What a great, and fortunate, series of events 😀

    I must say, I do admire you so much for taking positive action about the weight situation before things could go too far away from your ‘happy place.’ I would love to be able to rein in my calories for a month and actually be able to drop some pounds – well done you!

    xxx

  6. December 12, 2011 10:16 pm

    Fantastic news about the promotion! Sounds to me like you have very successfully made your own luck by being great at your job and eating well despite holiday temptations. Impressive stuff 🙂

  7. December 12, 2011 11:38 pm

    Ahhh what fantastic news! This certainly is a great way to start the week off right
    You are doing so well lady, I am loving this positive post

  8. December 13, 2011 12:00 am

    Congrats on all of these great things! And, “chuffed”? What does that mean? 🙂

  9. December 13, 2011 8:30 am

    Well done on your promotion and letter, it’s really lovely when someone recognises your qualities! I’m with you on the calorie counting, I’ve done it on and off to make sure I’m generally eating the right amount but doing it all the time would be a soul destroyer!

  10. December 13, 2011 1:03 pm

    Yay well done on the promotion 🙂

  11. December 13, 2011 1:58 pm

    Congratulations on the promotion! That’s such great news! 😀

  12. December 14, 2011 4:41 am

    Congratulations on your promotion! I think a lot of people tend to sell themselves short, so I’m glad to see that your talent is being recognized 🙂

  13. December 14, 2011 12:55 pm

    CONGRATS!! That’s amazing! It is always nice to feel appreciated for your efforts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

