Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–When in Rome

December 14, 2011
tags: , ,

Welcome to another What I Ate Wednesday. If you would like to join in or gawp at some gorgeous blogger food then head over to Peas and Crayons to find out how.

WIAWbutton 

I missed last week because I was in Rome wandering around the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, as well as eating and drinking lots of delicious things. It seems kind of surreal that I was there only a week ago, yet I’ve settled back into my usual routine back home now. I can at least travel back there in my mind by sharing with you some of the yummy meals I enjoyed.

Breakfast

The hotel was very small and basic (although very clean and in an excellent location, so I would definitely recommend it), so it didn’t have a restaurant. Instead they gave us vouchers for a restaurant across the Piazza Rotunda. There was a selection of eggs and bacon, bread, cakes, cornflakes, fruit, yoghurt and drinks. I had pretty much the same thing every day:

WIAW_9

Eggs with a bread roll.

WIAW_10

Followed by fruit salad and natural yoghurt.

I’m going to divide the rest of the post into the main food groups I ate while I was there … it was Italy after all …

Pasta

WIAW_1

I can’t remember what the name of the pasta was – it was thicker than spaghetti, but not flat like linguine. It was perfectly cooked and delicious though, with an amazing pumpkin and speck ham sauce. This is the one meal that I desperately want to recreate. I think it should be easy enough and I can jump on the pumpkin bandwagon at last (about two months late).

WIAW_7

This plate of pasta wasn’t quite as good because the sauce was a little bit salty. Mussels are always good in my book though, so I enjoyed them a lot.

Pizza

WIAW_5

Of course I’m going to have to do more extensive research, but I think that this might be the nicest pizza I’ve ever had. The base was really thin and crispy and there was just the right amount of cheese. It was topped with roasted vegetables (courgette, aubergine, pepper and mushrooms I think) and a rocket garnish.

Salad

I tried to have some healthy meals amid all those carbs, so when I saw this lush mozzarella salad at the Vatican I had to tuck in. The Pope sold it to me, so I knew that it was going to be good.

WIAW_3

I think I had a bread roll with it because everything seemed to come with bread in Rome.

Gelato

Ok, this was the real reason I wanted to go to Rome. We found a gelateria that must have sold at least 100 different flavours. I really had trouble choosing what I wanted, so we went twice. I also confess that on both occasions I had ice-cream instead of a real meal because the portions were quite big … it’s not every day you’re in Italy!

WIAW_2

Fruits of the forest frozen yoghurt.

WIAW_6

Plain frozen yoghurt, kit-kat frozen yoghurt and marsala wine ice cream. The marsala ice cream was unusual, but really worked and the kit-kat fro-yo had a huge piece of kit-kat in the middle … bonus!

Alcohol

We shared some amazing red wine, but I was too busy drinking it to take any photos. I also had a couple of margaritas at a nice, but expensive bar in the Piazza Rotunda.

WIAW_8

With olives and crisps to munch on.

It’s always a tough choice between Italian and Chinese as my favourite cuisine, but after last week I’m going to come down on the side of Italian. I can’t wait to go back sometime in the future and eat more!

What’s your favourite international cuisine?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 5:55 pm

    Yup Italian all the way for me 🙂 Love it. I do like mexican but I think more tex mex than real mexican. Looks like you had an amazing time- esp that ice cream mmmmm.

  2. December 14, 2011 9:34 pm

    I fell in live with Italy when I visited Floence in the summer. You know have me craving pasta, pizza and beautiful gelato!

  3. December 14, 2011 9:49 pm

    The pizza and salad look amazing…I won’t mention the ice cream because I shouldn’t!!

  4. December 15, 2011 12:06 am

    Oh I adore Italian food! It’s one of my absolute favourite cuisines and all of this looks amazing :-). I also love Indian, Chinese, Thai and French.
    I especially like the look and sound of the pasta (even if one was a bit salty) and the ice cream.
    And I really want that vegetable pizza, I’ve really started to love pizza lately and all of those veggies are my favourites!

  5. December 15, 2011 3:05 am

    I absolutely love Italian food… even though I have been scared of it for quite some time now (ugh) I know I still enjoy it
    My gramma is 100% Italian so she makes some rather awesome dishes
    Your pizza looks phenomenal 🙂

  6. December 15, 2011 4:28 am

    This is too cool! I am so glad you are having fun and eating deliciously- when in Rome! 😉

  7. December 15, 2011 9:08 am

    Your bringing back all my memories of when I was in Italy, definitely the best food I’ve ever had eating there. It is one of my favourite cuisines – James loves it! At the hotel when we got married I had a simple pasta with chilli and garlic oil and it was incredible. The pizza’s are amazing too!

  8. Errign permalink
    December 15, 2011 4:54 pm

    My favorite cuisines are sushi/Japanese and Thai. I do love gelato though! 🙂 Yummy eats!

  9. December 15, 2011 5:19 pm

    I was never a huge fan of spaghetti when I could eat it – but that ham and pumpkin one looks so, so good! And I love the fact the Pope sold you your dinner 🙂
    I like Italian but can’t eat too much of it any more but I also love Nepalese food, it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

