Skip to content

Fitness at Christmas

December 19, 2011

I’ve just spent 10 minutes staring at that post title trying to decide whether it rhymes or not … I think it’s most of the way there. Anyway, I digress. I hope everyone had a brilliant weekend. Mine got off to a very rocky start on Friday evening due to traffic chaos on the A1. I won’t bore you with the details, but I got stuck in three different jams and I was stationary for three and a half hours. I listened to last year’s Glee Christmas album twice and then decided to entertain myself by singing carols. I discovered that the only carol that I know all of the words to is “Away in a Manger”. Perhaps I should make myself a song sheet in case I get stuck in traffic again. You can probably tell that my sanity was slowly ebbing away over the course of the evening.

Luckily I had a Christmas party at a friend’s house in London to look forward to on Saturday night. It was fantastic to catch up with old friends, as well as meet some new people. Plus, my friend had made mince pies that were to die for! The last train back to Cambridge was just after midnight and we were having such a good time that we considered staying over. However, despite having a few mulled wines and other alcoholic drinks, I put my responsible adult hat on and decided that I should go home because I hadn’t got any spare contact lenses, glasses or clothes.

On Sunday, after a long lie-in to recover from the night before, we braved the streets of Cambridge for some Christmas shopping. I was impressed at how efficient we were because we managed to get everything done in less than three hours. We spent the rest of the afternoon watching “Breaking Bad”. It’s my new TV obsession, but in an attempt to understand the background to the plot, my internet browsing history suddenly looks very suspicious (you might know what I mean if you’ve watched it).

I planned to go out for a least one run over the weekend, but it just didn’t happen. It was icy first thing in the morning and then laziness and procrastination took over. My workouts definitely haven’t been as consistent during December, but I’m not stressing about it because I know that I’m generally a very motivated person and I will get right back on the wagon in January. It’s not that I haven’t been working out – I ran twice last week including a 7 miler and I did a long yoga session, but it is less than I usually do. I’m also tentatively admitting to myself that my body needed a few weeks of less intensive exercise because I’ve had a lot more energy than usual since I’ve taken a bit of a break.

I’ve been thinking about what a realistic fitness plan will look like for the New Year and I’ll share that next week. In the meantime this is my plan for this week to keep me on track in the run up to Christmas without putting too much pressure on myself.

  • Monday – 90 minute yoga class
  • Tuesday – running club coaching session
  • Wednesday – at home yoga practice
  • Thursday – 4.5 mile Santa fun run
  • Friday – rest
  • Christmas Eve – 4 mile run
  • Christmas Day – yoga practice to start the day off right!

I’m particularly looking forward to Thursday’s run. It’s two laps around the town, with a glass of sherry after the first lap and at the end. I’ll be driving and I’m not a huge sherry fan, but it still sounds like great fun, plus there’s pizza, Christmas cake and a raffle afterwards.

Does your motivation to exercise vary and has it been affected by the festive season?

Have you got any festive fun runs or races lined up?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 5:31 pm

    I’m definitely finding it a bit tougher to stay on track, particularly in these two weeks coming up, more due to the change in my usual routine and time constraints than not feeling like doing it. I really really want to do a festive run! Next year I am so going to be on the look out for one, yours sounds awesome!

  2. December 19, 2011 6:47 pm

    I’m really lacking any motivation to exercise right now. I’m looking forward to getting back to the gym after Christmas but right now it’s just not happening!

  3. December 19, 2011 9:53 pm

    Its harder for me as it gets colder but I seem to have managed to stay on track with running, a little jiggle of the schedule for this week so I don’t have to run on Christmas day though 😉

  4. December 19, 2011 10:36 pm

    I definitely think it rhymes and I’m glad I’m not the only person that looks at post titles like that 🙂 urgh for the Friday traffic though, I’m not surprised you were losing the will to live!
    I’ve definitely lost some exercise motivation lately; it’s so hard to make myself go out on the bike when it’s -5C like this morning and dark after work! I’ve been doing more fitness DVDs instead but I much prefer cycling and riding outside – roll on spring!
    And that run on Thursday sounds great 🙂

  5. Errign permalink
    December 19, 2011 11:34 pm

    I’m making a new fitness plan for the new year as well and am planning on sharing this week 🙂 My motivation does vary, but right now, my lack of activity is due to lack of time!

  6. December 20, 2011 9:38 am

    Normally I do more exercise in the holidays because I go out right after breakfast (we get up as Andy still goes to work)- then any social things with friends will be in the afternoons. But obviously at the moment that is out the window so I am getting a bit of cabin fever! I tend to favour a walk on christmas day instead of a run because we are always in a hurry to get around to see relatives and doing my hair takes ages after a wash! 🙂 Your run sounds fun- well, the Christmas cake part anyway!

  7. December 20, 2011 10:40 am

    The weather is affecting me too, I have a gym like 5 minutes away but when it’s dark and chucking it down I just want to stay in and drink tea. Like you said though, it’s good to have a little downtime and January is the most motivating month ever so it never usually stays that way. A festive race would be ace! There was a rowing race on sunday called the icicle race and everyone dressed up as santa. Last weekend I saw a cox dressed up as a raindeer, it was pretty funny!

  8. December 20, 2011 12:00 pm

    I’m finding it very hard to motivate myself at the moment, mainly due to the later opening times of my gym and the darker mornings and cold weather.

  9. Bronagh permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:39 pm

    My motivation is definitely affected by the festive season, but really it’s the weather that gets me more than anything. I can cope with the dark mornings/nights no problem and don’t mind running at any time of the day throughout the holidays; but it’s really when it’s wet, windy and dull outside that I find myself cancelling my runs and opting to cozy up on the sofa instead. I’m trying to stay on track by accepting that I’m going to be working out less in these coming 2 weeks and therefore setting myself more realistic plans… I’m aiming to get 3 runs/workouts a week rather than my usual 5 or 6. I’m also ok with those 3 workouts being short and sweet compared to my longer sessions, every little helps 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Eating Healthily Over Christmas « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

