Skip to content

Facing Up To Fear

December 15, 2011

Wowzers, this week is just flying by! I’m not complaining too much because I’m looking forward to a weekend with Peter and a Christmas party on Saturday night. I didn’t get around to blogging on Tuesday because I went up to Newcastle for what I thought was going to be a boring team meeting. It completely passed me by that we were actually going for lunch and drinks after a very short meeting. I had taken a very healthy hummus salad with me, but it was a lovely surprise to be eating some more delicious Italian food. We went to Portofino in the city centre where there was a good two-course lunch deal on. I didn’t take any photos because I didn’t want my colleagues to think that I’m strange (well, more than they already do anyway). I had leek and mushroom soup, followed by tagliatelle with broccoli and courgettes. I didn’t partake in any alcoholic drinks because I was determined to go to running club on Tuesday night. It was really windy, so we only ended up doing an easy 4 miles, which was perfect to blow the cobwebs away.

I’ve been in a real chocolate-eating mood lately, so I indulged in banana and chocolate porridge for breakfast this morning, topped with smooth peanut butter.

15Dec11_1

There’s definitely been a reduction in the number of smoothies I’m eating now that the weather has got colder. I’m still having one or two a week, but hot porridge sounds so good to me at the moment.

I’m not sure whether I’ve mentioned it before, but I have a fear of ice, specifically falling over on the ice. I was hesitant to talk about it on the blog because I don’t really want to perpetuate my anxiety, but I think it might be therapeutic. When I was 10 I fell over on ice at the top of a hill and broke my arm badly and I had to have it reset in surgery. I’ve been very nervous since then, especially after I fell when I was at university and tore my calf muscle, which was perhaps the most painful injury I’ve ever had because it couldn’t be set like a broken bone. I was hobbling around for about 10 weeks before it healed. I have become more confident over the past couple of years because I’ve had to deal with more bad weather. I have a good pair of shoes and last year I did a lot of hiking in snow and frosty conditions. However, I still feel the fear. This morning there was some patches of black ice, and even though I knew I had good shoes on, my heart started pounding and my mouth went dry. I have become paralysed with fear before, but I managed to breathe through it this morning and made it successfully to work. I think I’ll always have some fear, but I’m hoping that I’ll get more and more confident and some of the anxiety that this time of year brings will go away.

Anyway, I had my organic vegetable box delivered today to cheer me up. It’s the first one that I’ve had in quite a while, but it was a good one – filled with all my favourite things!

15Dec11_2

Potatoes, aubergine, broccoli, red pepper, butternut squash, carrots and tomatoes. I think I’ll make an easy pasta sauce with the tomatoes and pepper for dinner tonight.

I also got these winter greens.

15Dec11_3

I’m not sure that I like greens that much because I usually find them quite bitter.

Does anyone have any good recipes for greens that will make them taste less bitter?

Do you have any fears or phobias? Have you got any strategies for dealing with it?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 7:50 pm

    What painful injuries! No wonder you are cautious. I am terrified of snakes which stinks because California is a hub for snakes. I just start squealing and running away if I ever see one…I guess that’s not exactly facing me fears is it!
    For the greens, perhaps try wilting them in a flavorful broth as part of a veggie soup?

  2. December 15, 2011 8:44 pm

    The produce looks just beautiful! I went to our local produce market today. Got lots of wonderful things. Not sure what kinds of greens those are. I’d probably chop it up and sautee with some other veggies. But I’m boring!

  3. December 15, 2011 8:56 pm

    With those bad experiences, I’m not surprised you’re wary of ice. I have terrible balance so I’m not too happy about trying to run on the damn stuff, and I’ve gone over a couple of times. I tend to bounce though 😛 Have you tried YakTrax (sorry if you’ve mentioned it before!) They’re not a cure-all for running but they work really well for walking, particularly the Pro version.

    Hmm, my tum can’t handle greens like that so no recipes I’m afraid…I think Laura had a nice looking one with millet and a cashew sauce, as I recall *toddles off to check* Ah! Yes, it’s: http://www.keepinghealthygettingstylish.com/2011/10/cheesy-millet-and-kale-salad-vegan-mofo.html

    She used kale but I think those greens would work too?

    xxx

  4. December 15, 2011 9:08 pm

    No wonder you are wary – hope you keep safe this winter, it sounds like you are well prepared with sensible shoes!
    I like greens stir fried with soy and mirin – the sweetness in the mirin helps to balance out the bitterness. Good with tofu!

  5. December 15, 2011 11:46 pm

    I do not blame you for being timid… those are some serious injuries! I think having safer and sensible shoes will be helpful

  6. December 16, 2011 8:30 am

    I was going to say about the Yaktrax too https://www.yaktrax.co.uk/shop/ I keep meaning to get some.
    I am sure that talking about it will help, but it is not surprising you are nervous after having falls like that. I am a nervous person- terrified of spiders (even though I know they can’t hurt they scare me as they run so fast) and also steep things. A few times when we were younger we went on skiing holidays and got stuck on steeper slopes than I was comfortable with- I had a few moments where I was totally frozen to the spot as I was so scared of falling down the slopes.

  7. December 16, 2011 10:28 am

    That sounds like a couple of horrible injuries, I can see why you get so anxious. I think Maria’s link to those shoe thingies could be a good idea. I hate the ice too but at least I have the treadmill option. As for the greens, I really love them! Jessica was so kind to link to that recipe – it would definitely work with the greens, especially if you steamed them a bit first. I like them steamed and then dressed in sesame oil, soy sauce and a bit of ginger. You could also bang them in a soup – Try one with some beans, leeks and lots of garlic, it tastes nice and added bonus is its really good for your immune system too! I went to portofino’s ages ago, sounds like a nice meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

