Skip to content

The Best Thing I’ve Eaten All Week

December 16, 2011

Without a doubt the best thing I have eaten all week was the sweet potato and apple smoothie that I had for breakfast this morning.

16Dec11_1

I had half a large sweet potato left over from a casserole earlier in the week, so I chucked it in the oven last night and then scooped out the flesh and popped it into the freezer overnight. This morning I put into the blender:

  • ½ frozen roasted sweet potato
  • 1 braeburn apple
  • ½ tablespoon flaxseed
  • ½ tablespoon pea protein powder
  • ½ teaspoon xantham gum
  • nutmeg
  • ½ cup of rice milk
  • 1 cup of water

This tasted sweet, but not overpoweringly so, and I was reminded of how much I love the flavour of nutmeg. The sweet potato gave the smoothie a delicious creamy texture, so it will definitely be a regular addition to my smoothie repertoire.

Thank you for all your supportive comments about my fear of ice. Thanks in particular to Jess and Maria who suggested YakTrax, as soon as I got home from my run last night I ordered a pair! I was hesitant about going running last night because it had been raining and it was getting cold. I decided just to go for it and ended up doing 7 hilly miles. There was one hill that was so steep that I actually felt like I had stopped at one point, even though my legs were still moving. Over the last 2 miles we started hitting patches of ice, which I wasn’t too happy about. I kept saying to myself “just follow everyone else, they can do it, so can I” and eventually I made it back to the leisure centre in one piece. We managed just over seven miles in 1hr10, which was fantastic considering the hills and the ice. I was really proud of myself for not freaking out, but I will think twice about running that late at night again if it’s cold. There’s a flat, boring route near my house that would be a good alternative straight after work, or I could just stay in and do a DVD or some circuit training.

When I got home I needed something quick, filling and comforting. I had the foresight to bake some tofu before I went running, so I threw that together with some spelt pasta, broccoli, leeks and tomato sauce. I topped with some nutritional yeast.

16Dec11_2

I was feeling very lazy, so for the tomato sauce I just chopped two large tomatoes and cooked them for about 10 minutes in a pan with some black pepper, chilli powder and agave.

Do you have any suggestions for at-home workouts to do when you can’t go running? I’m actually considering going back to the gym in the New Year, but in the meantime I need something I can do at home.

Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 5:20 pm

    I hope the Yaktrax work out for you. 🙂
    The nutmeg with the sweet potato sounds delish.
    I see a lot of people doing You tube workouts. I like the 30 day shred dvd for a home workout as it is tough.

  2. December 16, 2011 5:37 pm

    I just heard bodyrock is having a 12 days of Christmas workout series…you can usually do these at home, and substitute the minimal props with things you already own.

  3. December 16, 2011 5:39 pm

    Will def try this smoothie – bookmarking it now!

  4. December 16, 2011 7:20 pm

    The smoothie and your pasta dish look delicious. How do you bake your tofu, Sarah? I have an exercise bike that I do each morning. I also enjoy the Leslie Sansone “Walk Away the Pounds” dvd’s. You wouldn’t think you work up a sweat just walking, but you do.

  5. December 16, 2011 9:06 pm

    Glad the YakTrax recommendation was helpful 🙂

    I tend to end up on the treadmill when conditions are bad, but my mind hates it and my body loathes it even more! I agree that the Bodyrock workouts look like one of the few at home routines that are challenging in terms of cardio. I also wouldn’t mind looking like Zuzana!

    Good for you for facing your fears – my morning runs have been few and far between of late: the black ice is just awful round here.

    xxx

  6. December 16, 2011 9:29 pm

    Hi Sarah! Just dropping by to let you know that you won my raw chocolate giveaway today! If you email me your postal address (sharon at bitofthegoodstuff.com) I’ll post the chocs to you next week. Have a wonderful weekend 🙂 xx

  7. December 17, 2011 12:36 am

    I am going to look into the Yaktrax thing too! I am scared to run on ice, and I haven’t had any scary incidences 😦
    Going to try that smoothie, bookmarked 😀

  8. Errign permalink
    December 17, 2011 1:26 am

    Yoga, 30 day shred, body weight exercises….I need to find some myself as my gym closes for nearly 2 weeks for the holiday (since it’s at uni)…post about anything good 🙂

  9. December 17, 2011 4:14 pm

    I love my DVD’s but I posted a really fun ‘better than the gym’ workout here – http://www.keepinghealthygettingstylish.com/2011/08/good-as-gym-home-workout.html
    I also like trying out some you tube videos from Pop Pilates, they are really quite tough!

  10. December 17, 2011 8:29 pm

    That smoothie is such a great idea! It sounds almost more like a soup than a smoothie!

  11. December 17, 2011 8:53 pm

    Congratulations on that time in those conditions! Be careful won’t you on the ice – not good!
    I’m not surprised that smoothie was the best thing you had, it looks brilliant. I haven’t had nutmeg for ages so might have to give it a go 🙂
    and I like the 30 Day Shred for a home workout, it’s really good and only 20 minutes, which is a bonus!

  12. December 18, 2011 5:16 pm

    Mmm that smoothie sounds lovely – such a seasonal mix 🙂
    Well done for running over that ice, I hate it when it gets icy so I really commend you for that! I’m so afraid of falling over…
    As usual your pasta looks great, I love the way you just load it with veg!
    Hope you’ve had a great weekend 🙂

  13. December 18, 2011 7:54 pm

    Apple and sweet potato smoothie sounds lovely! I love Cassey Ho’s blogilates you tube videos- they are pretty hardcore.

  14. December 19, 2011 11:13 am

    Ah another one of your smoothies which sound amazing x

Leave a Reply

